Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but hotel isn't worth it for the $

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Location is excellent
Cons: Probably the decor of the rooms and the price overall.
Location: Petra!
We were tossing up between staying at the Petra Moon and the Movenpick due to the location of the hotels in relation to Petra. Not sure on either, we decided to go with the hotel that has been around for years and has a good reputation. Poor choice! For the price of the hotel we should have been wowed by the facilities and the room, but we weren't. Having to move from one room to another due to poor cleaning (the problem however was rectified immediately and we were even upgraded), with the amount of money that we paid we don't believe the right choice was made. We even visited Petra Moon to check out their rooms to see the comparison, and whilst I'm sure they showed us the best room in the hotel, it was a lot more modern and spacious and well looked after than the Movenpick; and both are about 30 seconds walking distance from the Petra entrance! I must say however that the staff at the Movenpick were wonderful, and if you do stay here instead of the Petra Moon then you'll be paying for access to the hotels restaurants more than anything else. Enjoy your trip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not a movenpick quality

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Its close to the petra gate so good location, but the quality is not what you expect from a movenpick hotel. I would say a 2 to 3 stars hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Great gateway to Petra

Posted Jan 15, 2016
A very comfortable and convenient place to stage a Petra visit. Two minute walk to entrance. Attractive public areas and restaurants, but pricey if not part of a package. Rooms clean and comfortable, but could be more spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jordan

Perfect location but quite run down

Posted Dec 29, 2015
The hotel staff are extremely friendly and very willing to help. The breakfast was good but not brilliant as a lot of the hot foods, such as sausages and roast potatoes were almost cold when picked. The rooms also have a good layout and the public areas of the hotel are stunning. On the other hand, the bathroom was not up to expectations with missing bath plugs and mould growing on the shower head. The handle in the bathtub was also unusable as it was close to being detached from the already cracked tiles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible and overpriced in a great location

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Quality of personnel, food, gym facilities, room and bathroom.
The hotel is extremely overpriced for what it is. The food is consistently bad and unreasonably expensive. Customer service is appalling, worse than at many hostels. Despite all that, the location is excellent for Petra, and this is apparently the best hotel in town. The establishment clearly capitalizes on both of these facts, and improvements are unlikely, as they're simply unnecessary given the hotel's location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ceyhun from İstanbul- Turkey

Petra

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Çok memnun kaldık . Oda da herşey çok güzeldi . Otelin kapısı Petra ana girişiyle karşı karşıyaydı . Tam istediğimiz gibi . Hemen içeriye giriş yapabilirsiniz . Otelin güvenliği ve çalışanların güler yüzünden memnun ayrıldık .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marta from barcelona

maravilloso todo! !

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
La situacion del hotel al lado de la entrada de Petra es inmejorable!! Todo fue perfecto. La sensacion es de que es uno de los mejores hoteles para quedarse en Petra y disfrutar de un buen descanso después de la paliza de recorrer las ruinas durante horas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Great location next to Petra entrance however...

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Great location of the hotel and the usual resort like features of movenpick hotels however the cleanliness let down our short stay in Petra. The bathroom was filthy, there was blood in the toilet bowl when we arrived and even after requesting a cleaner to come and sort it out they just poured something down and was still visible for our whole stay! The coffee machine did not work and with long days walking around Petra this is exactly what you need to wake you up the morning after. The hotel staff were pleasant and accomodating but not of usual movenpick standards. We wanted to order room service food from the healthy lighter range they had marketed in their in room pamphlets however upon ordering they said non of that is available. Overall the stay in this hotel served its purpose but little details let it down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcus from Hampton

Visiting Petra

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel on the doorstep of the entrance to Petra. We stayed in a suite room which was comfortable and clean. Attentive, friendly service and good food. The only negative I can think of is the children's room called the Fun Factory ... nice to have but the lighting was very gloomy and it needed a bit of TLC down there. Other than that, it's a great hotel for visiting Petra and then coming back and resting comfortably.