Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old home with nice, helpful hostess

Posted May 4, 2017
Left a hanging bag by accident. Hostess called me quickly to let me know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Terrible! Not as advertised!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Advertise honestly.
Location: It is an old residential area with no shopping. One would need a rental car as bus service is limited. Parking is very limited.
Very bad, unclean cold bedroom on third floor (no elevator). Door did not close, with a cat walking on bed, pillows, everywhere. In January 2017 we had a family funeral near the Philadelphia International Airport. We booked 2 nights with Burbridge B&B only because it advertised fraudulently that it was 1.18 miles from the airport. Marnie was aware of this. This B&B is in Germantown, 20 miles of city driving from the airport. You compete for parking on the street. This is a very old house so you have to drag your suitcases up steep steps to get to the porch. I am almost 80 but Marnie gave us a third floor bedroom meaning more steep steps for our baggage. We did not stay. I said we could not stay because of health conditions and offered to pay for the first night. Marnie refused to allow us to cancel the second night and charged us for both nights. Expedia later corrected the charge for the second night at their expense.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsanitary and unsafe

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for the Philadelphia Marathon. He pictures made it look like a cozy little B&B. Unfortunately it wasn't what we expected. You're basically renting a room in someone's house. A nice older lady runs the place. She will give you a lengthy run down of every aspect of the property when you check in down to a 10 minute seminar on local restaurants. Breakfast is only served at one time so if that doesn't work for you plan to eat out. The bedroom wasn't particularly clean. There was a layer of dust in most of the surfaces and there are 4 cats that roam the house. According to the proprietor the cants don't enter the rooms but the quilt in our room had an obvious layer of cat hair on it. The proprietor gave us strict instructions on the proper way to turn down the bed which I thought was a bit too much. There was also (human) hair on the pillow. Then there is the safety concerns. There was an outlet without a faceplate within arms reach of the shower (near where you would naturally place your towel) and within 18 inches of the sink. Basically this means you have exposed electrical wires near a water source. The stairs to the third floor appear to be pulling away from he wall. It was a little unnerving to see this when you're headed to your room. There was also no way to lock the door to our room. We heard the people in the room next to us get up several times throughout the night to use the shared bathroom. There was no basic way to secure the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great Bed and Breakfast!

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Orbitz
The bed and breakfast was great and it was a great price! I enjoyed my stay. For those who are not familiar with a bed and breakfast, you should do your research on what a bed and breakfast is (you're staying in someone's private home, using their stuff, etc). But it was great, and I actually preferred this bed and breakfast over a hotel. The cats were very cute too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Decent enough, close to the event, but Marney made a couple comments that were rather off putting...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

philly B&B

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Proprietor was very accommodating of our last minute schedule modifications. Cats were extremely nice but wish I knew in advance so I could have taken allergy meds in advance. If you want a room which locks do ask. Breakfast was splendid and morning conversation among guests was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Comfortable and reasonable B&B

Posted Sep 28, 2016
I stayed at Burbridge St. B&B for three nights. The owner is a very friendly and open-minded person. I had a chance to interact with other guests at breakfast, and I could enjoy conversation with them a lot. I highly recommend Burbridge St. B&B!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Aug 26, 2016
I had an overall very pleasant stay at the B&B. I liked the housekeeper's attitude, even if her sense of antiques / heritage clearly exceeds mine. One has to understand that this is also her home, and she cares deeply for it. The common breakfast with her and the other guests was nice, better that what one can expect at a typical motel in the same price range. There are two cats, and the one on the upper floors will try to get your attention, but it will also understand when you want to be left alone. Like the neighborhood, the house is very old and the shower should get some maintenance. Other than that there was nothing I can complain about. Currently, trains only run every hour and every 1.5 hours on Sundays, so check the SEPTA webpage and do not rely on google schedules to plan your trips downtown.
4 out of 5
by Fred from Williston, Vermont

Gracious service/Friendly neighborhood

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Marney, the owner of Burbridge B&B, was truly delightful. She offered a homey experience and personal touch. Her B&B is in a 1905 restored house which she restored herself. If you like stepping back in time, this is THE place to stay. There is train service from the 30th Street Amtrak station to her neighborhood a few blocks away.