Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, quiet . . . great staff . . .

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: As the title says, clean, quiet, great staff . . .and close to my place of employment . . .
Cons: Bigger beds for the singles . . . I know this is a German thing, but a single bed for a man my size is simply insufficient
Location: Lots to do all over . . .
I stayed here for several weeks . . . and I'd come back any time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Authentic German Experiance

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Needed somewhere to stay between Paris and Berlin and wanted it to be quiet and authentically German but still comfortable. This exceeded all expectations! Hosts were great. Food was amazing. Rooms were big and comfortable and the surroundings of the hotel were very beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Very nice very quite very friendly owner and his wife and help full.
5 out of 5
by Jacob from Vigonovo, Italy

Quiet German Country Getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Very quiet area, comfortable room, good food at the restaurant. A real old fashioned German country inn, the area was so quiet it was surreal. We were astounded how large the room was, as well as the fact that it had a kitchen. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Fantastic host

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The host was excellent.
Location: Fantastic cycle routes nearby.
The hotel is quiet, clean, and the host was absolutely fantastic. The aeroplanes can be noisy, but the overall stay was lovely. The food was good and the rooms were homely.
3 out of 5
by Klaus from USA

Not quite "outstanding"

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel has received a rating of "outstanding" by other guests but I found it to be average in comfort and it really wasn't up to the German high standards of cleaniness. They never vacuumed the room in 5 days we were there. The kitchen in the room had refrigerator and sink, some dishes,glasses and silverware but if you plan on cooking bring some pots and pans. The location is very rural which is good if you intend to spend time hiking and enjoying the beautiful scenery, but you will have to drive or take public transportation if you want to see any historic towns or sites. The are also no stores in Philippsheim. The only restaurant in town is the one at the hotel. The food there was very good though.
5 out of 5
by Debzi from GB

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
Loved this hotel. Stayed three nights. Furniture and fittings typically country German and homely. Older style bathroom with very good shower and room to put toiletries. We were a bit worried about length of bed with head and foot boards as husband 6'6' (194 cm) and rather tubby, but need not have been, he fitted easily in the very comfortable long bed. Largish room with plenty of robe space and dining table. Cooking facilities, fridge, coffee maker and toaster. Loved the balcony and location. Ate at the restaurant on our first night and the food was delicious, the owner's wife is the Chef and she knows how to cook. Superb food, extensive menu, realistic prices. Would have eaten there every night if could. Very friendly, helpful staff. Train station within view and easy walk. Good day trips by car through beautiful countryside. We will most certainly revisit.
5 out of 5
by Mango from England

great short break

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels
enjoyed our stay again, as we have stayed here before. We can recommend this hotel, and have done so to our friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suosittelen

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Käytiin läpikulkumatkalla,hyvä aamiainen,mukava Englantia hyvin puhuva isäntä.Oltiin sesongin ulkopuolella ja ei päässyt testamaan ravintolaa.Huoneessa minikeittiö.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf, NRW

Ein urig - rustikales Landhaus

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Die urige Einrichtung, das sehr gute Essen und die menschliche Ansprache.
Location: Das Hotel hat eine Amnbindung an die Regio-Bahn z. B. nach Trier. Der Freizeitpark Gondorf ist zu Fuss zu erreichen.
Wir wurden freundlich empfangen und während unseres ganzen Aufenthaltes hervorragend und über das normale Mass weit hinaus betreut und versorgt.