Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort & service with a View

Posted Jul 11, 2015
We booked through Expedia and so got a $20 break on the nightly room rate. But while the inn advertises a complimentary breakfast, we were told we would not get the breakfast because we did not book directly with them. Or the brochure in the room said no free breakfast if one doesn't pay the "rack rate." The front desk neglected to mention to us that we could use the amenities at Stafford's other properties, including pool, jacuzzi and free use of kayaks. A savvy staff member clued us in near the end of our stay. Another "ding" for using Expedia? Disappointing, rather cheap, really, while the rest of the experience was anything but.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beatuiful hotel. Great staff & wonderful feeling.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
This is a wonderful place to stay for those who long for quieter, gentler times. Only one complaint is on how overly warm the room on the second floor was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jenison

Beautiful place to stay.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The uniqueness - old Victorian
Cons: The elevator
Location: Great location, wonderful shopping and water activities
We had a wonderful, kind, helpful, accommodating experiece.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Lovely, relaxing place to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the decor, the food, the location, the ambience.
The Bay View was absolutely lovely. It was like stepping back in time to a place that is elegant, gracious and comfortable. We had a wonderful stay. The only downside was no TV--but that probably helped contribute to a relaxing time. I highly recommend this hotel and would return there any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Could be a "5" with a few tweaks

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We enjoyed our two day stay--lovely setting, beautiful porch and view. Extremely comfortable bed and great temperature control with room thermostat. Breakfast was fine but very slow. We sat for some time before even being offered coffee. Also, tea is provided but hot water is upstairs and tea bags are downstairs. Perhaps this could be rethought. As a historical home the walls are somewhat thin and floors are creaky--all part of the charm, imo. Overall, we would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Dec 29, 2013
The staff was exceptional and made us feel right at home. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

hotel with a history

Posted Dec 26, 2013
We have stayed here before and it is always a pleasant experience. We got an exceptional deal and it is a nice step back in time especially during the holiday season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

I will definitely come back to this hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Location: primary purpose was to relax and take a day or two to ski/snowboard. Several ski options nearby, within 15~30 min driving distance.
It's not the fanciest hotel in the block but possibly the one with the most character and attention to details for accommodation. Every little detail, except for those against the principles of a historic inn (like tv's), is accounted for in the room. The floors are squeaky but it adds to the charm. Check out the 15+ years of guest logs for each room; there is a lot of history there.