Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Great Room, easy access to Subway.

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Cosy room, great kitchen and polite staff. Very nice restaurants around the hotel as well. Can easily walk into city centre as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled by appearances

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Don't be fooled by outside. It looks shabby but has everything you need plus helpful staff (although some struggled with English). Free coffee tea or wine on arrival. Lovely bar adjoining, with good food and lovely staff. Clean and adequate rooms. Little kitchenette downstairs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a nice area

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel not far from Peter and Paul fortress. Walkable distance to main attractions. 5-min walk to nearest metro station in a big park. Very comfy bed. Friendly staff. Fast wifi. Strongly recommended!
5 out of 5
by William from Texas, US

Book This Hotel! Best for the price in St P.

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great Hotel! The staff was great and the room was amazing even if it was a little small. They really stay on top of keeping everything clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean, everything is good except location

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Nice and clean, everything is good except location
2 out of 5
by yourii from SPB

not good for the money

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very small hot water tank-you can only shower for 5 min - next person has to wait an hour for warm water. Very noisy - smoking people been screaming whole night. Toilet not even bolted to the floor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, local neighborhood

Posted Jul 20, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful, especially since the airlines lost our luggage. Their English was very good, too. Although the hotel was a little hard to find on a somewhat sketchy street, it was close to a family-centric and safe area. The subway is within a 10-minute walk, through a lovely park, and the stop is only one away from the tourist destinations. It's also located a 5-minute walk from the Neva River, where you can take water tours (a must-do tourist activity).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from London

First visit to St Petersburg

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Cost, location, free wifi, staff, kitchen available if desired, cleanliness.
Cons: The wall insulation could be improved so that less noise travels between the rooms.
Location: Well located, probably equidistance between two metro stations. Many restaurants nearby with lots to do.
Our first ever visit to St Petersburg and we booked to stay at the Marks Inn - purely based on Tripadvisor reviews and the price. We were slightly apprehensive due to the low price but we shouldn't have worried. Our stay was absolutely brilliant! We struggled a little to find the hotel initially, but after a few false starts we stumbled across it. The girl on reception was helpful and we then went to our room. We found the room to be very clean, with all the amenities you would want. There are also grocery stores nearby to buy water etc. In the hotel, there is a communal kitchen which you could use if you wanted, although we never during our time there. The walls are a little on the thin side, but paying the price we did in this very expensive city, you cannot have everything. This hotel offers excellent value for money and is located a short distance from two well situated metro stations making travelling around the city very easy. There was no air con but there was a fan which made sleeping ok (we went in August), perhaps not ideal but on the plus side probably better for the environment! St Petersburg is not yet a tourist mecca (a great thing in my opinion) but that means that it can at times be a little daunting, this hotel makes you feel safe and very welcome in a somewhat frosty city. A gem of a hotel offering wonderful value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from UK

Close to pleasant park and metro

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Close to metro via a pleasant walk. Friendly staff. Small kitchen.
We chose to accept the offer of a taxi transfer to the hotel so it was easy to find for us. The entrance is through a black gate which is opened remotely via reception. Inside the hotel it is very clean and the staff pleasant. The room is small but clean. The beds are narrow and firm but we prefer firm beds. The shared kitchen was useful with a microwave, fridge, kettle and some nice seating. We brought in some food and drinks from the supermarket in the adjacent street which was handy. On the first day we walked into the city which took around 30-40 minutes but after that we strolled for 10 minutes through a lovely park to the metro station. It is not in the tourist area (though it is close to the Peter and Paul Fortress) so it was good to walk in the park with the locals on an evening. There are some eating places nearby too. The hotel can arrange a modest breakfast at a cafe across the road but it was not served until 10 am at weekends so we only had it on our last morning as we preferred to be out sightseeing. Would use the hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I recommend

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Pros: The staff
Cons: Public transportation #6 Tram was not running which made it difficult to get to the hotel directly.
For me, the difference between being just a simple, good hotel and a very good hotel was the staff. They were very helpful and friendly. I would stay at the hotel again.