Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Decent place to stay

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Rooms and bathroom are dated, but everything works and is clean. Wifi worked great, and so did the air conditioner. Good location to stay if you want to be down town Philipsburg.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

If desperate

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: A place to put my weary head...albeit on top of the covers since I wouldn't trust getting IN the bed.
Cons: Too numerous to mention.
Location: Backstreet location next to a bar; hence the locked window I imagine! Seedy at night. It is just around the block from a casino.
I picked this for one night because I wanted something at the low $100 price point for one night. We flew in late, so I understood the registrar was not in the office, but didn't know how to find her. Room had closed jalosy windows, very few working electrical outlets, & bathroom shower did not look clean. Window AC barely cooled. When checking out, no staff available, so owner of shop downstairs said he was supposed to take our money. Who knows? Seemed shady all the way around. Be prepared to carry your luggage up two tall, narrow flights! If you have size 13 shoes, don't go here!
1 out of 5
by Colette

Not open for late check ins

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a reservation for here. Put in the notes for the reservation that we would need a late check in (11:30 or midnight). (Never heard anything back from hotel and hotel didn't have anything in their listing stating that we had to check in before a certain time). We arrived around 11:20. The place is above a market and the market was closed. Walked up to office for the guesthouse and it was also locked up and closed. Knocked several times and waited for 20 minutes. Still no answer. Called them. No answer. Called hotels.com and they also called them. No answer. Needless to say we had to find somewhere else to stay with hotels.coms help and it took over an hour to find somewhere. So, we didn't get to our room for the night until after 1 a.m. HORRIBLE!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice guesthouse

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Easy for shopping, good price.
Location: Great for shopping in Frontstreet and Backstreet, walking distance to Great Bay beach and boulevard.
Guesthouse located between a lot of shops in Philipsburg. Great Bay Beach is nearby. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The real adventure: Josuhua Rose Guest House

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Centre-town location.
Cons: Consistent hot water.
Location: Local restaurants, buzz of a city crowd, and immediate access to buses going to the French side of the island.
In the nineteen eighties, it was common to see the average tourist, genuinely interacting with islanders. Then came all-inclusives (and the fear and coercion inspired by ubiquitous news networks), and we all stampeded to sterile resorts. Today, if you want to plan your own vacation, wake up on your own time, manage your diet, catch a bus to Marigot, for the St. Bart's ferry, or to Maho for a beautiful walk on the beach, if you want to sample the best St. Maarten barbecue, Joshua Rose Guest House is the place for you. If you want to stay around people who look, think, and consume exactly what you do, if you want to be waited on hand and foot, only to return home without having seen the authentic St. Maarten, by public transit--then you're missing the Joshua Rose experience. I highly recommend this guest house. My children experienced the 'working man's vacation,' and the 'Back Street posse,' was extremely helpful, very friendly. As one resident insisted, "You're in St. Maarten! Never a problem." Nadia at the Joshua Rose front desk is very friendly. Please extend thanks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK but nothing high profile.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
A cheap hotel in the Back Street, no luxury but free internet.
4 out of 5
by wanda from Texas

central and safe

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were wonderful and try to make me comfortable. It is a very convenient place to get two shops and even more important to take local transportation to and from the airport and just about anywhere. Nadia was wonderful. She loves to hear about you as a guest and truly makes you feel comfortable. I recommend it to everyone who wants a very convenient and economical place to rest
1 out of 5
by Jay from Vermont

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
After getting a key from the store owner we were told to go to the top floor. We found our room. It was not cleaned. The sheets were dirty and paper thin. It looked as though the beds were made after the last guests stayed there. Nothing done in the bathroom - filthy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In Reality it's a 1-Star

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
While economical, this Guest House was not the 3-star as had been listed, more like a 1-star. Room was clean (with the exception of the walls which need painting/touchup) but plumbing was marginal (toilet barely flushed - and shower drain was not great either). I stayed on the 3rd floor and the white drapes left little privacy (semi-transparent). Location was convenient in that it was only a few blocks from the beach, however at night the area was sketchy and not the safest.
2 out of 5
by John from New Orleans

Disappointed

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
The owners are very nice but the place is promoted as a class of hotel that it isn't. It had aircon and wifi included and that was good, but the rooms weren't attended to day to day and the manager was inaccessible for much of the five days I was there. As others had reported the manager claimed the credit card machine wasn't working and wouldn't be fixed until after I left. That was stressful since I had not planned on it and the price should have been half what it was. I'd bet the price for Hotels.com users is artificially high to compete with the tourist hotels, but this was clearly a "local" hotel.