Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Wonderful time

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We stayed at Sensimar in a bungalow for a week in July. It was a fantastic, relaxing holiday. The beach and pool's are lovely and nice & quiet this time of year. Staff very professional and friendly. Happy was great too :D Khao Lak town has a lot of great Thai restaurants for a low key night out, just a short walk from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Plenty to like in this child-free beach resort

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, good facilities overall, including a cafe and mini-mart. Wi-fi was free and functioned well.
Cons: Everyone is saying it - toilets near the main pool. Entry from the stairs leading down to the back of the restaurant might work well.
Location: Khao Lak is still rather old style, but there are supermarkets, very good markets (including a bar that rocked!) and the usual touristy options.
Khao Lak is a much better option for travellers who would like a little more of the old Thailand, where the locals are laid back and friendly, and the town is still a little rough around the edges. It is especially poignant that this is where the 2004 boxing day tsunami hit Thailand the hardest, and the formal and informal memorials are worth visiting. Sensimar resort offers very good facilities in a fine location tucked away in a very attractive corner of Khao Lak, right on the beach. From our bungalow, the sand was just 20 metres from the front door. Everyone, from ground staff to management, were friendly and helpful. Anika, the Guest Relations Manager, was very engaging and visible in the resort operations, and it was great to see both she and the Resort Manager, Ciaran McNeill, meeting for breakfast each morning in the main restaurant. The breakfasts were really good, and the dining options were quite reasonable. In any case, there are other options close by and we were able to have some fine dining experiences elsewhere during our stay. The wait staff were delightful, though a little eager at times to clear away the plates. Our beachside bungalow was very spacious and comfortable, if a little spartan, which just a touch more interior furnishing could rectify. The resort was quiet and unhurried, but we could get what we wanted, when we wanted it, without much delay. We had a most relaxing and enjoyable break at Sensimar, and would be very, very happy to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jacqueline from Australia

The best of 3 resorts we stayed at in Khao Lak

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was OK and we would stay here if returning to this locality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nsw australia

Great location in Khao lak

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Closeness to beach.
Cons: Maybe an upgrade on booking in as only about 30% booked.
Location: Restaurants, shopping (even though fairly quiet in beginning of wet season)
Lovely relaxing stay, beaut breakfast, close to restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Evrything is perfect or almost perfect.
10 days stay in May 2015. Nice and comfortable hotel located at own beach. Rooms are big, clean and well maintained. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Room, Fabulous Beach.

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous welcome. Fabulous room but Restaurants a total let down. Funny 'rules' where and cannot sit for dinner in the what looks the same restaurant / beach bar. Closing times not the same as advised on welcome letter. Spa great and good value for money. Gym OK but some equipment is in poor condition (treadmill belt slips) and needs repairing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Schweiz

Schöne, erholsame Ferien

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Khao Lak ist wirklich eine Reise wert! Wunderschöne Umgebung und ein traumhaftes Meer. Das Hotel liegt nah beim Zentrum, in ca. 10min zu Fuss erreicht man diverse Restaurants. Das Hotel ist sehr ruhig und gepflegt. Es sind fast ausschliesslich Paare im Hotel. Man hat wirklich seine Ruhe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach front hotel , nice enviroment.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: 1. Nice Beach- sand is fine and no rocks at the seabed . Cleaner sea water as compared to Patong. Vast natural and beautiful environment.
Cons: Rooms located at high ground should not be allocated to senior guests, as there are quite a number of steps to climb.
Location: Khao Lak town center is only 5-7 mins walk from the exit of the hotel along the main road towards the north, where there are many shops .
We loved this hotel. Clean, large room and very nice beach with very fine sand and no rocks at the seabed, though there are big boulders protruding from the seawater level. The included brealfast is superb, with many choices of fruits and food. During the two breakfasts time, we were surprised to see that we were the only Asian couple. We had a dinner at the hotel restaurant which is facing the sea and has a very nice ambience. The food was good and the prices were very reasonable as compared to the dinner we had at Bang Niang Village, which is 5 km to the north along the main road feom the exit of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Komfortables Strandhotel

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Preis- wertes, gutes Hotel direkt an einem schönen Strand. Baden ist hier auch bei Ebbe gut möglich. Bei Flut ist der Strand recht klein. Die Liegen stehen leider dicht an dicht. Das Frühstücksbuffet lässt kaum Wünsche offen (doch: frischer Saft wäre schön). Direkt hinter und oberhalb des Hotels beginnt die Straße mit Restaurants, Shops etc - man ist also nicht mittendrin. Unmittelbar gegenüber sind aber schon gute, kleine Restaurants. Im Hotel hört man aber nichts von der Straße, dank sehr zurückhaltendem Animationsprogramm ist es insgesamt angenehm ruhig.