Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Dean

Overpriced

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very over priced for what it was
1 out of 5
by David

+5 and -1 star experiences

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
A quick scan of radically contrasting reviews for the FCC seem to indicate experiences at two entirely different hotels and indeed this is the case. Last year I had a +5 star stay in one of the truly lovely riverfront facing rooms and gave a well earned rave review, this week a -1 star stay in a room on the side street. The problem seems to be that both rooms are classified as "deluxe" with the corresponding surcharge and it is just a matter of luck which you will get. Both rooms were well designed, handsome, atmospheric although stressed with deeply cracked terrazzo and decayed wood surfaces. Previous room had intimate private terrace overlooking the river, recent room faced five full floors of open air restaurant/bars all with competing amplified entertainments, one extending past 4:00am. New room also accessed by a separate isolated staircase, unlighted by staff with the light switch located at the top and on two nights inhabited by a lonely sleeping body. While excellent breakfasts are delivered to rooms, the menu request in the side room was not picked up from the designated door hook. Riverfront rooms fabulous, side street rooms hellish, same price for both.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming old building, beautiful room with balcony

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
The FCC is a beautiful colonial building and it's worth staying in one of the very nice balcony rooms. Room is charming and very well decorated. Breakfast is good and breakfast room is very nice. Only the recorded piano music is a bit repetitive. The bathroom could be improved: the shower is uncomfortable as there should also be a hand shower. There was smoke smell in the bathroom too, which was not pleasant. There is construction next door, so also a bit of noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on river

Posted May 5, 2016
The hotel is right on the river, our room was large size with a balcony and a great view. The hotel has a fantastic restaurant and the staff were very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

What you see you do not get

Posted Feb 29, 2016
It looked good on the Expedia website, shiny wooden floors, big windows and a view of the river. We were taken to a room up a back staircase. The staircase was the entrance directly from the street, excessively dirty. Once inside the room, the dirt continued. Dirty bed covers, carpets, unfixed curtains. We walked out as it was unacceptable. They did offer us another room, but by then the experience was so negative, we left. I know that I have a small chance, if any, for a refund as between Expedia and past experience of how difficult they make it for members to get refunded, and being told the same by the hotel. Well, a bad experience indeed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: location and food
Cons: security and a more honest housekeeping staff.
Location: excellent
would not leaving anything of value in room, even in the safe box in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David from Ubud, Bali

Sizzling difficult city, cool pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
The FCC is a popular almost iconic destination for tourists to Phnom Penh perhaps aided by a plethora of guidebook recommendations even though it's faux historical gritty persona is certainly by more recent design. The cracked and patched terazzo walls, the uneven undulating hardwood floors, the claustrophobic hallways with dark wooden paneling, the lonely four legged reception desk sitting exposed at the top of the stairwell all overlay a sophisticated contemporary room design, although slightly ratty now with a genuine tropical patina. Hotel staff was pleasant but not especially welcoming or helpful which is understandable since there are only eight rooms which I imagine couldn't support more experienced personnel. Language was a slight problem. Overall my seven day stay was a delight with the facilities providing an essential retreat from the dry season extraordinary heat. The room was quite large and comfortable, a/c sufficient, oversized bathroom tub and lovely terrace with (not quite strong enough) ceiling fan directly overlooking the junction of the Tonle Sap and Mekong Rivers. Sisowat Quay, one of the most active roads in the city which runs along the river walkway lies just a couple of meters below which although unavoidably noisy provides an endless panoramic entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville KY

On the riverfront.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location, Free wifi. Free breakfast.
Location: On the riverwalk. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Walking distance to the National Museum.
I arrived early from the overnight bus from Siem Reap and my room was ready by 6am. You can request the free breakfast delivered to your room. Two free bottles of water in the room each day, which you will need.