Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak, MI

Historic Inn in Bayview

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere
This is an old inn located in the Bayview area near Petoskey. It is set in the middle of a neighborhood of homes that are part of a Methodist association marked by ornate woodwork. The common areas are quite pleasant with a wide porch overlooking a tree-filled park. The staff was pleasant and capable. There is a restaurant on premises, although it was closed when we were there. Breakfast was excellent, with a variety of choices and a classy presentation. The room was clean, but quite small, typical of old hotels. The location is very convenient to Petoskey and Harbor Springs, and in and trips to Mackinac Island and Charlevoix would take about 30-45 minutes each way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fremont mi

a nice hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
a nice hotel, the staff was really helpful and the food at the breakfast was really great. We would stay again the only draw back was the bathroom was small. we walk to the beach in the evening it was really great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast was included.
Cons: Add an elevator.
Interesting, historical hotel, therefore with no elevator. Had to carry our bags up to the third floor. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are updated with modern conveniences. In our room we had a small TV and a small fireplace which was more a heater than a fireplace. Bed was comfortable and this deluxe king bed room had a small whirlpool tub which worked great. Nice having a full size coffee pot in room, in addition to available coffee, etc in the lobby. Pretty crystal chandeliers. A non fussy, Victorian lobby which is comfortable and interesting with an indirect, pretty view of Michigan Lake.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from livingston county

Quaint hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Quaint historic hotel in a beautiful neighborhood of Victorian, Colonial and bungalow style homes and community. Lit up porches and huge tree lined make it relaxing and enjoyable. Staff was friendly and genuine in their care for guests. No Lake view but very short walk to crystal clear water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toledo, OH

Peaceful Historical Setting

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the peaceful location as well as the historical setting of the hotel.
Location: Located in the heart of Bay View near Petoskey, Michigan. This location afforded a quiet setting away from the hustle and bustle of Petoskey.
We stayed for three nights and wanted to stay in something other than the traditional hotel. The Terrace Inn was a pleasing and restful place with lots of history. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The 1911 Restaurant is also located there and is a great place to dine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Old style inn close to beach

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Staff, restaurant, included breakfast, accommodations
Cons: wifi access
Location: Bay View Music Festival Beach
While this was just a one night stay, I found all staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Dinner in their "1911 "restaurant was very good (although a little on the expensive side) and the included breakfast with both hot and cold selections (which I ate on the outside veranda) was delicious. I especially appreciated the all day coffee, tea, and water available in the lobby. My room on the first floor off the lobby was very pretty, very comfortable, and quiet. The spotty wifi access was the only (minor) complaint as I tried to do an online flight check-in. I would highly recommend this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not a 3-star hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Small rooms with hard uncomfortable beds, Not near beach as advertised.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Would stay again!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Quaint Victorian hotel with lots of history. Situated in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by Victorian homes, close to town and marina. Hotel staff were very nice and accommodating. Very clean. Great breakfasts on terrace. Would much rather spend the money staying here verses the overpriced chain hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Lyon, Michigan

Great Inn close to beaches and attractions.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: It's historical significance and the pleasant staff.
Cons: We had no issues with our stay.
Location: It was close to Petofskey State park beach, Charlevoix, and the International Dark Sky Headlands was only about 40 minutes away.
My wife and I found the historical Inn very unique and pleasing. We would stay there again. The staff is extremely friendly and the rooms we stayed inn were clean and comfortable. We met the owners and they were very pleasant and hands on in the operation of the Inn. For being built in 1911 the Inn was very beautiful. Thanks for a pleasant stay. Dan & Steph Sopinski
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you Dan and Steph! It was great to meet you and we hope you may come visit again..be sure to call direct because we can give you the best rate that way. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, mI

Quaint and charming hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Charm, neighborhood, atomosphered.
Cons: Matress quality (sagged) and breakfast (eggs looked to be pre-made).
Location: Lovely neighborhood location within minutes to Petoskey.
This hotel is historic and in a charming neighborhood among Victorian homes and B&Bs. The back porch, with seating, has a wonderful view (through the trees) of the Bay. The room had charm and was comfortable on a very hot day thanks to a window air conditioner. However, the bed sagged in the middle and was very uncomfortable. Also, the breakfast was lackluster - although we were told people come just for the breakfast. The price and location were right because I booked it late and accomodations in town were all booked up.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Patty , Hotel Management
Dear Claire ...thank you for your feedback..I will find out what room you were in and check out the mattress today. The eggs are made fresh in the morning by the breakfast cook. As we run through them he scrambles up more right then. I would like more creativity with the breakfast too, but have to consider what is able to be done on a large quantity basis and we make everything from scratch.