Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Cozy, quiet room in a great neighborhood. Reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

Best Kept Secret in Center City Philadelphia.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Rate
Cons: Reserved parking for checking in and checking out.
Location: Everything is near by. You can walk to the subways, visit historical locations, walk for dinner and drinks. Great location.
I love supporting local and staying at boutique hotels. Parking is great but caution, parking is for 24-hours (no in and out parking). You have to walk about 1 1/2 blocks away from the hotel put the rate for 24-hours cannot be beat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

コンパクトなクラシックホテル

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: アメリカにありがちな無意味に広い部屋ではなく、日本のビジネスホテルのようなコンパクトにして必要十分な大きさの部屋で、落ち着きます。 スタッフがまめに働いていて気持ちいいです。
Cons: 部屋に冷蔵庫はありません。 クーラーが後付けの小型で、非常にうるさいです。しかし、夜はエアコンを止めて窓を開ければ眠れました。 シングルルームはシャワーブースが小さいです。シャワーカーテンが床まで届いていないので洗面所に水が漏れます。お湯が出るまで時間がかかります。
Location: City Hallまで徒歩11分、空港行きの電車が発着する Jefferson Station まで徒歩10分、24時間営業のスーパー「Wawa」まで徒歩7分です。
中心市街地内にありながら安価なホテルとして出張者にはお勧めできます。古いホテルだけに階段がミシミシ言ったりしますが、部屋の清潔さや水回りは問題なく、よくメンテナンスされています。朝食はパン、ワッフル、デニッシュ、シリアル、ゆで卵、ヨーグルト、バナナ、りんご、グレープフルーツ、牛乳、コーヒー、紅茶などがあります(季節によって違うかもしれません)。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel pratique et agréablement décoré.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Très bien placé : permet de faire pas mal de choses à pied. Mon compagnon marche avec difficultés mais avec le bus hop in et hop off tout est gėrable. Cela dit pour le prix il vaut peut être mieux si l'on a une voiture prendre un hôtel en périphérie et laisser la voiture au Pakistan g à la journée car le prix du Parking pour 24h, même négociė par l'hôtel a 2ô euros augmente le peux déjà élevé. Petit déjeuner froid de l'hôtel correct. Pas de réfrigérateur dans la chambre, chambre petite et sans fauteuil ni de quoi poser les valises. Le point fort est la localisation, suivi de la décoration et de l'accueil.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Good location in old Philly

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Very nice staff, small but cosy rooms with good queen bed. Breakfast room needed vacuum and there were no signs indicating you had to clear table yourself and person working there didn't say so or notice cups & dishes left on some tables. Walking distance from center town and good transportation system. Interior needs some freshing up. Nice bar & snacks across street and good mercato italian r'rant few steps away!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toms River, NJ

We had an exceptional trip!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Quiet, neat and clean.
Cons: All good!
Location: We enjoyed Tria. Wine was exceptional!
Staff was wonderful! Extremely helpful in making our trip a fun time. Room was clean and neat. We were in the heart of everything. Breakfast was tasty. Kudos to Eddie (receptionist) and Brian (food service)!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Worth every penny

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Excellent fine. Area very quaint. Near to restaurants and walkable to Reading Terminal Market, Chinatown
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Was great if you want to focus on the historical sites and museum/arts areas of Philly. And transportation easy to get to as well if you wanna go outside that as well. Bed was super hard/firm so be careful if that's an issue for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A great alternative to chain hotels

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The staff was incredibly welcoming and polite. Eddie, the guy on the late afternoon/evening shift, is a warm, hilarious, no-nonsense Philly native.
Cons: The wi-fi tends to get tired and cut out for a while in the early evening.
Location: In the heart of the gay district, but the hotel welcomes people of all colours, creeds and orientations. Ask the staff for restaurant recommendations
The Alexander Inn, while not brand new, not familiar, offers something rarer: personality, personalized service, originality. If you need everything to be brand spanking new, this is probably not going to be a place you're going to fall in love with. The building is late 19th century and has gone through many incarnations, from in town apartments for the suburban rich to hotel to flop house and back to hotel again. Its present incarnation has taken its design cues from luxury ocean liners of the 1930s, whose long, straight corridors echo the layout of this hotel. The furniture is new, but has been designed to look like 30s and 40s pieces. The rooms are pleasingly designed, the bathrooms a little on the small side, but perfectly adequate. I found my room to be quiet, although if you insist on central air conditioning, you might find the window air conditioners on the noisy side. There's a fitness centre in the basement, a very well appointed breakfast room (breakfast is included in the price). The breakfast is varied, staying on the continental side (breads, pastries, toastable waffles, fruit, juice, probiotic yogurt, hard boiled eggs). Discounted parking is a few blocks away at a commercial parkade. I left my car there for three days unattended and nothing happened to it. There are many great restaurants in the neighborhood (try Mixto for really great Cuban American food), and most of Philly's major attractions are within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location to meet our needs during the stay.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
One of our bags was given to another guest. The staff did not seem to have an urgency in trying to reach the other guest to recover our bag. At the time of this comment, it is uncertain when or how the bags will be recovered. This put a very sour note on an otherwise great trip. Very disappointing!