Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Horrible

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Arrived they told me I would be on the 3rd floor. After I paid my money they told me that the elevator Was broke and had been for a week. I had 4 knee replacement. 3 on my left knee my right I just had replaced in March last year. I was furious
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Seems like is not only a hotel looks like people also live there, really bad atmosphere. The rooms were so old they didn't seem clean and nice as the pictures portrays. The bathroom really and there have been a few shortcuts they have taken to repair it. No fire detectors, Definitely will not recommend. Stay in well know brands for about the same price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The elevator doesn't work and they have 10 floors
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend pleasure trip.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Stayed two nights. After first night room was not cleaned. Stayed on fifth floor and the elevator was broken. Pity anyone on a higher floor. Advised of a $10 parking fee when checking in. Not advised it was a $10 PER NIGHT fee. Rooms were really worn thin. Heater was extremely loud.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Work

Posted Jan 29, 2017
First room no heat elevators was very slow then broke down so we had to walk up and down 8 flights of steps rooms not clean tub with rust in it overall stay was horrible i will never stay at a red roof again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel with good location...

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The hotel is in a great location. It's close to the airport and main highways . They have a restaurant and free parking on site and a 24-hour diner across the street. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was okay . Overall it could use some upgrading... very noisy air conditioner.... but overall good for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Never again

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Got there the elevators weren't working and the stairs entrance was locked. We had to go to find another set on our own because there was only one person working who was not interested in helping us. Then go up six flights of stairs to our room. Was close to the stadiums-only benefit other than being cheap. When we got back elevators still weren't working and had to take horror movie like stairs again to find that the toilet over flowed. Called down to front desk, best they could do was switch rooms for us to the 4th floor but we had to walk down the flights of stairs to get a key from them and then switch rooms. Never again will I stay here or recommend this. you also have to pay to park in their lot-mind you there's a decent amount of spots making this pointless
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Bar hours increase to 2:00 am
Location: There is a shopping mall nearby about 15 minutes or less.
The Penrose hotel located near the airport in Philadelphia is a gorgeous place to stay with your family. We had a nice stay during our January 7th visit. We are encouraged to book for our April 15th coming visit. The staff are excellent and the breakfast every morning were phenomenon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Sad situation

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Personnel are not helpful, seem unhappy with their jobs. Continental breakfast was late, offered very few choices and was poorly done: watery powdered eggs, cold frozen pastries. Towels were VERY rough and not standard size, lamp worked when wire was positioned a certain way, blow dryer did not work, room not cleaned daily, poor lighting overall. We spoke with managers on more than one occasion and finally got the lamp fixed, because the wiring was a fire hazard. The rest of the problems remained the same. Overall, we were not happy with the stay but because there were so few vacancies elsewhere, we had to stay the entire time. There were other unhappy guests as well. Unfortunately, I did not take photos but will definitely do so in the future. Positive notes: There is a good restaurant right across the street. Also, this hotel is about 1.5 miles away from the Phillies Eagles football stadium. It is a doable walk away and I wasn't in tiptop shape. The bar in the hotel had a really friendly outgoing bartender.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It'seems ok

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Ok place for the price you can bare it. Wouldn't stay for more than a night