Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwest Ohio

Beautiful resort

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: It was very clean and well managed with a great staff. There are activities for all ages and interests.
Cons: A few more signs on the drives coming in would be helpful, and with larger print.
Location: There is something for every season from ski slopes to golfing, horseback riding, tennis, swimming, zip lines and great food.
We booked a stay for myself and my two daughter for a get together. We originally we booked for one of the smaller building but at check in my daughter asked if we could get a room at the Main Lodge. We were graciously moved to a room in the Main Lodge with no change in price. The staff was friendly and very efficient. My daughters especially liked the wonderful aroma in the halls and lounges. Our room had a beautiful view of the ski slopes ( with their beautiful fall colors), the pond and we were close to the pool and hot tub also. Overall, everything was great and I would love to go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
1st time at the resort. Very nice and staff were very pleasant. Would visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location and outdoor space. Great golf!
Cons: A little updating with paint.
Location: Golf, shopping, hiking.
Always love the Highlands. Only thing is that some of the common areas could use some repainting...the dining room is looking it's age. Otherwise Excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Great hotel. Beautiful view of Boyne Mountain. I stayed in the Bartley house-it is a little less glam, but very spacious and fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Boyne Highlands Stay

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful new salt water pool. A nice mixture of free (tennis, pool, mini-golf, kayak, paddleboat) and purchased services (ziplining, Young Americans)
Cons: Accessibility to services - example - couldn't go horseback riding when we there on a Monday or Tuesday - only Thursdays or Fridays through Sundays.
Location: Harbour Springs and Petsokey nearby.
Great once we got there! They need to invest in some signage in the surrounding county - hard to find!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice setting...but that's it

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds and golf courses.
Cons: Bring this hotel into this century.
Location: Great location...close to Harbor Springs and Petoskey where there are lots of good restaurants and many things to do.
Stayed at the Bartley House...third floor walk-up ski dorm. Room hadn't been updated since the 80"s. Bad carpet, light right outside the window that made the room very light. Counter with sink came up to mid-thigh...was so low you could barely bend over that far. Fan in bathroom was alike a jet engine...SO loud. Two pluses: plenty of clean linens and beautiful grounds. Stayed only because it was a last minute trip and there were no other options. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: Have a coffee pot in the room.
The room was small but very nice. The beds were wonderful. Stayed at Bratley House which is old but quaint.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location to Young Americans Dinner Theatre.
Cons: Do not use rooms where there is any type of construction or renovation going on. Specify that Main Lodge means 1 of 3 buildings.
Thought we were to be in the Main Lodge but upon check in we were in one of two building which are considered to be part of the main lodge. We were on the back side of the building, on which they were doing some outside renovation - not a really nice view. Room was very nice and really clean. Next time I would ask to have my room changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Need another mirror and more counter space. They really could have included bogo breakfast buffet or kids under 13 eat free! Needed to up date carpet. Plaid is not a good choice! Nice pool and spa but needed more working fishing poles. Fun chair lift ride AND free! Loved it!! More freebies for kids would be great!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Older, small room, dated facilities and equipment in the room