Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A treasure in northern Michigan

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: The quality of everything from the decor to the breakfast. I especially appreciated the two huge cookies that welcomed me when I entered my room.
Location: Close to Petoskey where there is good shopping and dining. The view from the front porch overlooks Little Traverse Bay - great sunsets.
Wonderful, peaceful, quality experience. As always, I was warmly welcomed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not return

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Petoskey is great. Our room, not so much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beauty and Character

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great get-away spot for us.Unseasonably warm temps made walking the beach and hiking very easy and pleasant. All the staff members we encountered were wonderful. The inn had lots of character and the room was very nice. There was even a library! The only TV was in the library, though. The wifi was a little slow but adequate. Breakfast in the inn was great! Our only negative was that the bed/mattress was "bouncy" waking us up any time the other rolled over. That made the next day rougher than we would have liked. Overall, we hope to return sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Relaxing trip back in time!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Was pleased to see the Electric Charging station with a Tesla box along side the standard charger. Parking was very convenient and safe.
Cons: Don't change anything! The rooms have modern features for comfort but vintage charm for relaxing. They have found the perfect balance.
Location: Petoskey is 5 minutes away and offers plentys of stores and restaurants to enjoy. Harbor Springs is a quick but beautiful drive with its own charm.
We have known about Stafford's Bay View Inn from our trips "up north" over the 30 years but never stayed there. That was our mistake before but never again. The staff was friendly, charming and very accommodating. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The view of the bay was delightful and allowed us to enjoy the sunset and sunrise. We enjoyed the hotel library and the comfy leather chairs to catch up on some reading. Not having TVs in the rooms actually turned out to be a wonderful benefit that sparked conversation. Not hearing the room next door was a fantastic change of pace. Breakfast was amazing and delicious. Make time for it. I'm sure that during the Summer months there is a great deal of activity at the Inn. But I am certain that the peace and serenity we enjoyed during our stay, is still present.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Was quite,with great fall color. Food was great,room was clean,slept great,staff were helpful,kind,and eager to help. We thought Ethan was awesome. Can't say enough good stuff only thing I missed was no tv in my room and a small mini refrigerator would be great. Place was wonderful can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
great place to stay nice and quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

great location with welcoming staff

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: location, staff, food
Cons: bathrooms need updating, increased water pressure
Location: only a mile from downtown Petoskey. close to the beach and skiing.
The Inn is a great central location close to the water with a beautiful view. The staff is outstanding and goes out of their way to welcome you and make your visit as enjoyable as possible. The food was excellent. The rooms are pleasant but because of the age of the Inn the bathrooms are quite small, the water pressure barely adequate. Overall I would highly recommend a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I loved the quaint, historical feel. Staff was very friendly! I felt like I stepped back in time.
Cons: There was no refrigerator in the room. The pedestal sink in the bathroom made it difficult to get ready, however, it was beautiful. My hubby missed tv
Location: Very close to downtown Petoskey
If you're looking for a hotel with something special, this is it! Be prepared to forgoe the joys of a tv and refrigerator in your room though. The inn's historical feel is apparent right from the get go. It's beautifully taken care of and offers a great, welcoming feel.