Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Nice quite location close to the A1

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Good location just what we wanted. Close to A1 and place we were visiting room clean and tidy, slow with breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lagos

Nice hotel in the heart of Wansford

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: It is quaint, and the heritage behind the hotel is interesting.
Location: Walking distance to some great pubs and restaurants.
We needed a hotel in Wansford to attend a family member’s birthday party, so the Haycock was really convenient. The staff were friendly and the bed was comfy. Our major issue was that the water didn’t seem to get very hot (especially on our last day, when it was -1 degrees outside), which made for unpleasant early morning showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Old school charm
Friendly, welcoming and attentive staff. Clean comfortable room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland Ohio

Great Historic Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Great historic hotel with loads of history, situated in a modest village and right on near the highway. The common areas are beautiful, my room was a tad shabby and needed some repair and sprucing up. Things were worn-not what I expected given the overall beautiful setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Right for me.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Old school, with charm
Love this place, I stay there whenever I'm in Peterborough. Staff are friendly and helpful. Facilities are great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alnwick Northumberland

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Disaster from the moment we arrived which was very late evening. So all we wanted to do was go to our room, shower, change clothes and relax. First room we were given was clearly having work done as the ensuite was still cluttered with ladders, dust sheets, tools, and tins of paint. Moved to 2nd room were the carpet was badly stained in places and sticky, no blind in bathroom to maintain dignity, the bath controls were damaged so you could not use the spa type bath, the drains were blocked so every time you ran the tap there was a terrible smell, and when trying to take a shower the water simply would not drain away. I paid in advance via Expedia however on checking out they tried to charge me a further £57 The reason given is "I was under charged for the room we actually stayed in" I had to show my email as evidence that I had in fact paid £70 for the room and terrible experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Upon arrival at the car park the first sign one sees is a warning for falling masonry. Check in and public areas mainly ok but a lick of paint here and there would help. Room on ground floor was a disappointment looking shabby and in need of fresh paint. A mysterious length of trunking has been left on the wall with no obvious use. The French doors/Windows obviously leaked and have not been painted for years. The carpet has seen much better days. To the bathroom the toilet seat has been replaced with a cheap plastic one the pipes are chipped und need painting the shower can only be operated by placing the hand through the flow of water and the 1960s bath has a cigarette burn in it. The gardens are overgrown and the lawns overgrown. On a positive note the staff were great and the hotel has plenty of comfortable rest areas
5 out of 5
by Tracey

Worth a visit.

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely old quaint hotel. Hotel was very quiet and staff very pleasant. Pub across the road, very friendly and food delicious
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Dirty, badly run, grubby and poor cleanliness

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Checking out
Cons: A FULL refurbishment or closed
Location: Anywhere away from this grubby hotel
The Gaffa tape holding down the carpet and cracked dirty windows should have been warning enough. On opening the bedroom there was a hole in the wall the size of a jam jar. Dirty marks on all the walls, dead insects on the headboard wall, half inch thick dirt and dust in the chandeliers and bedside lampshades, the droplets were covered in brown fly poo, dirty carpet, bath panel broken and makes a banging noise from a draft somewhere under the bath, noisy dirty extractor fan, dirty bath from previous occupant, towel rail over the bath hanging by a thread and could drop on your head whilst in the bath, just a really badly run down hotel, I am amazed that MacDonald Hotel's keep their association with this place. After much discussion with banqueting staff (as neither manager - duty or general would not speak to me) I was given a 95% refund. This totally ruined my 50th birthday weekend.