Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waterpark is fun, everything else is just OK

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Was very disappointed to find out that when you book through external sites (Expedia) it doesn't include the waterpark. The walls are paper thin. The front lobby was locked in the morning where you couldn't even check out without walking outside and around. While we waited by the locked door to talk to the front desk, the staff continued to walk by and completely ignored us. My 4 year old lost her wrist band so we had to wait in the freezing cold lobby to get a replacement, which is fine but the front desk worker ignored us while she was helping another couple check in without even acknowledging us with a friendly nod or "I will be right with you". When she did help us she was very nice but simply handed us a new wrist band - no questions asked. It would have been appreciated if she would have politely excused herself for just a moment to get us the new wristband while she was checking in the other couple (who had expired coupons, etc. to discuss) instead of having us stand in the lobby wearing swimsuits. The rooms were ok - not at all the high-end experience that align with the rates. Overall - the waterpark is fun but if it weren't for that we wouldn't consider booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Tiffany Woodward, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feedback on your stay. Regarding your comment about the surcharge to add water park admission, Water Park wristbands are not included with rooms booked on 3rd party sites as some customers prefer to book a room only. There is information on the booking site regarding this policy and I am sorry if there was any confusion. As for your comment about the lobby door, please know that the front door to the hotel is never locked and the desk is staffed 24 hours a day. What you were referring to is the front door to the water park entrance which does get locked when the park is closed. Finally, we are glad that your family felt the water park was fun and hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Hotel all right our room was located above the pool area chlorine was so strong I ended up with an allergy reaction and sinus allergies I had a miserable time with the grandkids
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
C: I am sorry to hear about the issue you encountered during your visit and wish we would have had the opportunity to address your concern while you were here. Please don't ever hesitate to let one of our managers know if there is ever anything we can to help make your stay enjoyable. Thank you, Tiffany Woodward
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Minus the poop being in the hotels indoor pool. The stay was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
Carmaleetha, Thank you for the five star review. We are glad your stay was awesome! Regarding your comment about the indoor pool, unfortunately we sometimes encounter “potty accidents". Our staff is trained to treat any and all incidents with the guest’s health and welfare in mind. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. Thank you, Tiffany Woodward
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

There was bugs and the continental was horrible.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Should get a big fat zero! Never going back! It was disgusting. Dirty sheets on the beds and all they served for breakfast was cereal and coffee cake not a good breakfast. The water park didn't open till 10 a.m. Very unsatisfactory. Horrible place don't recommend it at all. If your looking for a good waterpark resort go to key lime cove. Also don't book on here doesn't include water passes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
heather, Thank you for the review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you recent visit to the Country Springs Hotel and wish we would have had the opportunity to address your concerns during your stay. Regarding you comment about water park admission, you are correct that water park wristbands are not included with rooms booked on any 3rd party sites as some customers prefer to book a room only. There is information on the booking site regarding this policy and I apologize for any confusion. Thank you, Tiffany Woodward
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wi

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: WATER PARK was very fun and well maintained.Hotel was very clean and comfortable
Cons: Lobby where restrooms located outside water park was very chilly.
Location: Bike trails expo center and shopping in historic district downtown Waukesha
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
Carol, We are happy to hear you felt the water park was fun and that the hotel was clean and comfortable. As for your comment regarding the locker rooms being a little chilly, I have shared your feedback with our maintenance team. Thank you for choosing Country Springs Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you, Tiffany Woodward
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Sleep well but selection of breakfast items

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Breakfast was a disappointment I was expecting to be able to eat something ihat would tide me over to lunch but there was nothing warm. The selection was very poor. Slept well and it was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
Cindy, Thank you for the four star review. We are happy to hear you slept well during your stay and that you felt your guest room was clean. As for your comments about breakfast, please know that I have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage team. Thank you again, Tiffany Woodward
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Wisconsin

Very dated hotel, not worth price

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The 60's called, they want their hotel and decor back. Half an hour after checking in, housekeeping keyed into our room without knocking or announcing themselves. We've stayed at nicer hotels in the Milwaukee metro area for 1/3 the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
Nate, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay and that you didn't didn't feel your guest room was a good value. We hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you, Tiffany Woodward
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country Springs

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Convenient for the wedding we were attending.
Cons: The pricing was quite expensive for the room and facility accommodations when not utilizing the waterpark facilities.
Location: none visited.
Due to the water park the rooms had a strong chlorine smell. Walls between rooms were very thin, I could hear the next door room occupants conversations' word for word.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. While we are happy to hear it was convenient to stay on property so you could attend a wedding here, we are sorry that your guest room did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our team and hope you consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you, Tiffany Woodward
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Very outdated. Paid 190 for a hotel that was dark,dated and came with little amenities. It honestly would have been cheaper and nicer to stay at the neighboring best western across the way and it came with more amenities!! Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear your recent stay didn't meet your expectations and wish we would have had an opportunity to address any concerns during your visit. Tiffany Woodward
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Great Stay, all clean and comfortable. Teamgeist ist only bring that Co und be better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Director of Marketing and Water Park Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be clean and comfortable. Looking forward to your next visit. Thank you, Tiffany Woodward