Ratings based on 1,361 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We enjoyed our little getaway - would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Small hotel with lots of charm. Get the room with the fireplace. Great breakfast which is included
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, CT

Great Comfort and a Luscious Restaurant

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Situated in Old City, Philadelphia. Most all of the historic venues are within walking distance (have comfortable shoes); great restaurants nearby.
This is not just a great boutique hotel to stay in, but also has a most terrific Italian Restaurant. Their wine selection is one for the books - really it IS in the books - The Guinness Book of World Records for the most wines on tap - over 400! And not the cheap stuff, either. The hotel offers a really nice continental breakfast during the week, with a couple of extras thrown in on the weekend, all included in the price of your room. The staff could not be better - they make you feel a part of the family - even if it is your first stay. My husband and/or myself stay there whenever we are in Philadelphia - weather on business or for pleasure. It is our home away from...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Pete FL

Great stay- lackluster breakfast

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Just like the title says; great stay lackluster breakfast. We stayed for one night in a king bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. Our room was clean. The bathroom had a jacuzzi style tub. However, the tub walls were a bit too high for my legs to easily get in & out of the shower. The temperature of the room was great. Only downsides... it's close to I-95 and you can hear the traffic. Also, the contenential breakfast was nothing hot but the coffee. They had boxed cereal along with bagels & pastries. I would go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel in Okd City!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I have stayed at the Penn's View many times and never want to stay anywhere else when I visit Philly. Great location, convenient to 2nd & Market subway station, lots of restaurants, bars, coffee shops and places of historic interest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC area

Old hotel by Rte 95

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Renovate.
Location: The location is in the gaslight area. There are lots of restaurants and bars that cater to a young crowd.
We got a "standard room". It was small, with one window, which overlooked the air shaft. The in-wall HVAC unit had a very loud fan. The mattress was soft. We had trouble sleeping, even with the fan turned off. The bathroom was also small, and the door did not close properly. The TV set was dumb, and had a screen smaller than my computer monitor, at home. The included breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely old but cared for hotel.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Very nice experience. Was traveling for business. Convenient location. A great alternative to the standard business travel hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The nice quiet getaway

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking for a quiet place views of the water and access to Center City. Rooms for comfortable. The working gas fireplace was a big plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old town

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had accommodating concierge service and River view's, The bus line was right there, great restaurants within a one minute walk, would stay here again. The only downside was the constant river of noise coming from the freeway, more soundproofing better windows in this place would be A++