Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sanibel fl

Lovely place to stay.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Very comfortable single beds we had the smaller room but worked out nicely shower was perfect breakfasts is in the morning we're more than we could really eat but we love them anyway. We will be back to stay at this wonderful inn. The staff was friendly supportive and helpful the location within walking distance to restaurants we also ate one night and had the white fish special delicious and our waitress was very appreciative and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from coldstream, ontario

Vintage charm

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We spent a most pleasant two days at the terrace inn. Staff were very friendly and although the Hotel lacks some modern day facilities it more than makes up for that in ambiance. Enjoyed a glass of wine on the front porch, dinner on the terrace and breakfast in the attractive dining room. We plan on returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Enjoyed everything about this B&B. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston

Old World Charm

Posted Sep 2, 2017
My husband and I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and have enjoyed each stay. It is clear that since the last time we stayed there, the hotel has been making improvements in the guest rooms. Our room this time was refreshed with beautiful, vintage looking linens and a newly re-done bathroom. Our room was clean, really beautiful with comfortable antique furniture and a very comfy bed. The staff are charming, helpful and very responsive to all our needs. This hotel is located in the historic neighborhood of Bay View and from the terrace you can see the bay or walk around the neighborhood with the gorgeous homes that also overlook the bay. We ate at their 1911 restaurant two nights in a row...we were seated on the terrace with beautiful views and a live guitarist playing classical music and classic popular songs. The food was excellent and with the views and the music, not to mention the wonderful serve staff, our long weekend at The Terrace made for a fabulous weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The Inn was charming, and the rooms were well cared for
I can not thank the staff at the Terrace Inn for all the wonderful things they did for my granddaughter to make her stay there extra special. Patty and the staff went above and beyond to see that she had the best time. The girls at the front desk (Jill and Ashley) made sure she had information on Petoskey stones, and even the maintenance man (Mike) surprised her by giving her a gift bag with Petoskey stones and information on them as we were checking out. They made the trip for a little girl one she will always remember!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Patty, Hotel Management
How sweet Robbie..can't tell you what a joy it was to have you both!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful Inn

Posted Aug 3, 2017
This was my first experience at staying in an Inn like this. LOVED IT!!! The staff was very friendly, the room was nice, the breakfast buffet was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you, Pam! I know it is really different being in an old hotel! But so glad you felt at home and that everyone treated you well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Charm and Character

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The century old tradition of this place is special. Quirky and comfortable with dining on the terrace with a view hard to beat and fine local foods.
Cons: What else could one want?
A tradional part of our Summer experience in the "up north" region of Michigan's Lower Peninsula. Set in an authentic "Chautauqua" community, it offers access to the great outdoors and the cultural life of a dynamic community.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Patty, Hotel Management
Wow..what a wonderful review! I'm so glad you were able to capture the quirkiness, and the community..and I feel lucky to eat here most nights myself! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatham, Ontario

classic hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Picking this hotel was a pretty random choice. But we were very pleasantly surprised. It has loads of character and ambience and is in a really interesting area. The staff are very professional and yet friendly. The food at the accompanying restaurant was very good. The rooms are small and old-fashioned, but that's part of the fun. Everything is very clean and neat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I'm sorry that you didn't get to see or stay in a larger room..they are only available if you call our place directly..but glad you enjoy the character and the staff made you feel at home! The cottage rooms are supposed to feel like staying at one of Bay View's cottages..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NW Ohio

Very friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, the surrounding Victorian houses, the service, and the overall effect.
Location: The terrace Inn is located in Bay View, which is a small enclave of old, well kept summer homes in Petosky, Michigan.
The whole theme of this wonderful B&B was extremely pleasing to my wife and me. The antique furnishings, the porch dining, and the elegant, old style feel made this a pleasant experience for us. For anyone looking to avoid the hustle and bustle of present day living this is the place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Patty , Hotel Management
Dear Jack..Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the location and the old-style feeling and felt relaxed while you were here..that is what we hope for!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport, MI

Nothing close to you

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful
Location: Nothing
No elevator, so if you have walking problems request the 1st floor. Ice machine on ground floor only. They indicate a gift shop, that is completely inaccurate. Nothing even close to the hotel for shopping or attractions, almost 2 miles away. Hotel itself is beautiful if you just plan on staying there only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Patty , Hotel Management
Hi Dan..sorry you didn't like the location..the ice machine is only on first floor because it would be too noisy..but we offer ice buckets and refilling your cooler on request..We have books for sale, cards, soap, and a wonderful hand scrub as well as bird feeders. Downtown is 1.3 miles away and you can take a free trolley from Bay View to downtown or walk or free shuttle to Casino. Sounds like a downtown location would be more desirable for you.