Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: No off-street parking -- but that is not something that can be changed.
Location: Within a 10-minute walk of almost everything in the Independence National Historic Park area.
If you are visiting Philadelphia to see its many historic sights, the Morris House is ideally situated. It is in a very safe neighborhood, and not over-priced. However, it is small and in great demand, so it's important to book your room as far in advance as possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like Staying in a Grand Old House

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Beautifully renovated historic building. Such a refreshing change from the "cookie cutter" chain hotels, the Morris House Hotel is filled with charm and character. The room was comfortable and the breakfast served on tables with white table cloths and napkins. Lovely downstairs sitting room for guest's use. I would stay there again and definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from San Francisco

Historic charm in a central location

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice stay at Morris House and loved the historical details of the property. We were on a stop-over and the hotel was very accomodating to a late check-in and holding our baggage. It's central location enabled us to sight see in the morning before our flight left in the evening. The breakfast buffet fueled us up for our day of walking as well!
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Franklin Lakes

Perfect spot

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel nestled in a charming area of Phili. Perfect for a quiet and relaxed overnigh and just a stone's throw from Washingston Square Park, M Restaurant (great little bar) and Talula's Garden which was a 2 minute walk away. I will definitely be staying here again whether it be business or pleasure.
5 out of 5
by HYOJOONG from 대한민국 서울

대체적으로 괜찮은 호텔

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
아침이 제공되고 유럽풍의 분위기를 느낄수 있는 호텔입니다. 아침은 빵과 쨈 우유 사과와 오렌지가 제공되고, 따뜻하나 무료로 제공되는 WIFI는 느립니다. 나머진 문제가 없고 여행지에서 약간 먼점만 제외하고는 좋습니다.
4 out of 5
by Beth from Pennsylvania

Real antiquity

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted to stay in a place where we would get a unique, yet cozy and relaxing experience. We also wanted to stay in a small hotel with real history, not new construction made to look old. The house was built in 1787 and still retained much of the interior architecture and fireplaces. This place was just the right fit and had a great restaurant downstairs. The only complaint I had was that our room was right above one of the dining rooms. A party was pretty loud until about 10. The continental breakfast was just ok, but the coffee was great. If you appreciate history and realize that a house's quirks --like a bathroom door that may not stay closed--are part of the charm, stay at the Morris House Hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It should be better than it is.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
In a great location, this hotel boasts a historic, charming building. It starts well enough with the creaky floors and pleasing fire side waiting room, and I liked the courtyard and dining room. But the laissez faire, shoulder shrugging staff started what came a downhill slide. We got to our room to find cheap wardrobes,tired bathroom fittings and food left in our fridge. There were two miserable little packs of coffee, no tea at all and no milk. For the money we paid, we should have stayed somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by Phyllis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Judy from Stephenville

A Wonderful Historical Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
The Morris house was a delight.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historical gem

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect stay for us. We wanted to focus on historical sightseeing and the Morris House being a landmarked building was great. We stayed in the carriage house and it was very nicely renovated and comfortable. Nice extras...tea/coffee available at all times, cookies included in afternoon, and free glass of wine at 4:00. Bath salts included with whirlpool bath. Staff very friendly and helpful.