Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Wonderfully cozy & warm place in Philadelphia

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Location, affordability, friendly & helpful staff, views, cozy & unique rooms, great character of the building itself.
Cons: mini-fridge & coffee maker in every room would be nice...but that's seriously all I could possibly think of!
Location: Center City has pretty much everything. All within a couple blocks are countless bars & restaurants, great shopping. Perfect "Gayborhood" locale.
We'd often heard great things about Alexander Inn, but being Philadelphians, we'd never had the opportunity to see for ourselves. With the Blizzard of 2016 bearing down on us & having lots of birthday plans in Center City over the weekend, we knew it'd be so much more fun & convenient to stay in Center City over the weekend & decided to stay at the Alexander. SO glad we did. From the warm, friendly staff to the incredible original architectural details to the fantastic views, we had the perfect time. Not to mention, it was so much more affordable than we would have ever thought possible down in the heart of Center City. Can't recommend it enough - we'll definitely book again for future "stay-cations" and recommend it to everyone we know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Within east walking distance to many places

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Easy walking distance to many good restaurants and historic site. Very cool older hotel. Bed was average. Maybe a memory foam topper would help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant centrally located hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Cons: Hated the two loud TVs on in the breakfast room. I really don't want to hear about ISIS while I'm trying to enjoy my breakfast and plan my day.
Nice hotel, helpful staff, great location. But if you don't want the TV news blaring while you eat breakfast, pick a different hotel. The staff told us they get a lot of complaints about the TVs in the breakfast room, but they can't do anything because the owner insists on having them on. If you prefer a quiet stress-free start to the day, this is not the hotel for you. It's a shame, because everything else was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Tyrone was a joy to talk to and very, very helpful. We are booking again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay at Alexander Inn

Posted Nov 23, 2015
I loved everything about Alexander Inn: its proximity to landmarks, its friendly staff, its cleanliness, its breakfast, and its European feel. I would recommend everyone to stay there while in Philadelphia. I will certainly return there one day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Nice hotel. Centrally located. Excellent and friendly staff. Quiet location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Central hotel in Philadelphia

Posted Nov 18, 2015
We highly recommend this hotel. This was our third stay at the Alexander Inn. The beds are very comfortable, the central location allows exploring the city by foot, the employees are welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast is way above average. We plan to return again :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Very nice hotel, very friendly staff, better option for a reasonable price in Philly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location, great value

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms, the deluxe rooms are very large for the price, and the upper floors have good views.
Cons: Lower floors a bit noisy. Also, make sure to contact the hotel re/ your booking (see above)
Location: Central location, walking distance to historic attractions, shopping and restaurants
We booked 3 nights at the Alexander Inn. Unfortunately, although we had a confirmation from Expedia, the hotel hadn't received the booking. They found a room for us anyway, and we enjoyed our stay. So a note of caution: check with the hotel and make sure they have your booking. Apparently this has happened before with Expedia's bookings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Frederick from Brooklyn, New York

Courtesy and Comfort in the City of Brotherly Love

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
This is the second time I've stayed at the Alexander Inn. The rooms are cozy, and the staff is friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. I plan to stay there any time I visit Philadelphia.