Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterford, USA

Aging facility with "captive audience" prices.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The all-season indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs were fantastic.
Cons: The mattresses were lumpy. The bar didn't have a blender (really?)
Location: We didn't venture off-property except once to eat breakfast. Note to the wise: don't eat at Mountainside Gille unless you like onion EVERYTHING.
Aging facility with "captive audience" prices. The all-season indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs were fantastic. The mattresses were lumpy. The bar didn't have a blender (really?)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ROCHESTER HILLS, Estados Unidos de América

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Alot to do at the lodge.especially for kids. And alot to do in the area of petosky
Nice room. Clean . Well stocked with towels. Could use a microwave
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Love the Mountain Grand hotel!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The decor is lovely - staff are great - Everett's restaurant is very good!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Boyne Off Season Off Their Game

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Boyne Mountain is a large privately owned skiing property south of Petoskey. Boyne Falls is a small local town west of there that caters to skiers.
I booked a room with Boyne Mountain based on a discount they offered in the off season. I was travelling alone, enjoying the Petoskey area in the My room was in another building that had no elevator and looked worse for wear. The room was barely big enough for a bed and bathroom. There were no obvious heat controls, but there was a box fan to use if you wanted to unplug something else in the room. The only positive thing about the stay was their Pasta Night in the main dining room. The wait staff and cook were very professional and attentive. All you can eat fresh pasta prepared with any sauce, veggies and meat or seafood you like. The price was very reasonable and was a glimpse into what Boyne could be in the right hands. Chances are, not being a skier, I won't be back. I also tried Sante, in Boyne Falls, for breakfast, based on reviews on Expedia. It was not worth the hype. If you have had true European food, their attempt falls short. The eggs were overcooked, the veggies were undercooked and calling it European didn't excuse the preparation issues. It was pricey, the staff was fine and the lake view was a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Not what I expected.....

Posted Oct 8, 2016
I checked in at the front desk and the lady there was very nice and welcoming. The lobby area, resturant and cafe were all very nice. I enjoyed the food, drinks and staff members. My room is where there was a lot to be desired. I stayed in 523 in the Edleweis building. I checked in at about 8pm and when I got to the parking lot there was almost no lighting to speak of in the allowed parking. I was given 2 hard keys for my room (not the plastics keys but actual house keys) which was kind of neat but I was afraid of losing them. Walking into the building you could tell it was an older building. The halls were dingy and had an odor to them. The key slot to my door does not work well and should be looked at. Takes some force and wiggle to get the key in. I walked in the room and that same smell from the halls is in the room. The carpet, bed, furniture and overall condition of the unit is outdated. I had some work that I needed to get done but there is no table and chairs so I had to use the rolling chair provided and the dresser to work and eat on. Wasn't the most convenient thing but I made due. I should mention that the pizza is REALLY good! The wifi does not really work as it took me 5 times longer to accomplish my work due to poor connection. Aside from location the wifi was my main need. The bathroom was my main concern. There was hair in the tub and on the toilet. There is a good amount of mold in the shower tiles and grout/caulk as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Orion, MI

Grand Lodge: Overpromised & Underdelivered

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The grounds are beautiful, the beds were comfortable, and the room was quiet enough.
Cons: Please, please, please - update the in-room decor & amenities to modern standards for lodging at this price point.
Location: Side Door Saloon in Petoskey - excellent inexpensive dinner spot! Barrel Back restaurant in Walloon - excellent moderate priced dinner spot!
Wife and I stayed at the Grand Lodge for the first time Sep 30 & Oct 1 2016, had a room with 2 queen beds and kitchenette. The Grand Lodge building, hallways & grounds all are beautiful (as usual), but the room was sparsely decorated and had an echo-ie, sterile feel - no character at all. Odd light blue paint, 1950's grandma curtains, very little furniture other than the beds and almost nothing on the walls (and a tiny tv). The beds were comfortable (we tried both) and the in-room fridge worked well. We have stayed at other Boyne Mountain properties that have all been very nice, but this one was a huge disappointment. Overall, the room worked out but it was not nearly worth what we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room Security

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The main lodge was very nice and updated.
Cons: Where we stayed - needed to be updated immediately.
I would say that if I was staying in the room I received I would not have stayed by myself. There was a very flimsy lock for the door and no deadbolt. Did not feel secure at all. The Edleweiss is what the complex was called and it was very old and outdated. It was clean but security was the biggest issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Good fond

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I enjoyed the two days spent at this hotel. The hotel was in a quiet place and the room was very clean and comfortable. Bed was great for sleeping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sprawling and confusing layout.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Cons: A lot more signage.
When you arrive later in the evening like we did I expect the check in process to go smoothly. It was slow as the staff were overwhelmed. Also, the resort desperately needs more signage. We got lost trying to locate the building our room was in. We had to return to the front desk for clearer directions. On the plus side there was a great pizza parlor and bar just steps from the hotel and our sour arrival experience was off set by a wonderful server who recommended excellent local craft beer. Typical Michigan pizza was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Peninsula

Great experience

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Loved the large outdoor hot tub. Great local MI beer selection at the Tavern.
Cons: Not much - a great experience.
Location: Wildwood Rush Ziplining - would recommend to everyone.
Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel - lots to do on the premises. Our room was clean, the food was good, prices were reasonable. The only complaint was that a neighboring room someone brought dogs, which were whining. When we called to complain, we were informed that dogs were not allowed in the rooms and it would be dealt with. The dogs were still there the following day. Aside from that, a great time and I am looking forward to going back during the winter for snowboarding! I went with some girlfriends. I feel Boyne Mountain Resort has something for everyone - families or groups of friends.