Ratings based on 1,375 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seaford, ny

Overpriced- right off highway- noisey

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Breakfast terrible for cost of hotel- parking $28/night- ridiculous additional cost on overpriced room- hotel manual states veding machine and ice- room only had an ATM and ice machine- sad
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Don't ever book a standard room!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: It is clean
Cons: Cancel the room 306
First of all the location of the hotel was great. It is in the heart of everything. The room was clean too but that's about it. The hotel gave us a room which was very dark and noisy. The windows were looking at a shaft with AC condensers. The noise from those machines kept us fromm sleeping all night and when we called the front desk to complain and asked to change the room, they said that they are booked and there is nothing that they can do. When i read the reviews on expedia, i see that a lot of people have had good experiences apart from a couple of people which i believe have stayed in the same room. This means that this hotel is aware of the complaints but does nothing to fix it. I am sure they can continue without renting this particular room, at least that's what i would do instead of getting these horrible reviews. The tv was like a joke too. You need binoculars to see what's on it. Even my computer has bigger screen. Anyway the whole purpose of staying in a hotel is to have a good nights sleep and spend a comfortable night and we definitely didn't spend one and surely you won't be if you stay in this room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New ny

I thought it was going to be our choice Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The hotel is in a great location. I loved the quaintness of it instead of the hustle and bustle of the bigger hotels. The room was quaint, old with a little new but it had a constant draft which made it a Little uncomfortable. The bath was a jacuzzi that was tiled about 3 ft which made it a task to get in and out. We came in from a long day and decided to call room service, no one answered. My husband went to see what was going on and said the lady at the desk said to call room service again and still no answer he ended up leaving the premises to get what we wanted. The next day another long day, we came back to the hotel to get ready for diner. The cleaning Service came but they took our used towels and didn't replace them Also the necessities like the lotion which was half use, they took it and didn't replace it. I called front desk to have the lotion sent up to the room and she forgot. On top of that there was no hot water. That was our last night. I complained to the front desk on our way out to diner about the room service and what happen that evening with service. She said they were busy and she didn't have time to send anyone up. When we came back from diner I'm assuming it was the manager who greeted us concerning our issues he apologized and gave us a $28.00 drink voucher to the bar. I guess a drink always make you forget bad service and an unsatisfactory stay. So we will keep looking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The staff was very helpful, being from the area we did not need any imput as to where to go or what we wanted to do ,the muffins in the morning were awesome, the idea of being able to leave the car until 3 pm so we could stroll through center city was an added bonus . Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Secret gem

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: On-site parking, mass transit accessible in a few steps from the hotel. The neighborhood is full of small local businesses and history.
Cons: Insulate some of the noise that comes through the windows. It is traffic noise from the highway.
Location: History, history, and more history, plus art and plenty of shops, cafes, and did I say art? and parks...
I've returned to this hotel twice since my first stay. It keeps improving (lobby and restaurant remodeled/redecorated) and always clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We enjoyed our little getaway - would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Small hotel with lots of charm. Get the room with the fireplace. Great breakfast which is included
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, CT

Great Comfort and a Luscious Restaurant

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Situated in Old City, Philadelphia. Most all of the historic venues are within walking distance (have comfortable shoes); great restaurants nearby.
This is not just a great boutique hotel to stay in, but also has a most terrific Italian Restaurant. Their wine selection is one for the books - really it IS in the books - The Guinness Book of World Records for the most wines on tap - over 400! And not the cheap stuff, either. The hotel offers a really nice continental breakfast during the week, with a couple of extras thrown in on the weekend, all included in the price of your room. The staff could not be better - they make you feel a part of the family - even if it is your first stay. My husband and/or myself stay there whenever we are in Philadelphia - weather on business or for pleasure. It is our home away from...
5 out of 5
by Samuel

Will definitely go back

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Have been looking for a place to stay in Philadelphia. This might be it. Good price in January--during tourist season, probably not. Breakfast was simple but very nice. Pleasant dining room.
5 out of 5
by SHEILA

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome stay room is small but very clean and nice bed was very comfortable staff was great and they serve free.breakfast beautifully dining hall Lisa the server there was exceptional nice and professional greeted everyone with a smile