Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel, great location.

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was basic and fitting for the price. Nothing special, but the price was acceptable. Breakfast was basic Italian breakfast but I was pleased that special coffees like cappuccinos were included for no extra charge. Location is the best thing about hotel with la Rocca and center close by. Bathroom was extremely small, toilet was in the shower. Nothing unusual if you are used to Europe and Italian hotel rooms, but could be off putting for those from other places.
2 out of 5
by Curtis from Illinois

Sleepless in beautiful Assisi !

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Air conditioning loudly cycled on & off with strange clicks. Alternatively if windows were opened, barking dogs! The pillows were hard as boards. Those issues made sleeping difficult.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

not a great hotel, staff not very friendly

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: The staff could improve their attitude toward their customers.
Location: The location was in a beautiful/quint part of town. We could take the bus down to the lower town.
The hotel was located in a beautiful area of Assisi, the upper town. We were able to take a bus to the lower town and then walk to the Basilica. This was all good however the staff at La Rocca were not welcoming. They seemed annoyed most of the time. In addition, the shower was literally right in front of the toilet. The shower curtain enclosed the tiny shower area and the toilet area. So when you took a shower, the toilet/floor was soaked. Not very appealing. I wouldn't go back to La Rocca but I would stay in area again.
5 out of 5
by SukChingHelen from Hong Kong

Hotel in Assisi

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
La Rocca is a nice family run hotel. The family are busy with all the work from preparing the breakfast and serve our dinner. Very nice !
4 out of 5
by Jasen from Toronto

Great

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
Awesome time
5 out of 5
by Jose from Fairport, NY

Beautiful Assisi

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect location in this quaint small town. A great room with a beautiful terrace and incredible views of the mountains. The restaurant was amazing too! The views, the food, and the service were all excellent! Everything was within walking distance and easy access to public transportation. We arrived by train and took the local bus (1.30 Euro pp) to a stop 1 block from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Napoli, IT

Good but not great...

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels
A nice hotel, with a good location and available parking area for a daily charge. The only issues I had, were that our reservations were not exactly correct when I arrived, but all was resolved at first check -in, and the noisiness in the rooms was tough to bear. It felt like anyone in the hall or in the surrounding rooms were sharing your room. A bit tough when a big family was staying down the hall.
3 out of 5
by m.sela from israel

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
the hotel is small and so are the rooms ,no frig in the room , location is good you have to pay for parking but there is free parking nearby , no breakfast
3 out of 5
by Yen from Hawai'i

A nice clean room, but more hospitality please

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed for two nights, and truthfully would have enjoyed it more if it hadn't rained the second day. That said, we found the service to be polite but indifferent. For example, the water was. I nicely hot the first night, but when we tried to take a shower on the second night, the water ran lukewarm though we ran the tap for a long time. When we told the desk about the situation, they did check the heater (normal) and even went up to the room to check the tap temperature. By then the temperature was a bit warmer but not enough for a decent shower. They insisted that the temperature was normal even though it was not. We had to run it for a very long time after that to get a proper temperature. Clearly, the water in the pipes needed to run out, and the pipes needed to warm before "normal" would return. That should have been something communicated to us rather than suggesting that our demands were somehow out of place. We got the facilities that we needed: a clean, quiet room, a comfortable bed, parking, an elevator, and a pleasant view out our window all at a fair price. However, we would have also liked a bit of human warmth.