Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

misleading web information

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The management called, apologized for the inconvenience, and refunded our deposit.
Cons: The hotel website needs to better describe the rooms available at the discounted rates.
Location: There are many fine restaurants in the area, the drive is beautiful, and the views are wonderful.
Initial call to confirmation was first indication there was a problem-the clerk could not find our reservation. When she did, it was under a name another first name. I then asked to confirm the our room and was very disappointed with the clerks response. What the web site suggested as our room was not what the room actually was. An unheated tent cabin in the winter was not what we had ordered! As a result, we cancelled our reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Setting and proximity to hiking trails and beach.
Cons: Front desk check in staff was more concerned with telling us the rules than with making us feel welcome.
Beautiful setting - our cabin had a pretty view and felt very private even though we shared a wall. Bathrooms about 100 feet away and very clean. Great hike from lodge to the beach through eucalytus grove. Restaurant food and staff were excellent, but it's pricey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Calm beautiful grounds with nice trails to beach

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Hotel staff not very friendly or concerned about your experience- restaurant excellent food, sketchy service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Oakland, CA

Choose your room carefully!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
First bit of advice for this place - their listing shows pictures of rooms in the lodge, but the majority of "rooms" at this resort are tents and tent cabins. Looking through the pictures, choosing my standard Queen bed room at a rate of $133, I was expecting a standard hotel room. Was a bit of a rude shock to arrive and be handed the keys to a canvas tent cabin with no heat, no bathroom, and barely enough room inside for the bed. All that would have been fine if that's what I had expected to get. To be fair, it's very nice for a tent cabin. But if you packed expecting to be able to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night without a 50 yard hike through the cold and dark, it's a bit inconvenient. I'm rating the place highly because it was my mistake for not checking more closely and had I gone in with the right expectations it would have been a fine place. But be aware that the advertising (at least on expedia) seems misleading, so make sure you're booking what you think you're booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kara from hollister, ca

Quiet weekend away

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Been to the restaurant numerous times but have never stayed. Was excited about experiencing an overnight in this quiet beautiful retreat! We stayed at the lodge, the room was clean and comforting. Love the fireplaces near by and the balcony overlooking the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by C from Arkansas City, KS

A Unique Experience

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Location: My family members walked to the ocean repeatedly---by different routes.
Loved being in nature, but with warmth and electricity and running water. Loved the wood fire in the fireplace in the lounge area of the bathrooms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jen aka momma

Lovely grounds, great for kids!

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: AC in lodge rooms. Not everyone can sleep with the balcony doors opened. We have a small child- too risky.
Location: Unlimited.
Second visit to Costanoa. We stayed in the lodge again. This time wasn't as pleasant, but only because the toilet backed up. Otherwise nice staff, beautiful property, kid friendly, on site restaurant a plus! Lots to do, hiking, hot tubs, bar it's all there! Close to U pick berry farms, state park, beach and Pescadero Harley Goat Fatm-love! Also close to Santa Cruz where we have relatives. Recommend dinner at the Roadhouse Restaurant. Will stay here every time in lieu of anywhere on Santa Cruz! SC overpriced for crappy hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sergio from guadalajara,jal. mexico

Nice hotel beautyful place, excellent view.

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: The view and the place
Cons: The internet
Location: The place itself is great, I think there's no need to go out
The hotel is great, the place is very comfortable excellent experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great accomodatiions

Posted Jun 11, 2013
My wife and I showed up not really knowing what to expect. The staff was exceptional and the place had a great atmosphere all around. We look forward to coming back. Although it was just the two of us this looks like a great place for families or couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from New Zealand

A conmfortable camping experience

Posted Apr 20, 2013
Pros: The rural outlook
We were doing the camping under canvas experience and it was comfortable even on a chilly April evening.