Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Graham

Executive?

Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels
We booked an Executive Room as we wanted a little extra space, however the views of the hotel and ourselves as to what exactly qualifies the classification of an Executive Room were not similar. The size of the room was no larger than a standard double, and one can only presume the inclusion of a bath robe is the differential between executive and double? Overall the hotel is good, and free car parking is a rarity which is appreciated. If you like being in the city centre, then the location is excellent for shopping etc. Unfortunately the only bars that appeared to be in the vicinity were either O'Neills or Witherspoon's or foodie chain type pubs!
3 out of 5
by Alan

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
location was good, everything was ok but the decor of the room is very dated, the view from the window was ok if you like pigeon poo and the breakfast service was poor, although the food was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but bit disappointing .

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Could feel springs in matress, headboard fixed to wall rattled every time you turn overas bottom not fixed. Breakfast got fed up waiting for coffee tea no one took Order we had to ask had been seated a long time. Food was not filled up so had to ask and stand around waiting. Ordered toast with fry breakfast had to chase , order had been forgotten , had eaten breakfast long before toast arrived. Staff were spending a lot of time clearing tables as people left and not taking orders and looking after people.. maybe not enough staff, they weren't coping well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Parking

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking and breakfast service
Upon arrival there was no parking at the hotel. When enquiring at reception we were offered the public multistorey car park somewhere else in the centre but told we would have to renew the ticket at 7am Sunday morning. The hotel advertises parking so if it can not be guaranteed with an executive room booking, this should be made clear.A terrible start when you do not know the area. The rest of the stay was good although at breakfast the next morning we did nor recieve our coffee and toast despite several enquiries until we had finished our breakfast. The room was very good and the location was excellent but we were a little dissapointed.
5 out of 5
by david

ace night

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
amazing loved had a rocking night thanks
4 out of 5
by A

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
As have grown to expect from the Bull, not the cheapest but worth the extra for the quality. Clean, comfortable rooms, helpful staff, good food, have tried others in the area, but always return to The Bull.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

bring earplugs

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: See above
Location: Central...free parking, I understand and very easy access to train station, cathedal and retail amenities.
When situating guests right next to a main fire door one wouldn't expect to be awoken EVERYTIME the fire door closed. Alongside that, the lovely old hotel, which is clearly the part which faces the street, has a newer rear part, the part I stayed in. This afforded me the luxury of hearing next door guests inserting plugs in walls, switching lights on and off...never normally a concern, but with fire doors awakening me at frequent intervals I was painfully aware of the effects of the paper thin walls, certainly in rooms at the rear. I did call reception to this end but only single rooms were available which didn't suit me and me guest clearly. And yes the room I stayed in WAS indeed the same room rate as all others. In short, I expected a city centre hotel to be noisy from external not INTERNAL noise. To their credit, the hotel does look pleasant though the bathrooms need updating. ALWAYS ask for a quietly located room in my opinion. I rarely rant by the way...but then I've never been awoken countless times by horrible acoustics.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southport

Hotel is fine for a stopover.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Some old world charm.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Decent shopping centre nearby. Beautiful Peterborough cathedral. Some decent eateries.
The hotel is pleasant with a large bedroom. As this was only a one night stay while we travelled on the next day we only booked a standard room. It was alright; nothing special. No lift, no air conditioning (there was a small fan to plug in). We were woken rudely in the early hours of the morning by what sounded like a fire alarm. This went off for about 7 or 8 seconds; enough to make my husband and I jump out of bed and panic. However it stopped going off and no one else in the hotel seemed to be aware of what had happened. No explanation was forth coming from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Matt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by sharon pines

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels