Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Small hotel with lots of charm. Get the room with the fireplace. Great breakfast which is included
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, CT

Great Comfort and a Luscious Restaurant

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Situated in Old City, Philadelphia. Most all of the historic venues are within walking distance (have comfortable shoes); great restaurants nearby.
This is not just a great boutique hotel to stay in, but also has a most terrific Italian Restaurant. Their wine selection is one for the books - really it IS in the books - The Guinness Book of World Records for the most wines on tap - over 400! And not the cheap stuff, either. The hotel offers a really nice continental breakfast during the week, with a couple of extras thrown in on the weekend, all included in the price of your room. The staff could not be better - they make you feel a part of the family - even if it is your first stay. My husband and/or myself stay there whenever we are in Philadelphia - weather on business or for pleasure. It is our home away from...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Pete FL

Great stay- lackluster breakfast

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Just like the title says; great stay lackluster breakfast. We stayed for one night in a king bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. Our room was clean. The bathroom had a jacuzzi style tub. However, the tub walls were a bit too high for my legs to easily get in & out of the shower. The temperature of the room was great. Only downsides... it's close to I-95 and you can hear the traffic. Also, the contenential breakfast was nothing hot but the coffee. They had boxed cereal along with bagels & pastries. I would go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel in Okd City!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I have stayed at the Penn's View many times and never want to stay anywhere else when I visit Philly. Great location, convenient to 2nd & Market subway station, lots of restaurants, bars, coffee shops and places of historic interest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC area

Old hotel by Rte 95

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Renovate.
Location: The location is in the gaslight area. There are lots of restaurants and bars that cater to a young crowd.
We got a "standard room". It was small, with one window, which overlooked the air shaft. The in-wall HVAC unit had a very loud fan. The mattress was soft. We had trouble sleeping, even with the fan turned off. The bathroom was also small, and the door did not close properly. The TV set was dumb, and had a screen smaller than my computer monitor, at home. The included breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome little hotel in a great location.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Great location in a cool old area. Walked from our hotel to explore the city. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice historical stay

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Old town, historical sites, subway access near, bus near
Near to Old town and walking distance to most sites. Great breakfast served and included in price of stay! Clean room although my bathroom smelled mildewy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful historic building. Close to everything

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Hotel staff is courteous and attentive. Rooms are very clean and beautiful, though the beds are VERY uncomfortable...at least in this particular room. However, priced great, great location in great neighborhood!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to historical areas

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Location: Independence Hall is within an easy walk.
Enjoyed the stay. The hotel restaurant has great Italian fare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Lovely hotel in Old City

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This hotel is lovely. Our room was quiet which was great as the hotel is beside a motorway but there was no traffic noise. The staff are so friendly. We had a couple of bikes they happily stored for us. Parking is in a lot next door for $26. Great area - right in the old city so easy to wander and plenty of bars & restaurants. The free breakfast was very average - boxed cereal, and boiled eggs with toast.