Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broadstairs

Hotel has character.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: We liked everything , it was our anniversary and got given an upgraded room too.
Cons: Nothing really , Keep it as it is , friendly and welcoming.
Location: Hastings , eastbourne and brighton .
A really nice place to stay , rooms and hotel has character , free full english breakfast was really nice , staff friendly , bar drinks prices very reasonable , Pevensey is an ideal place to stay as near eastbourne and hasting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: not really
Location: hastings is so close,eastbourne to
good location,good hotel,close to many important towns
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great charm &character with friendly helpful staff

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
The Bay has extremely friendly staff & Karen & her team provided us with a great stay. The hotel is a little tired but what she lacks in pizazz she certainly makes up for in charm. The panelled dining room is lovely and there are lots of interesting features. The complimentary breakfast sets you up for the day. A small plate with bacon sausage egg tomato beans & mushrooms freshly cooked along with toast jams and tea or coffee. Admittedly there is limited choice but Karen is happy to help where possible. The rooms are quaint and the bed comfy - admittedly everything is a little tired but hey- how long do you plan to stay in your room. We understand investment in the property is forthcoming & so it should be to preserve this lovely old lady. A bonus is free parking on site and a 2 minute walk to the beach. We will definitely be staying again when next in the area.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Decent Hotel,comfortable room needs a bit of tlc but on the whole fine .Fruit juice,cornflakes and the offer of extra coffee and toast would improve the breakfast experience.Well priced drinks.Will use again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Nice traditional hotel practically on the beach of Pevensey Bay; very friendly staff, good parking facilities and very close to shops and transport to Eastbourne and beyond
2 out of 5
by Geoff

Not what it seems

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Couldn't check in late have cereal for breakfast or an evening meal after 7.50pm. Basically if you want a relaxing stay try elsewhere!!
5 out of 5
by Brian

My stay at the bay

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Clean friendly hotel polite staff would stay again
4 out of 5
by John

would stay again.

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
The price was amazing. The staff very friendly and the food was good, facilities could do with a refresh. Pity wardrobe blocked by an overhanging wall mounted TV.
5 out of 5
by Susan G

Old English Pub

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
A pub stay out of the city. A great addition to our travel. This is a typical old English pub with rooms above. The rooms are not fancy nor luxurious. However, this was the perfect place for us to stay. Right on the English Channel. We were very comfortable, had all the amenities we needed. The staff was superb. The manager took the time to visit with us. He even ran down the street to get Grandma hot chocolate when the car had none. The hotel overall made us feel right at home. And of course a few pints with the locals is always important fun. Fantastic
4 out of 5
by Ken

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay pity no food during stay.