Ratings based on 1,165 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Great service and central location. The staff was very helpful from checkin desk to the doorman.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Check in is always so pleasant, the front desk staff are exceptional. I was upgraded to a suite. I often choose to stay because of the warm comfortable atmosphere and great customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegance and comfort in the heart of Philadelphia

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The location; the beauty & comfort of the rooms; the exquisite courtesy of everyone on the staff. European elegance and warmth in the heart of Philly
The Philadelphia Sofitel is one of the best hotels I've visited. The staff are incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the food excellent and reasonably priced, and the entire experience one of warmth combined with elegance. I cannot imagine a better location (near Rittenhouse Square, and within a block or two of half a dozen excellent restaurants) or a kinder and more imaginative staff. They answered every question, anticipated all my needs, and went beyond my expectations at every instant. As a traveler with disabilities, I particularly appreciated their help -- I would recommend this hotel to any visitor to Philadelphia!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Cleanness & room service

Posted Jan 13, 2017
To whom it may concern, Our stay at the hotel was not a pleasant one, room service took over 2 hours and no one notified us prior to our order that it would take that long. House keeping cleaned the room one day and left the food cart in the room all day
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Angela - GM Sofitel Philadelphia , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your review. I was very disappointed to hear of your experience as that is not our standard. I have shared your comments with our team to ensure that they are addressed. We would very much like to welcome you back for the true perfect experience that we strive to provide to all our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Great choice. Great location. Great price.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The room was attractive and comfortable. Noise (street and hallway) was minimal. My bed was extremely comfortable. I appreciated the small gestures: free water bottles each day, cookies and a welcome note upon my arrival and the curtains closed for me and the television and lights on when I returned each evening. The breakfast buffet was decent in quality, although overpriced at $25 and service could've been better. The small gym was well-maintained with quality equipment. I felt completely safe walking at night in the neighborhood, and there's a 24 hour drugstore on the corner if you need it. Great shopping and food in the neighborhood. Overall I'm quite pleased.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pembroke Pines, Florida

Downtown hotel in bar street

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Employees were kind.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The same as every other.
It was advertised as a Two double bed room, but beds were twin size not even queen or king. You get more space and comfort from a road Hotel than this sophisticated french style hotel. The mattresses were too soft that my body bent, so I could not sleep well. They did not clean the rooms every day or collect the garbage. This is not a family place to stay. The hotel bar is part of a chain of bars where locals like to get drunk. Fights at night, drunks and beggars. Not a family place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, reasonable price

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Comfortable, great service, plenty of room, not too expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Convenient location. Excellent staff and amenities

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location and Amenities
Cons: n/a
Location: Good location for restaurants and pubs.
Fun place to stay in Philly! The package purchased through Expedia for the Junior Suite (Deal of the Day) with breakfast included was a great deal - recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice Location - Poor Execution

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Decided to stay here for a night when my first choice was booked solid. Room not ready until after 3:30. Even then had to switch room from original reservation to get in at reasonable time. Broken window in room. Called from desk "We are aware, thank you" Price list for minibar extremely outdated. Fire Alarm went off at 3:45am due to work being performed the conference rooms. Entire hotel evacuated - no staff present. Nice hotel but will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, room a bit dated

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Overall very good - great location with friendly staff. Room was a bit dated and the TV did not work well