Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Stayed here for the trail race. It's worth the price. I wish the pillows were better. Not as soft as other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was eager to please

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: clean, friendly staff
Cons: mirror in bedroom
Location: New Salem, Lincoln sites in Springfield
I was travelling with 2 80plus year olds. I had failed to ask for an accessible room. The staff let us look at a room that might need their needs. It was fantastic, so many grab bars in the bathroom and a fold down bath seat. The room was close to the railroad tracks, but they never heard any trains in the night. They got a kick out of the one morning train, as my dad remembered riding that train out of town on his way to serve in WWII. There was a mix up in my room assignment, and they had to ask us to change rooms about one hour after check-in, but we were given a 10% discount on our whole stay. Close to many Abraham Lincoln sights/sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL.

Better choice than the chains.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Pretty clean and comfortable. Enough personality to not be utterly boring. The small bar was a nice, friendly place to unwind from driving.
Cons: Better coffee in the morning.
Location: A lot of the historical sites are close by. A good alternative to spending the night in a chain for about the same money.
This was a good choice in the area, The main lobby was done up in hunting lodge style which made it more comfortable than the sterile pseudo-modern style of most of the cookie cutter chain motels. My room was one of the smaller rooms but at a decent price. I had a couple of beers in the bar which had a mixture of guests and locals. It cleared out by ten. The room was quiet and I slept well. I left about 9:00 the next morning so I didn't hang out much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FRANK from FARGO ND

Pre Planning would have secured a bigger room.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
We gave a low score for comfort. The room was really small. But the bed was very comfy. We would not stay more than one night and just bring into the room the minimum for the night and next day. The room was very clean and quiet. There is a nice view out the large window on the back side with a river, trees, and train track. Trains are are so quiet and have that rhythm sound for better sleeping. We gave a low score for cleanliness, as the clock, and other small things had not been dusted. No big deal. Only one of us could move around. The room has no closet but has a small hanging bar. Great for one night. I used the microwave in the very nice eating/cocktail area. Staff was super great!!. There is a lot to do in the area and staying here, in my opinion as I do all the driving, is no hindrance on seeing Springfield. This area is a week by it's self. We love history. I am sure if we would have stayed longer, we would have reserved a bigger room. That is my fault. We drove from 4 pm from DC to arrive at the motel at 6 am and they lets us into the room. We slept so good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lucinda R from Southern Pines

ADA and AARP friendly lodge in small town.

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Objective was access to 60th HS reunion in Havana,25 miles north. Riverbank Lodge is an unusual business gamble in a small town, offering a more sophisticated service than usual "motel." Lighting is subdued, ambience is "lodge-like". In my room, a floor-lamp was needed in order to use the only chair. Wi-fi is supposed to be available but was not for me -- because stay was short and there are other options, at most it was an inconvenience, but someone should be taking a look at the setup --suspect it is outdated. The little bar is charming and lively; breakfast is good at the average level (no home-baked items). Coffee is good. The bathroom is out-sized because it is exceptionally equipped to handle elderly and/or disabled. There is a bench in the tub and a two-seater near the sink, ready to be moved as needed. There are three grab bars around the tub. At the ADA level, this place is designed for comfortable, easy use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Rock Falls, IL

Cozy Lodge with Friendly Staff

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient, close to Lincoln's New Salem State Park. The staff was friendly and considerate of our needs. The woman at the desk offered to switch us to a room with ramp access vs stairs. The continental breakfast had a nice variety. Quiet and the balcony has tables where you can relax, use your computer, etc. They also have a bar in the lounge. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Warnsing from Florida

60s class reunion

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Watched the building being built. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this location to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Homey!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: The surroundings, the décor, the staff, the price.
Cons: No.
Location: It is not far from Lincoln's New Salem or Springfield IL, where there are lots of things to do and see. We enjoyed that it was off the beaten path.
We really enjoyed our stay at Riverbank Lodge. It is well kept, and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice to find this hotel and not be in a franchised one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington,Iowa

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: really enjoyed the room had everything we needed nice white soft towels pillows were kind of hard ,but that's just me,I slept very well.
Cons: pillows lol.
Location: like the location so pretty .
We were just there for one night as we had a funeral to attend we thought the lodge was very very nice and our room nice and clean . Well satisfied would return ,people very accommodating loved the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beverly from Henry, Il.

Dave and Bev's getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very nice rustic kind of hotel. Friendly staff and nice rom plus continental breakfast.