Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, room below average

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Positive: Good pool area, nice main building and lobby area, charming surroundings, close to a very nice small village on the top of the hill (Vellano) with a great restaurant (Trattoria Manero) which has stunning views and great food. Negative: small and dark room with one little window, only bedside reading lamp, no ceiling light, hard mattresses, bad service and food in the restaurant (not sure how they got the listed in the Michelin catalouge), 10 Euros deposit for pool towels, a bit run down bathroom, bad soundproofing.
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice country setting

Posted Sep 26, 2014
We really were impressed with San Lorenzo e Santa Catrina Hotel. The setting, the swimming pool and the surrounding countryside, bedroom size and bathroom couldn't be faulted. The only thing that needs to be noted is you need a car. We were travelling everywhere by train and this hotel is at least 3 k from Pescia so a very long walk with cases.
4 out of 5
by Leandro from Australia

Hotel costing and overall impression.

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels
The costing of the accommodation was reasonable, the breakfast selection was good, generally overall the hotel can be recommended.
4 out of 5
by Bruce from Canada

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels
Had a very nice stay, nice location!!! Very good service, would go back anytime!!! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michal from Israel

A great experience !

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: I liked the atmosphere of the hotel , with the old buildings , completely renovated but still with parts of the old mill in it . Also the surroundings
Cons: I would have liked a lobby where one could sit outside the room .
Location: I can recommend : the old city Lucca with his wall and Piazza del Mercado , Firenze , Montecatini Therme and Alto and Montecarlo di Lucca
I chosed the hotel through internet and didn't really know what to expect. But this stay at the Albergo San Lorenzo - Santa Caterina in Pescia was above all my expectations ! The room was very comfortable with a modern bathroom . The staff was excelent , helpfull and friendly . The breakfast was wonderful and very varied . And last but not least , the food in the restaurants was very nice . Overall the price of my stay was cheaper than in most Europian hotels . The only drawback of this hotel is: one need a car , because of the hotel being out of the town . But it is in a great central place for seeing Florence , Lucca and Pisa and other places !
2 out of 5
by Mr S.P. from ENGLAND

Very Poor Bed comfort, Average Service

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels
The Hotel was a Rustic style accommodation. The Location was great.The service was average. The Breakfast was average. The Room comfort was very poor, my two kids had to sleep on the lumpiest sofa beds that I have ever come across. Our bed had a firm mattress but it was incredibly creaky. The air con didn't work. The bathroom shower water went everywhere. To get our breakfast we had to walk out of the hotel about 100m to another building....I would not recommend this place at all.
1 out of 5
by Gail from UK

in an industrial area! poor service and food

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels
Booked 7 nights, stayed 3. In an industrial area, says it's walking distance from restaurants but it's not a nice road, you need a car here. Wanted to stay in this hotel as near to Lucca, hotel did not live up to its description. Swimming pool open only in restricted hours i.e. closes at 6pm and it's a bit of a walk from the hotel in a gated area. Not impressed with breakfast, kept running out of eggs, not many options. Did not compare at all with the friendly hotel we stayed in 2 years ago which was simple but delicious food. Fortunately there was a cancellation our previous hotel so we stayed there the rest of the holiday. When we explained to the staff at the San Lorenzo that we were checking out early they just made it difficult for us, they did not even ask why!!
5 out of 5
by Nelluc from Belfast

Wonderful stay at hotel in beautiful location

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
My family and I had an amazing two nights stay at this lovely hotel. This is a perfect getaway retreat in a peaceful and beautiful location. We stayed in a suite with two rooms and a bathroom. It was clean and spacious and excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was superb! The complimentary Tiramisu at the end of our meal was heaven on a plate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels