Ratings based on 1,327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful historic building. Close to everything

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Hotel staff is courteous and attentive. Rooms are very clean and beautiful, though the beds are VERY uncomfortable...at least in this particular room. However, priced great, great location in great neighborhood!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to historical areas

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Location: Independence Hall is within an easy walk.
Enjoyed the stay. The hotel restaurant has great Italian fare.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Lovely hotel in Old City

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This hotel is lovely. Our room was quiet which was great as the hotel is beside a motorway but there was no traffic noise. The staff are so friendly. We had a couple of bikes they happily stored for us. Parking is in a lot next door for $26. Great area - right in the old city so easy to wander and plenty of bars & restaurants. The free breakfast was very average - boxed cereal, and boiled eggs with toast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, Va.

Wonderful little hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff.
Cons: While the bathroom is modern and very clean, the shower is a bit tight
Location: Can walk to all things Philadelphia is know for.
We just stayed at the Penn's View hotel in early September. This was our first trip to Philly and did not know the area. We are very pleased that we chose this hotel. Location is fantastic, you can walk to all of Philly's fantastic historical sights as well as street food, and restaurants. The room is lovely, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is updated and modern. Free wif-fi and parking is available right next to the hotel. Make sure you tell them at the parking lot that you are staying at the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Philadelphia. We stayed in room 403 but you might want to ask for an interior room. While this is a charming room with a small balcony it does overlook the highway and noise can be a problem in the evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location - friendly staff

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: walking distance to a lot of the city
Location: Penns Landing in walking distance as well as Old City and Center City
Easy check in and good location for the price- comfortable room and staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Baseball and History Tour

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Great location. Historic landmark. Spacious, clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Close to Metro. All good!
Cons: N/A
Location: Do the Constitution walking tour and go to Phillies game.
Wonderful! With only one day - location was ideal to see Old City and go to baseball game.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Wonderful location, friendly staff, nice room. Would totally recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hazleton, Pa

Great Location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The location was real good & the room was nice.
Cons: Needs a mini refrigerator & microwave in the room. The vending machine needs to be updated with more snacks & drink options. Cold drinks would be nice
Location: Great location with many restaurants, pubs & shops around.
Real nice place & staff was very accommodating. The area had great restaurants & everyone was real nice. Took the ferry over to Camden NJ to see Black Sabbath in concert. No problems & no issues getting back & forth.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

In the heart of Old City

Posted Aug 20, 2016
I love this boutique hotel in Old City. It has charm and character, a great restaurant and is close to public transportation and many historic sites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bridgeport, WA

Great location for Old Philadelphia

Posted Aug 18, 2016
I went to Philadelphia for a class at La Salle University and arrived five days early to sight see. I chose the Penn's View Hotel because of its location and history as the oldest continually run hotel in Philadelphia. I was not disappointed. It is very centrally located to most of the sights of Old Philadelphia, so they were an easy walk from the hotel. The bus stop and subway were only one block from the hotel, so that was convenient, too. I can't say enough about the service at the hotel. All of the people there were friendly and accommodating, especially Brittany who works at the reception desk. She always called me by name, looked up directions for me, and did other special services, such as opening a stubborn pill bottle for me. The rooms were charming, comfortable and very clean. When I return to Philadelphia in the future, I will definitely stay and the Penn's View Hotel, and I encourage others to experience this piece of American history