Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Lyon, Michigan

Great Inn close to beaches and attractions.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: It's historical significance and the pleasant staff.
Cons: We had no issues with our stay.
Location: It was close to Petofskey State park beach, Charlevoix, and the International Dark Sky Headlands was only about 40 minutes away.
My wife and I found the historical Inn very unique and pleasing. We would stay there again. The staff is extremely friendly and the rooms we stayed inn were clean and comfortable. We met the owners and they were very pleasant and hands on in the operation of the Inn. For being built in 1911 the Inn was very beautiful. Thanks for a pleasant stay. Dan & Steph Sopinski
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you Dan and Steph! It was great to meet you and we hope you may come visit again..be sure to call direct because we can give you the best rate that way. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, mI

Quaint and charming hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Charm, neighborhood, atomosphered.
Cons: Matress quality (sagged) and breakfast (eggs looked to be pre-made).
Location: Lovely neighborhood location within minutes to Petoskey.
This hotel is historic and in a charming neighborhood among Victorian homes and B&Bs. The back porch, with seating, has a wonderful view (through the trees) of the Bay. The room had charm and was comfortable on a very hot day thanks to a window air conditioner. However, the bed sagged in the middle and was very uncomfortable. Also, the breakfast was lackluster - although we were told people come just for the breakfast. The price and location were right because I booked it late and accomodations in town were all booked up.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Bloomfield Hills

Exceeded all expectations!

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Wow was I pleasantly suprised!! I never fill out these reviews but I am shocked that the ratings for this Inn are not higher. The building is over 100 years old. So if you're looking for new, forget this place. This Inn is historic, victorian, filled with antiques and is a truly unique experience that you can get increasingly infrequently in our modern age. It was so cool. My wife loved it and we'll go back. Also, the food was awesome. Belinda made us feel super welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you Steven! I just saw your review. I will share it with Belinda..she is awesome and I am lucky to have her..and lucky that you both enjoyed and appreciated the old time charm that you don't get much any more. Take care and hope you can come back sometime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Relaxing, cozy, friendly place.

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: The inn's historical value makes it quite quaint. We enjoyed coffee early in the morning (6:30 am) by the lobby fireplace.
Location: Off season, the inn is extra quiet and cozy. There are several nature preserves nearby, and a lot of shops and one very nice independent bookstore.
Our room on the third floor was European small, but comfortable, and we had a nice view of the bay. There are larger rooms in the inn, but you don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway, especially with so much to see in the area. The breakfasts were very good. We stayed for dinner one evening, and were pleasantly surprised with the quality. Much better than some other restaurants in Petoskey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Patty , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I know it was some time ago..but I just discovered it so thought I should respond anyway. We so hope you are doing well. Thanks again!
4 out of 5
by Camille M. from Cadillac, MI

Just the two of us weekend get away.

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the antiques. The lady at check in went above to accommodate us. The breakfast was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you, Camille. I am lucky to have Belinda!
4 out of 5
by Jamie from Michigan

Returning soon!

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Mother/daughter get away and was looking for something different than the usual hotel experience. We loved the quaintness of the Inn and the neighborhood just added to the experience. We found it to be clean but maybe a little cluttered in the hallways and stairway carpeting could use replacing. Even though we didn't have dinner in the attached restaurant, the menu had several options that were appealing. Our room was small but we knew that beforehand and that was fine for the little time we were actually in the room. Breakfast in the morning was not the usual hotel fare and we were very p!eased. We will definitely returning to this delightful Inn! Also found out better rates are available by calling the Inn directly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you, Jamie, I really appreciate your feedback! I have tried to unclutter the halls..I keep some chairs for guests, a mini-frig, and just a few commodes or items in which the housekeeping staff utilize when we are cleaning. I moved some things around and I think it looks way better. We are addressing the stairs carpeting with some treads so we can keep the beautiful wool carpet..I am not sure if I should get rid of it since we can't get more of it..and if a solid color just on the stairs would work, but maybe it would! or something that would complement the floral wool carpet. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice trip back to the past. Great food and staff.

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Cons: Our room was on the corner of the top (3rd) floor. We put a couple of bricks under the head of the bed to level it out for the sagging floor.
Location: Petoskey area is beautiful!
The Hotel was built in 1911 in an area called the Bay View Association. Residents can only live in their homes from May - Nov. and remain period specific. Was great to get away from the "Chain Hotels".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Patty, Hotel Management
I wondered where those bricks came from! We have very resourceful guests! We addressed the bed issue but still have to address the other furnishings as soon as we have the room open to do so! Thank you for the review!
4 out of 5
by Janet from Holland, MI

Quaint and very nice!

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed one night and found the old hotel very quaint and delightful! For the age of the facility, it is in pretty good shape and the staff was great! The food in the restaurant was also excellent! We will stay here again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Patty, Hotel Management
Hi Janet! Thank you for your nice review! It is sure hard to keep this old "lady" going and up but we are always doing something to fix it, adjust to it or preserve it without changing the character of it.
4 out of 5
by NEAL from Florida

Great unusual and fascinating hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Fascinating hotel, excellent breakfast. Room small, clean. Joel surroundings excellent with beautiful hiking paths. Can walk to town
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern Michigan

Great for anyone enjoying reliving the past.

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Breakfast. Early 1900's décor and setting.
Cons: Advance info re no elevator. Better directions to get there.
Location: The hotel originally must have had a view of Lake Michigan - but now mature trees block the view. The neighborhood is interesting and pleasant.
Our experience was positive. The breakfast was excellent. The walk up to the third floor was a challenge for us seniors. We would have appreciated better directions to the hotel.