Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Quaint and olde worlde
Cons: Small things. Choice of sauces at the breakfast table (only had ketchup). Somewhere to sit in the room and, perhaps, a table. Other than that good.
Location: Petworth is beautiful. Petworth House and Park, although I've never been there!! Good pubs Chiddingfold, a few miles north, is also beautiful
We chose the Stonemasons for an overnight stay as we were going to a birthday party in a community centre just round the corner. The proprietor was very friendly and the other staff just as friendly. The room we had was the Lazy Larry, which stood outside the building fronting on to the main road. It was quite comfortable, basic, but suited our needs which were just to crash out. We ate in the restaurant that evening. Meal was OK but nothing special and, in fact, didn't include one of the vegetables that were included in the menu (no Chantenay carrots!!). But everything was edible. Good place for an overnight stay, or at a push, a couple of nights but wouldn't want to stay longer. Was cheaper than other hotels in the area. It did the job! Use as a base for exploring. Very close to Petworth House
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet pub near Petworth centre

Posted Jan 16, 2017
A nice friendly clean pub right near centre of Petworth with free parking
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected value for money gem

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
One night working visit so couldn't sample area or surrounds but Tracey, the owner, was fantastic and very flexible going out of her way to satisfy our needs. Food was top drawer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfy & friendly.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
I only used the bedroom at The Stonemasons as I was visiting family, but the pub and the food looked nice as I walked through. The room was Uncle Jeds and spacious, a sort of entrance hall where you could keep your bags so not blocking up the bed area. I found the bed comfy, had a full bath and overhead shower, tv, sofa and tea & coffee facilities with bottled water. Would happily stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable B and b.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
All was good. I had booked two rooms (one for my sister-in-law0. the only downside was that the rooms were extremely hot. Other than that, all okay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant 2 night stay

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good location on outskirts of Petworth with easy walk into town. Very friendly welcome from staff with lots of advice during our stay on the local area ie shops/restaurants & nearby National Trust property. Pleasant meal on night of arrival.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend

Nice chilled break

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Had a lovely mid week break, room very comfortable, staff very friendly, would not hesitate to stay there again
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel only issue was that there was no shower
3 out of 5
by Owen from Suffolk

Comfortable bed, but poor WiFi

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
I was here for a couple of nights for Goodwood raceweek. Very comfortable, quiet room at the rear of the building. Good breakfast and very pleasant and helpful staff. The decor is a bit dated, and the shower in my room trickled out so little water that I was unable to have a shower. The Free WiFi was very hit and miss, and annoyingly only allowed 30 minutes at a time. This meant that the connection suddenly stopped while I was in the middle of doing something. It then took ages to reconnect.