Ratings based on 3,799 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

not-so-relaxing mini-moon

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: location was good
Cons: staff friendliness. size of rooms.
we had previously stayed at the rittenhouse and ADORED it. the rooms and service were impeccable. however, we wanted to try a "newer/younger" hotel for the long weekend following our wedding. front desk staff were somewhat cold/robotic. bell hops were very helpful in moving us to another room (the first one smelled like cigarette smoke). we'd booked an in-room massage for two to help relax after our wedding. the rooms are WAY too small to add two massage tables. i really wished our concierge had said something when we booked the massages. based on other hotels of this class/reputation, we had thought our rooms would be more spacious. there was just enough room to walk around the beds and furniture. our masseuses moved around a bunch of furniture but it was not relaxing waiting for it to all be moved back before they left. bathtub was just a regular tub (not spa or oversized). front desk couldn't explain why they wouldn't honor our chase reserve card benefits (free breakfast) and what we needed to do to receive them. this is not the hotel's fault but the couple in the room next to ours woke us up at 8am screaming and cursing. not relaxing at all. if we were staying here just to visit the city, the room would've been fine. definitely not a fan for a little R&R after our wedding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York city

mediocre hotel, temper your expectations

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location: Centrally located.
an OK basic hotel, definitely not worth 4 1/2 stars. OK if you don't expect high quality amenities and service. Nothing luxurious or exceptional about it. Some examples: at the entrance to the hotel, there is no path or area dedicated to pedestrians. You just have to zigzag between cars coming and going and try not to get hit by one. Quite bizarre. Appliances and lighting in the rooms (we stayed at deluxe king size bed) are old and not functional. Shower head is very high, is not detachable, and does not adjust stream properly. There is only one switch for the bathroom lights and there are no dimmers at all in the room or bathroom. Breakfast was especially disappointing: both selection and quality was something to be expected at 2-3 star hotels. Stale and rubbery bake potatoes and french toast, the cheapest possible fruit salad, wonder bread, lettuce that were probably staying in service plates for days... A complimentary station with coffee, lemonade, fruit behind the concierge on the main lobby was stocked only in the morning, with nothing left in the afternoons or evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Amazing stay!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Hot water
Location: 1) Liberty Observatory deck on Market Street 2) Comcast Center (3 blocks down) and Walnut St shopping 3) Rittenhouse Square ( great views and food)
Close to major shopping outlets and restaurants. Great staff and surprisingly low prices for the food (in room dining) with great taste. I'll definitely recommend my friends and family to stay here. The location is safe and staff's friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff was incredible, top notch hotel. Great location with plenty to do in the area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beds were horrible. Almost u shaped it was so caved in. When you ran bath tub black particles flew out of spout. Gross. Rooms were extremely dated and very worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Center City Stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Nearly everything about our stay was top tier. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with all questions and aspect of our stay. The room was very spacious and well kept and maintained. The only complaint that we had was the mattress was rather uncomfortable and offered no support what so ever. We both woke up sore and stiff! We were a little surprised by this. Aside from that, our experience was top notch!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, poor condition!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location is nice
Cons: This hotel is in desperate need of room refurbishments.
Location: Shopping and restaurants
This hotel is in poor condition. Shower did not drain, wallpaper was peeling off the walls, mold around the shower doors and very little hot water for showers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great location!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Near everything, the hotel and staff were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Good hotel. It is near train lines for easy transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Angela, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for your comments and for choosing us! We are indeed in a great location and very accessible from the train or the highway. We look forward to see you again! Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Sofitel Hotel is fantastic

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly and kind staff.
Location: The location was in a great spot and perfect walking distance to museums and national monuments. Definitely recommend going end of June to July 4th
I rarely take the time to write reviews but I have to give thanks to the Sofitel hotel and staff. They hotel staff were helpful, friendly, and always smiling. My wife and I would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family. Staff: William the concierge was so helpful and took his time making sure we had an excellent stay and also helped us find a good deal to take the Amtrak to D.C. for a day. Eric at the front desk made us feel super welcome on our first day with his kindness and sense of humor. Mohamad was always a smiling and friendly face in the hotel lobby and would ask if my wife and I were enjoying the stay and the city. These few individuals helped make my my wife and I enjoy our stay at the Sofitel so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Angela, Hotel Management
Dear Zeshan, Thank you so much for your comments about our staff. We will definitely share with them and the overall team. We do strive for great customer service and I am glad our staff was able to make you enjoy your stay. Regards