Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Nice hotel in Khao lak

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Very nice hotel, friendly atmosphere and staff. Nice pool and a good restaurant. Second time here, will return again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Fanari courtyard hotel room

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Unknowingly booked for courtyard bungalow across from main hotel. On arrival the room stank of damp so much so we only spent 10minutes in the room before I had to get outside for fresh air. We asked at reception to be moved and they showed us another bungalow that smelt just as bad. We ended up paying 400thb extra per night to stay in a poolside room which still smelt like damp but was much, much better and cleaner. The beach is lovely and the surrounding area really is friendly with lots of good restaurants. We had a couple of meals at Thai Life down the road which was really great, try out their schnitzel. We can recommend Pinocchio's which is an Italian, slightly more expensive but worth the money and they did a great job catering to our requirements. There is a great bar run by an English hippie on the main road called Mars Bar (onto main Street and turn right, look for the yellow smiley face sign) he is a super nice guy and does proper English grub and PG tips tea if you're missing a good cuppa! All in all, really enjoyed our stay and the room was good but ended up expensive.
4 out of 5
by Cheryl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 23, 2015
The main photo of the pool area used on the Expedia website is quite flattering. Also, if you're looking to laze by the pool in the sun all day be mindful that it's quite well-shaded and only captures a few hours of direct sunlight. The rooms are spacious and clean with firm mattresses. No signs of insect infestation. Decent shower pressure. The location is ok, just a couple of minutes from the beach. All-in-all, it's a clean, safe mid-range hotel.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Swansea

Hotel needs maintenance.

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Our room had a bad odour when we arrived so we changed room. The roof in the new room leaked one night during some heavy rain. We could hear big drops of water hitting the ceiling. I wondered how long it would be before the ceiling collapsed. There weren't enough sun beds around the pools and other guests would place towels on them really early. Breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay, nur great time

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 3 nights at Fanari. Nice Hotel, great pool, top staff, tasty breakfast... :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fanari Khaolak Resort

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: condition of room
Cons: had to trot down to the lobby every time I needed internet
Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Internet does not reach the room which seems to be an ongoing issue that has not been addressed for past few years. had to trot down to the lobby every time I needed internet.
3 out of 5
by Randy N from Victoria bc

Really nice pool area

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a short getaway to the beach. The hotel is not directly on the beach which was disappointing. There is beach access via the other part of the hotel but it is a good walk down the road not just across the street. However the hotel is close to restaurants and shops. There are 2 nice swimming pools and lots of sun beds. Breakfast buffet was very good. Beds in room were a strange setup. A king size and a single all setup on one large platform frame with just a space on the platform between the mattresses. So I had to step onto the platform to get into my side of the bed. Maybe it's a Scandinavia thing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fanari Resort - Courtyard

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel with nice landscaping and pool facilities. Short distant walk to the beach and restaurants. Very quite, nice and relaxing environment. Friendly staff except the night duty staff not speaking much English. Good spread of breakfast. Enjoyed our stay in this hotel! Will come back the next trip.