Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastpointe, mi

Great family weekend at Americinn

Posted Nov 7, 2017
We took a road trip to Petoskey with our grown kids and had a great stay. We rented suites and had so much space. We lived the pool and hot tub and breakfast. There wad always coffee, tea, or cocia and fruit infused water at the desk. The staff was very nice. We will stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Needed to spend 2 nights in Petoskey.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
The price was reasonable, but the condition of the building was old and tired looking. The decor was in need of refreshing, but was reasonably clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sault ste Marie Ontario Canada

Has been renovated since my stay there last year.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Location: Looking out onto the bay. Close to shopping and casino. Away from the hustle and bustle of traffic.
Over all much cleaner than last year. Pool area enjoyable. Is easily accessible to everywhere in Petosky. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by dan g, Hotel Management
Thank You Margaret, from all of us at the Americinn Lodge & Suites in Petoskey Mi.Yes we are much cleaner than last year. We have had a very busy spring,summer and fall rebranding our property from a Super 8 motel to an Americinn Lodge & Suites. I heard the owners say that when all the updates are completed they will have plowed over $600,000.00 into the project. Thanks for letting others know you would chose us as your place of choice to rest and relax while in our beautiful area. And know that we would like to have you, check in as our guest and check out as our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester hilld

Nice hotel close to the East Park wedding

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Easy and pleasant -- great value. Location is fabulous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by dan g, Hotel Management
Thank You J and please know that the staff at the Petoskey AmericInn appreciate your eight word comments of us and our property. Your eight words describes what we want all our guest to think of us. In fact I may have our next run of business cards to read some what like your review. If so I will contact you by email and offer you and yours a nice dinner next time in. Dan Grangood G/M
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grand Rapids, Mi

Hotel stay

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We bookedthru Expedia( NEVER AGAIN) we got to the motel after Expedia had taken the room rate from our checking acct. and found that we didn't have a reservation. The hotel staff jumped thru hoops to get a room for us( they were very accomidating) The room showed much different in the pics than the actual room. We ran out of TP and washcloths. The complimentary breakfast was EXCELLENT! All u could ask for. Quite noisy by the highway too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by dan g, Hotel Management
Tom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cassopolis, MI

Nice hotel, excellent breakfast

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: excellent breakfast
Cons: a little more light in the room
Location: downtown Petosky is very close
Nice hotel, not too far from downtown Petosky, the pool area was very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by dan, Hotel Management
Thank You, Dennis, for your Guest Review comments. I did notice the comment regarding light in the room. Yes, you are correct. We have put over 200 thousand dollars of upgrades in the property the last six months and relocating the full length mirror to its new location is causing issues. We are looking for solutions so this issue will go away shortly. The staff also wish to send you a, THANK YOU, and we do look to see you for another visit next time you and yours are in our beautiful town of Petoskey Michigan. Dan Grangood G/M
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bemidji, MN

Great Lakes tour

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing the hotel could do...it is situated next to a very busy 4 lane highway and it is nearly impossible to get out of the parking lot.
Location: Many places to hike and swim, not to mention the nearby commercial attractions.
We visited many places and swam often in the pristine water of Lake Michigan, and most of our hotel stays were very pleasant, encouraging us to do this again some day. This AmericInn was the quietest of all the places we stayed, We were told that the quiet was the result of excellent sound proofing in the construction of the building. We stayed three nights and enjoyed the amenities including the breakfast, coffee availability, the pool and spa , the community of Traverse City and neighboring venues as well.We found great beaches and great dunes affording superb views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by dan g, Hotel Management
Thank You Much, MakLyn, for your review of us at the AmericInn Lodge and Suites of Petoskey Michigan. You can return anytime and we will put you to work writing ads for us. It is enjoyable to read reviews like yours but be assured your review will not lead us to complacency thinking our work is done. NO WAY! Now you have inspired us to look for ways to improve what we have done so when you are back for another visit you will still write great reviews for us. Dan Grangood G/M
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Two Weeks of Joy

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: Once construction is complete this will be perfect place at reasonable cost.
Location: Lake Michigan in all it's glory , short trip to Maconia Island and many other lake activities.
Staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. Breakfast was more than adequate and rooms kept clean. Manager was helpful with all our requests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by dan, Hotel Management
Thank You very much for your kind words regarding your stay at the newly rebranded Americinn of Petoskey.I have learned a valuable lesson in the last six weeks. It does not mean a "hill of beans" how much money one spends on making a hotel beautiful it is the people working at the hotel that make the hotel nice and inviting. So THANK YOU for your review! Dan Grangood G/M
5 out of 5
by Paul

Great value and HUGE room

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The room we had was huge to say the least. The king bed was in a private bedroom. The living room and full kitchen were large. This room was apartment sized and was perfect for entertaining family we had gone to visit. The swimming pool and spa pool were very nice also. The beds were comfortable also. Enjoyed this room much more than the one in a Hyatt Place we stayed at the night before in another city. Five stars!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Thanks Paul for informing the traveling public about your experience with us at the formerly Super 8 of Petoskey and soon the Americinn of Petoskey. We have learned that reviews are read by many and decisions are based on what is learned by the reviews. Just shows me that ; "word of mouth ( or what people put in print) is more important than advertising what one has to offer". We just had a guest issue caused by one of us being rude. We handled the issue to the best of our ability and the guest's parting comment " I will write a good review" "Please do not" was my reply. "We did not offer what we did for good reviews but because it was the right thing to do". With this said please let me again say," Thanks For Your Review". Taking the time to sit down and writing this review is much appreciated by myself and our staff. Dan Grangood G/M
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location for restaurants and shopping.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Hotel was bought out by another company and changing ownership. Did not find the manager to be helpful at all. He also disciplines staff in front of guests which should not be done. Everything was clean and rest of the staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Sure wish you were more detailed in what you experienced. I have been the G/M here for going on eight years and all but three of the 17 member staff has worked with me for 3 plus years, several for six plus and one all eight years. We all work together and we all follow this creed: We will respect each other as fellow human beings. There is no foul language, lewd or off color comments or disrespectful actions toward any of the staff. Do we at times stray? Of course. But there has been and always will be a time of forgiveness and a time for forgiveness to be accepted when needed. I am sorry you perceived me as being unhelpful and ask that you accept my apology. Dan Grangood G/M