Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough cambs

It was my 50th birthday and staying in a 4 poster

Posted Oct 11, 2017
It was fantastic staying in a 4 poster bed on my 50th birthday with my fiance x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport

Quiet beautiful surroundings

Posted Oct 7, 2017
When staying over on business I usually book into city centre chain hotels which are cheap and cheerful but can actually be drab and soulless. This is more like having a mini break and great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury St. Edmunds

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: quite location, great facilities
Cons: car park was a bit muddy in places
Location: very close to east of England showground
easy checking in, very large room (and I'd booked for 1 person), nice relaxing lounge area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Fantastic place to stay, the staff were extremely helpful and made us very welcome. The spa treatment was excellent and would highly recommend...we will definitely be returning in the future. Highly recommend the restaurant, the food was superb..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bromyard

Great location

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location to the showground
Cons: Management
Location: The showground
We have stayed here about 4 times already. The staff are helpful. The room was lovely and great value. The safe in the room was not working and we could not get a replacement. We used the spa and my locker was being forcible opened as I returned to the changing rooms. Another spa member said it was hers and workmen were forcing it open as I entered. Its hard to believe there are no skeleton keys for these mistakes. We ate in the restaurant which is always amusing, the food was good but little things niggle. We had butter on the table but was not offered any bread? We had a cheese board but when it arrived no descriptions to which was which cheese? Overall for the price and to use for work its ok but not a hotel to go for a treat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Canada

Beautiful facilty .... however

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Cons: Updating furniture and linens in rooms would be a good start.
Stayed at Orton Hall several years ago so it was an obvious choice when recently visiting family in Peterborough. The hotel is sadly in need of a refresh. We booked a superior room and were disappointed. Little things like a shower curtain that fit (rather than the one too short leaking water all over the floor), massive stains on the coverlet at the bottom of the bed, dangling torn fabric in the 4 poster bed roof and a sofa that appeared to have been there since the 1970s made us feel like we'd booked into a 2 star facility. The reception manager thankfully offered a bit of a "discount" on the total fees when I'd asked for another room but they didn't have one available. I would encourage management to do some budget planning that would include renovations to bring Orton Hall back up to the standards I know it used to have. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained so the inside of the hotel should be the same !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in good location.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Stayed 1 night on business. Comfortable room. Quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oswestry

Avoid Hotel Restaurant

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The setting and room.
Cons: Restaurant food and service.
Location: Great for proximity to Burghley.
Charming Hotel in lovely setting. Bedroom large and comfortable.However, service and food in Hotel Restaurant very poor indeed considering the price for "fine dining". Breakfast okay but criminally over-priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Relaxed environment, friendly staff. Bed was abit harder than what i am used to but overall a nice hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

1 night stay

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I booked this hotel as it is close to the air field where my partner was doing his skydive. We were bringing our 5 month along so we booked the family room. The staff were all lovely and there wasn't anything they wouldn't do to help however I was very disappointed with our room. We were given room 143 which is a family room however not designed for families as first and foremost it is up a large flight of stairs. Imagine a pushchair, baby, 3 back packs and a travel cot. Then picture me on my own the next day when my partner is in the air field bringing that all downstairs for check out and there is no lift as it is a historic building. The room was absolutely stifling there were two fans churning around hot air and although we opened the windows it didn't make a bit of difference. It was so hot it was difficult to sleep. As a family room I also expected there would have been a fridge as I need to store food for the baby but there wasn't and the food I had made had to be thrown. The room itself although very large, was dated and could do with a refit. The spa was lovely, we took our daughter swimming for the first time and it was perfect as it was very quiet. The grounds were very nice and really well kept. It would be a beautiful place to hold a wedding.