Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: No off-street parking -- but that is not something that can be changed.
Location: Within a 10-minute walk of almost everything in the Independence National Historic Park area.
If you are visiting Philadelphia to see its many historic sights, the Morris House is ideally situated. It is in a very safe neighborhood, and not over-priced. However, it is small and in great demand, so it's important to book your room as far in advance as possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It should be better than it is.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
In a great location, this hotel boasts a historic, charming building. It starts well enough with the creaky floors and pleasing fire side waiting room, and I liked the courtyard and dining room. But the laissez faire, shoulder shrugging staff started what came a downhill slide. We got to our room to find cheap wardrobes,tired bathroom fittings and food left in our fridge. There were two miserable little packs of coffee, no tea at all and no milk. For the money we paid, we should have stayed somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Great hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Very nice. clean, and super friendly staff. Loved it. Close to attractions. Highly recommend this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming with great location

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Great hotel, good basic breakfast and fantastic location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Hidden Gem!

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Luxury accommodations at value. Staff was wonderful, we had a very comfortable stay. Highe recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very cool place.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Historical, but comfortable.
Cons: Longer happy hour.
Location: Very close to all historical sites. You can walk everywhere.
Please read about Robert Morris before staying here. This is very historical and elegant place to stay. Very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Very good in nice neighborhood. Wanted a drink and sit outside in the courtyard when we returned from dinner however the bar closed at 10:00pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Lovely old hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: i enjoyed staying somewhere so old and historic.
Cons: Maybe the staff could be a bit more accommodating and friendly.
Location: Just off Washington Square and close to Liberty Bell and historic areas.
The hotel is quite lovely, and the courtyard and dining area more so. I enjoyed most of my stay, except the staff could be kind of snooty and unhelpful. An example: One of the two light bulbs in my bathroom was burned out, and when I asked if the front desk clerk would change it, her reply was to ask if I wanted it fixed "now", as if i was asking for something quite extraordinary and difficult. She did, however, try to change it right away, and then sent someone out to buy one, as they didn't have that size in the supply box. Also, she trotted up 6 flights of stairs carrying my 43 lb suitcase to my room on the 3rd floor with no hesitation or complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Farmington Hills, MI

Beautiful historical hotel is a great location.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: historical, clean, friendly staff
Cons: Be prepared for stairs
Location: great location.
Beautiful hotel with a lot of charm. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Was very nice to arrive to a complimentary glass of wine in the back garden. Excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Beautiful room

Posted Sep 19, 2014
We stayed at the Morris House Hotel for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon in the USA. Our room (301) was beautiful and very nicely decorated. As a period house there were a few creaks and struggles with old (original) doors but this added to the charm of the place. The bed was amazing and very comfortable! The room had a large number of TV channels available and free (occasionally patchy) wifi. There were no hot drinks facilities in the room but were available in the lounge downstairs all day along with warm freshly baked cookies at 3pm each afternoon! We would sightsee in the morning and be back for these every day!! The continental breakfast was great too with a choice of cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and freshly baked banana loaf and carrot cake! Yum! We didn't get chance to eat in the restaurant during our stay despite the wonderful sounding menu. We would do tho if we ever make it back to Philly!