Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Read the fine print and beware

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: No comment
Cons: Management at this hotel should look at special cases and give money back when or at least partial refunds for circumstances beyond a client's control
Location: Ho Chi Minh airport is 5 hour ride away by car and 14 hours by bus or train
Beware. Travel time from Ho Chi Minh airport to this hotel is 5 hours by car which is almost as long as the flight from Melbourne, Australia to Vietnam. You need a Vietnamese government VISA to travel to Vietnam and you will not be allowed on the plane in Australia without a VISA letter. Once in Vietnam, you will need 2 passport size photographs to provide to customs as well as your VISA letter so they can process a VISA for you at the airport. In my case, the VISA letter never arrived in time so I was not allowed to board the plane in Australia and lost the whole hotel money (you pay the whole amount of your stay upfront in Ocean Dunes Resort), as I had to cancel flights and hotel due to this. Be careful as the management at this Resort will not contemplate any requests for money back, whether you paid for a week's stay or 2 month stay..no matter, you will loose all of your money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel on beach with nuie surroundings

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: beach location and sea view room
Cons: access off the hotel site - only 2 entrances off site due to the extensive building work in the area
Location: plenty of places to eat, best places were up near the Lotte Mart.
A hotel that is located on the beach, fairly empty when we stayed there at Easter 2017 - so no problem getting a sun bed by either pool. Make sure you book a sea view room - very good view of sea and gardens. The downside is that you have to walk about 500m+ to get off of the hotel site, and there is a lot of building work going on in the front of the hotel, although this is not noisy during the day or evening. but this didnt spoil our holiday there at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Nguyen Thi Thanh Van - Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Warmest greetings from Ocean Dunes Resort. On behalf of the Hotel management we would like to appreciate you took your valued time to share about your experiences with us. We always try hard to bring our customers the best services. If you need any information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us We looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future Best Regards, Nguyen Thi Thanh Van Guest relation manager
3 out of 5
by Lan

Could be better

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Too loud and need update the room carpet dirty and room smell smoking while asked for nonsmoking. Music too loud for the out door party. Staff very nice and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017
Dear Lan, Warmest greeting from Phan Thiet Ocean Dunes resort, Thank you so much for staying with us. We so sorry for some inconvenience along your stay, we will try to improve it. All of outside party are informed to guest before doing. We look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future Best regards, Tien Nguyen Guest relations manager
5 out of 5
by Judith from Brisbane

Fantastic resort in quiet area.

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Resort was wonderful. Room had plenty of space, staff were all excellent in both their jobs and politeness and attentiveness. Chi tai in the mornings with a very experienced teacher. He was patient and ensured we all kept time. Cannot recommend this resort highly enough.
4 out of 5
by Judith from Brisbane

So quiet, so good

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great resort. Quiet location. Right on the beach. Has pools, tennis, spa. So good to spend relaxing days here before heading off to Saigon. Staff are great- so helpful and always with a smile. Tai chi in the mornings after a great buffet Breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Anthony from Canada

No longer a 4☆ hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
As many people have said this hotel is dated and the Internet sucks. But is still has some good points. Breakfast is pretty good. Dinner is excellent but expensive. The view and exterior property is pretty nice. The furniture In the rooms need a major upgrade, I can't understand how they managed to mess up the Internet. But I think this hotel now caters to locals and Chinese saw only 1 other westerner during my time there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Linh from USA

Subpar in every way

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Upon arriving at our room, we quickly request another room because of the terrible odor. The staff moved us to another room, with similar condition, then we noticed the hallway also has similar smell (likely mold or smog). Fearing we may be allergic to this smell, we have to go to a different hotel, although we had paid in full for 2 nights at this hotel ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, oregon. usa

Nice resort

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Location: Location a little far from town, but it's a resort. Long walk to nearby restaurants.
We stayed one night only while on the road. Very helpful great staff.
4 out of 5
by lan from Phan Thiet

hotel amenities need update

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent views excellent foods excellent service just need update the the room & air conditioner