Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you for staying with the Birchwood Inn we appreciate your feedback. Birchwood Inn
4 out of 5
by Jim

quiet and beautiful

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
One night stay while skiing at Nubs. Snowed all night - beautiful. Quiet, nice and secluded-Perfect.
5 out of 5
by Bernard W.

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
to far away from dinners
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank your for staying with the Birchwood Inn. I am sorry that the location was to far for dining, it is only 3 miles to downtown. We appreciate your comments. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
The lodge has a very nice gathering area. The room I stayed in had no in room amenities (fridge, microwave, coffee maker...). The room was cozy and clean. The bathroom was very clean, a huge expectation that I have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City

Great location-outside of city!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Lots of outdoor space and beautiful countryside! Hop on M-119 and head north toward Cross Village and enjoy the drive through the Tunnel of Trees.
Cons: It does need some repair, but it was very well manicured and for as old as it is original it has been kept in very good shape!
Location: Close to town where there are lots of Harbor shops and places to eat! We chose the Paper Station and enjoyed a wonderful dinner!
This was a charming eclectic Inn very near Lake Michigan and on the way out of Harbor Springs on M-119 on the way to the famous Tunnel of Trees! We would have brought our swimsuits had we known the pool was still up and running-and heated! The grounds were well taken care of and the staff were extremely helpful! I would highly recommend the skiers and the snow bunnies to check it out! Lots of space in the lodge for gathering and a great big stone fireplace to keep warm! I even noticed a "ski closet" to put your equipment in after a long day of fun! The place was originally built in 1959 I believe they told us, and the interior has not been "updated" altho it would just spoil the retro-original tile and cedar/pine wood paneling throughout the rooms! Ours was that teal green color and I could not get over the original toilet! The bed was comfy and the TV worked just fine!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay again and recommend to others

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Was on bike and stayed here for sole purpose of tunnel of trees. Was nice quiet location perfect for relaxing after over 1,000 miles on a bike in 2 days. Relaxed and had pizza delivered. Great service. Was disappointed in the breakfast tho.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Bloomfield, MI

Hotel is not fit for humans

Posted Sep 12, 2016
I was very disappointed the hotel was a dump. It was converted from an apartment. Carpet was stained. Bathroom was missing faucets and when you turned it on you couldn't turn it off. Heating vents were dusty. Room was very ugly it smelled. My husband had an asthma attack there. Full of cobwebs. I wouldn't leave my dog there. Left immediately the next morning. I would have slept in my car as opposed to another night in that dump. I would like a full refund for the first night. We arrived the first night at 10:30 pm and we had no choice.
4 out of 5
by Tim from Allen Park

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly. Old school facility. But very well kept. Thanks for a nice weekend. We'll go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quaint lodge. Not your big box hotel experien

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Excellent staff, very welcoming. Nice continental breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Came up for the wknd..... room was spacoius, had breakfast, & location was good.