Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location, uncomfortable stay

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Warn guests if there will be no a/c, buy a few cheap fans, pay attention to the cleanliness of the bathrooms (mold doesn’t grow very quickly)
Unfortunately this was not a good fit for us. The location of the hotel is great. It’s an easy 3-4 minute walk to town. The hotel staff is wonderful, which is the main reason for the three-star review instead of two-star. Our biggest problem was the lack of ventilation. When we asked why the a/c did not work, we were told that they turned off the a/c system in mid-September because of “the law.” (Neither of the Italian hotels we stayed at before and after did this.) We were not warned in advance that there would be no a/c, and the hotel has no fans. We sweated through the first night with no sleep and kept the window open to the loud street noise the second. (Again no sleep.) Add to this, the shower had mold growing in it when we arrived. The staff cleaned it promptly when we complained, but it never should have grown there in the first place. The staff was great, but we would definitely not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Lovely hotel situated close to shops and restaurants and was able to easily get to all attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The location mainly.
Location: An easy walk to everything that Peschiera has to offer either down through the car park or through the tunnel.
I chose this hotel mainly for the location. It was easy to walk to all the shops and restaurants in town and to the ferry and station. It was clean, the room was a decent size with a small balcony and the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was good.
4 out of 5
by Glenn from Australia

only one thing wrong

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and a fantastic market outside on a Monday morning. Breakfast had lots of variety including fresh fruit. Parking was 1st come, first served, under a tin roof next to the hotel. Definitely not guaranteed, or secure at all, but its a pretty safe area anyway. There were 2 drawbacks, 1 major, 1 minor. Worst was the heat in the whole hotel. We stayed in March and it was a sunny 18 degrees yet they had the heating on throughout. Our room needed to have the windows open just to get some cool in, the temp controls were unresponsive and probably operated centrally. Unfortunately the rooftop outside the window didnt look safe enough to leave it open at night. Minor issue was that no tea bags or sweeteners provided unless you went to reception for supplies. I wouldn't mind so much, but there were 5 camomile and numerous fruit teabags provided! Just a bit of common sense would have made a big difference. The heating issue means I would probably look elsewhere if I ever return to the area. Shame because everything else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Higher quality than its star rating

Posted Aug 2, 2016
This hotel is ideally placed to walk into the old town centre, but far enough away to grab a bit of peace and quite and read a book in the heat of the day. Breakfast was always good, reception staff helpful and knowledgeable. The air-con in the room was bliss after 36 degrees outside.
5 out of 5
by John from UK

You won't be disappointed - unless you need a pool

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Best 3 star hotel I have stayed in
4 out of 5
by Janice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Well appointed and situated hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Hotel Dori is a modern hotel with excellent facilities, exceptionally friendly service and generous breakfasts.
Cons: The double room we were allocated included a third bed/cot which took up space in what was not a particularly large room anyway.
Location: The quiet hotel is only five minutes' walk (with cases) from the centre of Peschiera, which is a bus and ferry travel hub.
My wife and I, both retired, spent four nights at Peschiera del Garda. We chose this town at the last minute because it was easy to reach from Verona, but were then concerned that it might not be as pretty as some of the more famous tourist destinations around Lake Garda, such as Sirmione, Malcesine and Garda. However, we were very pleasantly surprised that the centre of the town, which is on a small island, is really delightful, with a good choice of shops and restaurants and easy walks and fine views along the side of the lake. Peschiera is an old garison town and the old barracks building is actually very picturesque, looking like something from an opera set. We were lucky with the weather and made bus trips to other spots on the lake, where we were able to look around the towns and take beautiful walks. We spent a day (that threatened to be thundery) in Mantua, which is an hour's bus journey South of Peschiera and is well worth visiting, if you are interested in Renaissance art.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice hotel within easy walk to village centre

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Cons: Air conditioner.
Location: Great position for all the delights that southern Lake Garda can offer.
Hotel Dori is a small hotel and is in a great position for easy aspect to the delights of Peschiera. Hotel was value for money at the early spring time we were there. Hotel is a short taxi ride from the train station. The staff were excellent, Valentina, Gabriella and team were only to helpful to all. Great language skills, English and German, makes it very easy for foreign visitors.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided from Ireland

Good stay

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Gr8 hotel!