Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Oriana from Australia

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful old castle on top a hill.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No internet as promised; no air conditioning;

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Poor service even after explained problems. Took two days to get the safe fixed. Breakfast poor quality. Canned fruit, dry pastries. Staff poor and untrained. Don't stay at this hotel. Value very poor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Many parts to this hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Check which part of the hotel you are booked into as there are VERY different. This hotel is a lovely example of Italian architecture circa 1700, however it is very run down
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been so much better.

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing location which allowed us to visit some wonderful places nearby. Great for Perugia and Assisi. Very quiet hotel that has aged well but comes with snags. A few frustrations that could/should have been attended to but I put that down to bad luck. The hotel has amazing potential but on this occasion fell short. Hopefully when we return it has got its act together because it is I a truly wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing view !

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We had a fabulous time. The views were incredible and the food outstanding, we found a gem of a Hotel and will be going back, one very satisfied customer.
3 out of 5
by Ellen from California

Not a four star.

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
This is not a Four Star Hotel. It is tired and a good 3 star. The rooms are very basic I received a huge number of bites in the room but I am overly sensitive and my friends were fine. The restaurant is decent and the service good. There is no other place in town to eat so you must get in the car and travel 15 minutes. Pretty views. The pool is tiny. Dunk don't swim. Skip the massage. Pricey by Umbria standards and just ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Corning, NY

Tranquility and beauty

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The hotel is about 20 minutes from the huge crowds of Assisi. It is quiet and charming and is a great place to use as a base to see Assisi and others lovely hill towns including Spello, Bevagna, and others. There is a super restaurant in the town of Torgiano, about 6 kilometers away called Siro. We had lunch and Easter dinner there. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Wish we could go again! If you are looking for a quiet place, good value, and tranquility (there is no shopping to speak of) in a small very clean town this is perfect. There is also free parking close by. Also there was a wonderful breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Kent

Authentic Umbrian hill town hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Very good restaurant and hotel staff could not do more for us.
Cons: Some attention to little items needed. Lovely vaulted restaurant but a number of the lights not working.
Location: Great location for the hill towns - we visited Assisi, Perugia and Todi.
Lovely setting with splendid views. Very convenient location to visit Assisi and Perugia, both beautiful. We spent 2 days visiting each place.
5 out of 5
by bj from beaverton ontario

nicest hotel I have stayed in Europe

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels
High up on a mountain in a small medieval town. Magnificent views from the rooms, pool outdoor restaurant.The rooms are nice with all amenities. The staff were helpful . Dinner and breakfast were delicious. I was with my 2 daughters and they were given a two room suite. You could sit on the balcony beside the pool for days. Great ombience.
3 out of 5
by Dave Kent from Israel

Just OK

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels
we didn't get a good impression from our stay here. when we got to the hotel there was no parking in the adjacent square. when we showered the water was only warm and there were some damp spots in the bathroom. on a good note, the staff was polite, the room spacious & clean. and a large breakfast variety. next to the hotel there is a very nice family restaurant called "il porco di Bettona" you should definitely give it a try. otherwise there isn't much around the hotel.