Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice place, friendly staff

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Very nice old place, with a beautiful big porch with lake views. The staff was so nice. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by arvin from Michigan

Good get away

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Went for the night. Nice place. Whirlpool didn't work right but all else was perfect
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Room needs a TV. They had an event going on so we couldn't get any food/dinner. Really small bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delightful, comfortable escape

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Its consistent high standards of service, comfortable rooms and pleasant common areas
Location: this is an upscale resort town. Dining and shopping are less than 5 minutes away. The inn overlooks the bay.
Always a pleasure to stay at the Bay View Inn. It is quiet, welcoming, with traditional decore. Been going there for more than 30 years. No TV, no fitness room, no pool - just gracious hospitality which is the standard at all Stafford lodgings. Dining room serves gourmet meals, breakfasts are great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ann arbor, mi

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2016
An old building with lots of character. We loved it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort & service with a View

Posted Jul 11, 2015
We booked through Expedia and so got a $20 break on the nightly room rate. But while the inn advertises a complimentary breakfast, we were told we would not get the breakfast because we did not book directly with them. Or the brochure in the room said no free breakfast if one doesn't pay the "rack rate." The front desk neglected to mention to us that we could use the amenities at Stafford's other properties, including pool, jacuzzi and free use of kayaks. A savvy staff member clued us in near the end of our stay. Another "ding" for using Expedia? Disappointing, rather cheap, really, while the rest of the experience was anything but.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beatuiful hotel. Great staff & wonderful feeling.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
This is a wonderful place to stay for those who long for quieter, gentler times. Only one complaint is on how overly warm the room on the second floor was.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jenison

Beautiful place to stay.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The uniqueness - old Victorian
Cons: The elevator
Location: Great location, wonderful shopping and water activities
We had a wonderful, kind, helpful, accommodating experiece.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Lovely, relaxing place to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the decor, the food, the location, the ambience.
The Bay View was absolutely lovely. It was like stepping back in time to a place that is elegant, gracious and comfortable. We had a wonderful stay. The only downside was no TV--but that probably helped contribute to a relaxing time. I highly recommend this hotel and would return there any time.