Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Right in the heart of broadwalk

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great location. The hotel is very modern. Nice view of the boats port in the front of hotel. Nice area just to sit and relax. Transportation to the French side was $2 per person via dollar vans. The staff was wonderful Sharissa at the front desk was great. She gave us great restaurants to visit near by. Nevis and Octavia at the bar was perfect bartenders. All staff was friendly and professional. The beach area was nice and clean. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

nice... but.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I recently came back from my stay in Holland House in St Maarten and I have mixed reviews about this place. For one, if you rent a car and drive to the hotel from the airport, the street closures around the hotel make it a little harder to get there. Fortunately I saw a taxi move a barricade so I followed behind. I asked if it was only for the day and they said it's year round. Secondly, no parking lot, at least not next to the hotel. You need to get a gate key for a deposit of a 100$ and park the car about 2 blocks away and pay a ridiculous amount of 30something $$ per day. Third, no pool. I generally don't care much about pools because I like to lay out on the beach and enjoy the water but in this case, I was wishing for one. The moment I got comfortable on my chair on the beach, the locals wouldn't stop walking by harassing me every 5-10mins to buy merchandise and/or a massage. How does one relax?? I understand they want to make a dollar but I PAID lots of dollars to relax and hear the ocean etc. Lastly, the front desk when I checked in was... ehh. And I had to wait past 3pm for my room because it wasn't ready. The staff overall wasn't as attentive. Even when I ate at their restaurant, the waiter told me as he handed my check that they would prefer a tip in cash and the service charge on the bill goes to the hotel. No "thanks for dining with us, hope you enjoy the rest if your stay" or any of that. Just Give me my tip type of thing. But, nice hotel though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Amazing hotel right on the beach!

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Orbitz
We had an amazing oceanfront room right on the first floor with a huge balcony overlooking the dining room and sitting area. Definitely worth splurging on the oceanfront. Staff is excellent! Especially Jeffrey!!! You don't even need to leave the hotel, but if you do. Everything is just footsteps away! Plenty of luxurious shopping drinks and food! Philipsburg is quiet at night but only a 20 cab ride to nightlife in Simpson Bay! Stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Hampton, NY

Just perfect place to stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017
This is the third year we have enjoyed a week in St. Maarten at the Holland House Beach Hotel in Philipsburg. We completely have fallen in love with this hotel and the delightful people who work together to make us feel at home in this pretty small hotel. From the wonderful breakfasts, afternoon rum punches to the inventive gourmet dinners, this hotel does an excellent job. And the beautiful powderly white sand beach just outside the door makes for a great place to excape the harsh NY winters. We will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great service

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Enjoyed everything about the holland house. Great location, great service, great food, friendly staff and perfect location to the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BVI

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The location, the rooms, the staff.
Cons: The restaurant for dinner had good reviews so we ate there on our last night with some friends and we were very disappointed. Not good at all!
Location: The location on the board walk is great but hard to get to wiht luggage as the street is off limits to cars most of the time.
A very nice hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful at all times, our room was comfortable and a lovely large size and the view was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, MA

Beautiful hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: I liked the location, overall look and feel of the hotel, great restaurant and food.
Cons: Staff occasionally seems surly. We were taken aback when the person who checked us in did not even crack a smile. Not a good first impression.
Location: Right on the beach, and plenty of shopping around. Many good restaurants within walking distance.
Hotel is located right on the Great Bay. Chairs, beach towels and umbrellas provided to the guests. Hotel has restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food is excellent but not cheap. Nothing unusual, most restaurants in St. Martin are pretty pricey. Rooms are comfortable, king size beds are fantastic. We spent there 6 days and for the most part it was comfortable, fairly peaceful and not crowded. There was one day when there were 5 cruise ships in the port and it got somewhat crowded. Nothing we couldn't handle. Evenings are quiet in Phillipsburg, most of the shops and bars close promptly after cruise ship depart. We enjoyed the weather, the beach and the food. I'd like to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Modern beautiful hotel by beach

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Great location, comfortable room with beautiful view, friendly staff.
Location: This hotel is on the Dutch side of the island but everyone spoke English. The beach is right in front of the hotel, many shops and restaurants.
This is a hidden treasure. The room was very clean, modern, comfortable with a wonderful balcony facing the ocean. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner with very attentive staff and wonderful food. We really enjoyed the outdoor lounge during the day and evening as it faces the ocean, nice music and great service. The boardwalk in front of the hotel goes along the beach and leads to many shops and restaurants. The beach has really nice sand and calm waters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Excellent hotel, convenient to everything.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Great location right on the beach. Proximity to many restaurants and shops. Comfortable bed. Great restaurant and bar. Great service.
Cons: Room decor was a little plain.
We stayed at Holland House Feb/Mar 2017 along with two other couples and we were all very happy with our choice. We had a beachfront room that afforded a great view of Great Bay and incoming ships. Well worth the extra expense. The hotel is situated in the middle of the shopping district in Philipsburg. The back of the hotel comprises an open restaurant and lounge area allowing easy access to the boardwalk and a lovely beach. The hotel provides towels and beach chairs. The room was comfortable, quiet, and had a spacious bathroom. There was no noise from adjacent rooms. We had the included breakfast, and it was very good. We all liked the Eggs Benedict.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was central, on the beach, suited my needs.
Cons: I would hope for hotel robes. It is a great hotel and this would add just that extra bit.
Location: This area of St. Maartin pretty much shuts down at night. It is basically all open for the cruise ships that come in. The casinos are open though.
Staff was lovely. A few sour apples, but even then, nothing to spoil the lovely experience. The staff was very friendly and really helpful. The hotel restaurant was great. The reservation manager went out of her way to be helpful.