Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Girija

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff and Lovely Views

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
I arrived a little early but was able to check in with a very cordial staff member, Melissa. The view from my room was lovely with a balcony that overlooked the original historic house and the fountain. Breakfast in the dining room was very relaxing (the music selection was fantastic) and the dining room staff was very friendly. You can tell that the hotel is a little dated but it is by no means unkempt or unclean.
1 out of 5
by sabine from Chevy Chase, MD

Gave one of our prepaid rooms away

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
It would be a somewhat decent hotel for a business trip but the front desk is unreliable. We called and booked 6 rooms thru Hotels.com and double checked that all was booked properly but when the reservation transferred to the hotel, their front desk made mistakes on 2 rooms. One was reserved for 1 night instead of 3 per the booking and another was resold, even though prepaid. After a hard day's work, at 10:30pm, Hotels.com had to find us another hotel and we had to drive 10 miles away. TERRIBLE! Other than that the hotel is old and although there has been some renovation, it is still very 70s. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable but the plumbing was badly redone. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and there was an effort to serve different things every day. We won't stay there again just because of the mess-up of the renovations. We need reliable rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Cons: I hear next room when in bathroom, shower, & even smallest of noise/motion.
Beautiful grounds. Breakfast buffet is great, especially dining room server (unfortunately I forgot her name) but I think she is Russian or Greek. Thanks for a comfortable stay!
4 out of 5
by scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mary Beth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Franck from Connecticut

nothing special

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
the location was convenient for us to visit the university, but too far for visiting Philadelphia. The pictures on the web site are misleading:This place looks and feel like a dorm, it's very old and outdated, and over all sad and not very welcoming. The room was dark and cramp, carpet was stained and the bathroom was looking pretty rustic.the place had a wedding that night, down the hall from the room, not the best set up for a quiet night.the bedding was good and we slept pretty well. Free parking and wifi, was a great perk, but we had to pay extra "taxe" for the so call free breakfast (I compare with other hotels around and taxes were more than double anywhere else).the place needs a make over, we will not stay there again or recommend it to anyone I know.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice, convenient and some nature also

Posted Oct 26, 2015
A nice switch from the typical suburban hotel in this area, the conference center was a modern building behind the old "mansion" (which is for meetings...no bedrooms). The grounds are pretty and nice with trees all around, each room has a balcony/patio...it was quiet and nice and felt like Fall. Front desk people were super and the included breakfast buffet was really great. Facilities were slightly dated, but bed and bathroom, big screen tv, etc. in the room were all great..nice exercise room.....I liked it and seemed like the right level of comfort for the price..We will return. Great spot for visiting kids at college--Villanova, Haverford....felt like old Main Line Philly
4 out of 5
by Susan

Lovely setting at the right price

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely location and excellent price for the mainline location. Nothing exceptional (except view from room), but did not expect anything exceptional at this price. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Molly

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Bathroom floor was full of hair. Otherwise room was clean.