Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chulutoa, FL

Great hotel and amenities for the price!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
My husband and I loved this resort. We stayed there for our anniversary and even though we flew in the Saturday before Hurricane Irma devastated the island, the hotel and the islanders made sure we had an amazing time. The resort pools and beach are both so relaxing and feel private as there aren't resorts right next door. Tons of local shops, restaurants etc are in walking distance. Even though the resort was preparing for Irma, they still made sure the guests were entertained and had excellent dining options. We tried each of the restaurants and loved all three of them as well as LaLa's food truck for lunch. We were lucky enough to get an early return flight back to the US the day before Irma hit and we do look forward to visiting this resort once they have recovered and rebuilt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Get the ocean view!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
While the beach was really nice, the grounds well-kept, walking distance to town, and the staff was extremely friendly, if you stay here, make sure to get the ocean view. The rooms on the island side are okay, but there is the traffic and random roosters to constantly hear, which is a little annoying. Otherwise, this resort was simple and enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Probably wouldn't recommend to a friend.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Staff was very polite. I didn't get bed bugs. Scene was amazing.
Cons: Make some updates in the rooms and the restaurants.
Location: We had a great time at Carnivale down the street.
Hotel is very dated. Beds were not comfortable. Beach was cold, swimming pool was cold (May). Sand was more like pellets rather than real sand. All food is bland unless you go to the Lava Rock restaurant. The main buffet restaurant had roaches. Staff didn't save my reservation to the Lava Rock restaurant one night. Overpriced. Scene of beach is very beautiful. Similar to "Chilligan's Island"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Only a handful of employees there really care and do their job really well. The rest are not happy at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Great hotel right on the beach ..

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The beach is Amazing ! The staff is super friendly . Bar service extremely slow and there is no night life at this resort . The restaurants are good but they need to improve the Buffet at night because the food is the same everyday . The breakfast buffet is good and the pizza is pretty tasty too at Lala's for lunch . We loved how close this resort is next to town. We also visited the maho resort and this one is much better ! Would we stay here again YES!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york, NY

Simply Relaxing and Well Worth it.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
How do I Even start? The views? The island feel is abundant here. Arriving at the hotel you are greeted with open arms, staff was extremely welcoming, helpful and informative. The resorts views are breathtaking, the beach is literal steps away, several pools, jacuzzi, buffet, casino and restaurants. I'm not a party person so this resort was my exact speed, nice calm and quiet with nights with a band and people just interacting. If you're into the night life this may be too reserved but it was tranquility at its finest coming from a fast paced environment. I will most def return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by MM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'm coming back

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: the staff were amazing the facilities are amazing as well and the drinks they keep them coming. But back to the staff if you need they make it happen.
Cons: a snack bar in the room would be nice.
Location: the beach and boardwalk are right there. One of the best boardwalks I have ever seen. everyone is nice and pleasant and you will never see water this
Truly amazing staf, Truly amazing place. I'm definitely going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by MM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK, NY

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: 10 minute walk to Downtown Philipsburg.
Location: Shopping near by. Lots of restaurants.
Staff were very nice and informative. Entertainment was great, food was great, although Il Pescatore was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by MM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st-john's

Very old hotel. Room is dirty. Food is bad.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Staff is unprofessional! Food is very mediocre. One day I wanted a mojito, they had no mint, no lime and eventually found out they had no ice. We ate 2 breakfast there and the rest was outside the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by MM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review and the feedback on your stay with us in St. Maarten. We regret to hear of this and have sent this information to our Management Team. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Needs updating

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We stayed last year and loved it so much we came back . They cut back on staff and the food. The food was leftover from previous day and was just not as fresh .I always check beds by lifting mattresses up and while the mattresses were clean the box springs were stained and torn .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by MM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review and the feedback on your stay with us in St. Maarten.