Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice spot, easy for a quick overnight stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Convenient for a late arrival
Basic accommodation for a quick stay, although booked as an ocean view room, it was at ground level with a wide tree out front, you could only see the ocean if you were standing at the door and not from sitting inside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close to the beach and shops,

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Staff are lovely, hotel needs to be updated, showers have mould and need a good scrub, every thing very old,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Perfect location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Fabulous location and views
Cons: Just needs to have money spent on it
Location: Perfect for a walk on the beach or the shopping centre and restaurants ,also perfect if you want to do any of the boat activities
Superb views ,very clean and comfortable. Definitely needs to be updated,but regardless we really enjoyed our stay . The breakfast was an added bonus . A really inexpensive getaway !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Below average for the price. Stay somewhere else

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Outdated and worn decor, looks like it would've been modern in the 1990s, although clean. Friendly front desk staff but no frills when it comes to service. More like a motel lodge than a hotel. No mini bar, a dusty noisy fan heater to keep the room warm, a tube TV with no DVD player. No lift to the third floor so have to carry belongings up 4 flights of stairs. Breakfast included was just cereals and toast. Redeeming features were the spa bath, the nice views and the clean linen but DEFINITELY a place to simply lay your head and NOT worth $160 for a night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine infrastructure but lacking niceties.

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Wotif
The facilities were lovely but things were poorly thought out. For instance there was a TV in the room but it was an immovable stand that was neither in front of the bed or couch. A few stocked condements in the room, a couple of news papers with breakfast etc. would make the difference between just a nice facility and a nice experience. Amazing view and great location though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view but hotel needs renovation

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Staff friendly and room clean
Cons: The hotel needs a complete renovation.
Location: Great location close to shops, restaurant & water front.
It was OK but the condition of the hotel is misrepresented on web site. Apparently ownership is in state of flux, the premises are well overdue for renovation, with rusty stair rails and steps, bathroom appeared to be patched up.
1 out of 5
by Elizabeth J

Desperately needing some TLC

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is sadly so desperate for a make over and some TLC
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Wotif
Don't pay any attention to the whingers who wrote the bad reviews. My family enjoyed a lovely stay at the continental. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only good thing was the view.

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Wotif
The hot water service was terrible, the light coming through the room made it so hard to sleep. I didn't feel safe as the chain in the door had been ripped off. It's budget accomodation I understand that however for $110 per night it could have been better. Will not stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Wotif
Was after a cheap and cheerful place to stay for the night and this fit the bill. It was old and tired and not the nicest place to stay but it was clean and met our needs for the night.