Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The stay was wonderful.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The breakfast was wonderful, an added perk not to have to leave the hotel. The one drawback was that the add said it included parking, which it did not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, though I am sorry for the confusion with parking. I will share your experience with the rest of the staff so we can work towards fixing this in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Philadelphia! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Affordable hotel, excellent location.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Location: Tons of shops, diners, bars.
Stayed here for a couple of days when in town for the Kings of Leon concert. Our room was no frills, but very clean. I was pleasantly surprised by breakfast - most hotels definition of "continental breakfast" is lukewarm coffee and a muffin, but the Holiday Inn Express offered a nice supply of juices, sausage, pancakes, bagels, and eggs/omelettes. Excellent water pressure from the shower (I stayed on the 16th floor). The staff was very kind and friendly - especially Robert, who was always eager to help us with any questions regarding navigating the city. Never had a problem getting extra towels, or anything. The parking is a separate charge - $27/night. I've read reviews of people complaining about this, but this is pretty standard (if not cheap) for downtown Philly. Also, you were allowed to come and go as you please. We didn't move our car at all during our stay - the best thing about the hotel is the location. Most everything you need is within walking distance (shops, Starbucks, Wawa, etc.), and what wasn't is a very inexpensive cab/Uber/Lyft/subway ride away. I would definitely stay here again. Couldn't be happier with our experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
Jimmy, Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our fantastic location and complimentary breakfast! I will be sure to pass your review along to the rest of the staff and let Robert know that you appreciated his hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
It is a nice place to stay in the midtown of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to pass your review along to the rest of the staff! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Except location, little else to recommend

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Not much apart from the relatively central location
Cons: The breakfast was absolutely horrible
Disappointed. Would not return. Booked room for five and got room with two beds - had to pay extra for roll in bed... Breakfast was probably worst I have ever experienced. Apart from being way too small for such a sized hotel, offering was very unappealing - cardboard would have more taste than bagels and even kids didn't want to finish donuts...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
AME, Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of updating our breakfast menu to include a wider variety and healthier breakfast options in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 25, 2016
It's really pleasant staying in this hotel. The location of this hotel is absolutely excellent. Walking distance to go shopping on walnut street and chestnut street. And also very close to the historical district and famous places. The room is very clean also. Love it! Would recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
Youming, Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location during your stay with us! I will be sure to pass your review along to the rest of our team! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Walkable to convention center. Staff is awesome but the hotel overall is average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
Melissa, Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am glad to hear that you appreciated our staff! I will pass this along to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sask canada

Great place to stay And easy to walk everywhere

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Hop on hop off tours Walk to liberty bell all restaurants and bars The eastern penn was a great tour
If you go to games u need to taxi or drive from this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
ck, Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am glad to hear that you had a positive experience at our hotel! I will be sure to pass your review along to our staff! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Amazing hotel ! Close to everything A+++

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: This was SO local to everything. Had some amazing restaurants and bars close. Friendly area and super easy to walk everywhere.
This hotel was amazing. The staff were friendly, helpful and very insightful about the area. Breakfast was included & they had SO much available and constantly filled up everything. The location was perfect and everything was walkable! Close to Reading Terminal Market, Chinatown and even walkable to the Liberty Bell, Old City & more! I cannot recommend this hotel more. I would definitely stay here again. The only down fall was that there was no fridge. However, there were vending machines & ice buckets available to keep items chilled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
Lydia, Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am glad to hear that you had a positive experience at our hotel, and were able to take advantage of our free breakfast and fantastic location! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Good luck with the assigned room.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Walked to City Hall, Reading Market, Thomas Jefferson University. Mint, Liberty Bell, Independence Hall are also walkable.
Travelled with my parents, and booked a standard two-bed room for four nights. It was a relatively pleasant experience excpet the first night. When we arrived, the first room was full of noise of elevator machine. Both of my parents were sensitive to noise. We complained, and got another room which was even worse: first, the main air fan for the whole building was right outside of that room; second, there was a locked door that cannot open from our room, which was quite creepy; third, the ceilling close to the locked door looked like being waterlogged. But the staff was conscientious, finally we got the key to the third room. It was clean, quiet and with a good view of the city. My parent and I had a good time in the rest of the trip. Plus, the breakfast was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by C. Lewis, Hotel Management
B, Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Midtown! I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your room, but am glad that we were able to come up with a resolution. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and our fantastic location in the city! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, C. Lewis Administrative Assistant/HR Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Nice location in the city

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: staffing increased
Arrived and checked in quickly. The room smelled like smoke and I was moved immediately. Dropped off my bags, changed and hit the street to shop and dine. Once I returned and went to take a shower (9:30 p.m.) learned that I didn't have bath towels. Called front desk immediately and did not receive them until 10:45 p.m. Gave up on my shower. Next morning realized they sent up bath mats and had to call more than once to get them to deliver regular bath towels. Toilet in the room was broken and leaking. Breakfast was plentiful but eggs and sausage were not very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by midtown@himidtown.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We apologize for the smoke smell in your room as it is our goal to be a 100% non-smoking hotel. We have addressed the long response in receiving your towels with the Housekeeping Manager. We have also reviewed each and every concern you had and we are working with each department to prevent these issues from happening in the future. We will take this as an opportunity to enhance our training. We are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We hope to have the pleasure of having you staying with us again! Kind Regards, The Management