Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit Porcincula, and Basilica in Assisi

Posted Sep 8, 2016
It was nice and the personnel was extremely courteous and very helpful. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect Location

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Location and character
Location: Assisi and Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli
This hotel was small, friendly and quiet. It had character and was in a perfect location in the town and good for visiting Assisi. Our room was great and we had an enormous balcony. Easy to find with good car parking. The owner was especially helpful with details of where to park and a walking route through Assisi.
5 out of 5
by Robert from North Carolina

Wonderful hotel in Assisi

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic place to stay to visit Assisi. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, room was large and very nice--wonderful shower. Very convenient to tour Assisi, as there is a bus stop around the corner that will take you to the top, then you can amble on down, seeing the marvelous sights until you get to the basilica of St. Francis. After that, you can take the bus back, or, as we did, take a very pleasant 2 mile walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Cons: Better wifi internet connection
Location: Not too many restaurants in the area
Friendly staff, room was clean and big, wifi in the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Vancouver

Cleanliness not consistent

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location in Assisi is fairly lose to the main attractions and the vast yard to park the car.
Cons: cleanliness.
Location: there is a supermarket in the next block and makes it very convenient to get provisions.
One of the most desirable features of a hotel is its cleanliness and the rest are secondary in my opinion. This hotel needs to exert a greater care to address the rust, dirt and stains at the base of their shower unit. To my absolute surprise and disappointment, when I pointed the offending area to the receptionist, she just said that is no problem it is an easy to clean job but she never offered to have it cleaned or take any steps to address the problem. The shower unit is very small and hard to get into never mind being able to dry yourself in it. The bests are hard and not very comfortable. The breakfast is ok but nothing special to brag about.
5 out of 5
by Marians from UK

Assisi without the crowds

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels
Initially checked in to Room 11 on ground floor and kindly moved to private balcony room 21 for next two nights - thank you. Check in/out quick and easy. All personnel very friendly (as are the owners two lovely children). Rooms spacious, bathrooms OK but showers on the small side. Lots of on site parking. Gardens and wooded area beautiful. Decor and upkeep of hotel first class. Breakfast plentiful and good quality with fresh fruit available and individually prepared coffee of your choice. Safe and hairdryer in room. Lots of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity (also try the tasty roast pig shops) Would definitely stay here again as the atmosphere and places to see are the same as Assisi less tourists and everything within walking distance from this fabulous hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel in the newer part of Assisi

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location in a park-like setting, spacious rooms, friendly staff.
Cons: The cleaning staff left us without towels or glasses
Location: Easy to get to the older part of Assisi and the "main attractions". Good parking on-site if you have a car. A number of good restaurants near-by.
We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable (and air conditioned). The staff was friendly and helpful, and recommended a great restaurant. Breakfast was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from California

Villa Rafaello

Posted May 26, 2014
We stayed at Villa Rafaello recently for 6 nights. It was about a 1 block walk to Santa Maria degli Angeli's church which encompases St Francis' original chapel from the 1200's as well as the area he lived and died in. The accomodations in the small hotel (14 rooms) were comfortable and convenient for exploring Umbria. There was ample parking for our car. The last 1 1/2 days took the bus into Assisi. The owners were friendly and gracious and went out of their way to help us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect room, perfect stay

Posted Aug 30, 2013
This was our first experience staying in a small Old-World style hotel in an Italian village, and it was a nearly perfect experience. Our room was immaculate, with one window opening out to a view of the quiet backyard and another opening to a glorious view of the Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli with Mt. Subasio and Assisi in the background. It was breathtaking. The staff was very helpful, almost all spoke excellent English, and the breakfast was delicious with personal and friendly service. It was spacious (including the private bath), featured free Wi-Fi and air-conditioning, andwas just steps away from the bus-stop for the short ride up to Assisi. Evening activities near the Basilica involved music, great dining, a carousel, and a family atmosphere. When I return to Assisi (not if, WHEN!), this is the only hotel I'll consider. Totally worthy of 5 stars on every count!
5 out of 5
by Pat

Highly recommended.

Posted Aug 27, 2012 on Hotels
Very happy customer