Ratings based on 668 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Friendly, charming and in a great location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: see above
Location: see above
The Inn was perfect. Our room had a bay window with a great view of the city. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect - walking distance to everything (Center City, Liberty Plaza, South St, Society Hill, etc).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Small Hotel in Safe Neighborhood

Posted Jul 10, 2017
It is a historic building with lovely mosaics on the floor. Complimentary breakfast is provided, and it is in walking distance to many good restaurants. Bus routes are nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great staff and very conveniently situated. Take advantage if the car parking they offer it will make your stay a lot easier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Womderful Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Very nice hotel.Staff was very friendly, and the room was comfortable and very clean. Hotel was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Parking garage was just a few blocks from hotel, one of the cheapest rates we found in Philadelphia .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: everything.
lovely hotel- close to many attractions and fine places to eat. Attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC UT

Beautiful, boutique hotel in convenient location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: the breakfast! It's beautiful!
Location: Jimi's steak sandwich is a must! Walk to Independence Hall and Liberty bell. We enjoyed the Hop on Hop off bus tour. See coins made at the mint.
We had a beautiful king room. The breakfast was great! We walked to the historic district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Close to City Center, beautiful neighborhood locat

Posted May 27, 2017
Walk to public transportation and/or take walking tour. We had a terrific experience. Local restaurants excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Alexander Inn was a delightful experience.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the comfortable beds & all the fresh air.
Cons: I wish it were closer so we could go more often.
Location: Longwood Gardens is fairly close by which is gorgeous.
If you want a quiet, comfortable bed & breakfast then Alexander Inn is the place for you. It's a spacious stone house in a quiet neighborhood with large trees. We loved it. If you enjoy having a beautiful & delicious breakfast served to you every morning then Alexander Inn is definitely the one for you. I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Inn in a great neighborhood.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Charm, staff, location.
Cons: Shower could have been cleaned better. Room was a little dusty.
Location: I was there for work but got to walk around the immediate neighborhood. Dinner at Bud + Marilyn's was fantastic! Walked to the Barnes Foundation.
This hotel has a lovely, old school feeling to it. Very nice and helpful staff. Simple rooms, nothing fancy or modern, but has everything you need. Walls are pretty thin, but I kept the bathroom fan going all night for white noise and was fine. Nice, free breakfast for guests. It really is an inn versus a hotel so it has charm. I loved the neighborhood. If you stay here, I recommend you eat at Bud + Marilyns just a quick walk from the hotel. Tria's across the street is good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice location but rooms need upgrade

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel is conveniently located near historic district and bars, with discounted $20 parking nearby. It's a charming building overall. However, our rooms were quite dated. The queen bedroom didn't even have a chair, although bed itself was comfortable. Some minor upgrading would help. Small bathroom is well provisioned (except for single layer toilet paper).