Ratings based on 795 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

A door banging all night long

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Somewhere near our room a door slammed repeatedly all night. Very unpleasant. I reported it to the front desk, got an apology and a $15 drink coupon which we were unable to use. The grounds are lovely, lunch and breakfast were very good. The room was lovely. The bathroom was large, BUT there was no place to put our toiletries, the only outlet was next to the toilet (had to dry my hair standing over the toilet) and the place to put a bar of soap in the tub was under the spray from the shower. All of these problems are easily fixable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane

They tricked me

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: The architecture is wonderful, the grounds are landscaped very nicely
Cons: The spa facility is hard to find and slightly awkward in operation
Location: Its Phoenix
The hotel was undergoing renovations in the main restaurant and lobby during my stay. The reservation agent did not inform me of this when I booked it. It is a beautiful resort, however I was unable to enjoy the facilities and was disappointed to find it this way. I would like to visit this place when work is complete and expect an effort of some type of complimentary or subsidized consolation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful property showing its age

Posted Dec 6, 2015
This 100 year old Phoenix institution could use more TLC. The maintenance of the property is just OK. Our room was not made up until well past 4 PM on the first day--not what we expect from a 4.5 property, 'the staff was friendly, the spa experience was very good. The coffee in the room was awful. Directions to a Scottsdale restaurant from the concierge were totally incorrect. This was a disappointing stay on such a beautiful property. We would recommend this hotel but with reservations. It seemed to be very family friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Gorgeous Architecture

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Not really.
Location: Great resort. Sedona is a nice day trip.
If you are a fan of Frank Lloyd Wright, then this is the place to stay. It was done by one of his proteges and he was the consulting architect on the project. It's oozes FLW. We loved it and can hardly wait to go back and spend more time. It's a sprawling resort and the food was so surprisingly delicious at Frank and Albert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Emily from Boston, MA

Great Stay

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
I was here two nights for business, but my husband came along for the stay as well. The hotel was gorgeous and I agree with other reviews, the history is part of the attraction., I have definitely stayed at places that are more modern and good looking from the outside, but I stayed in the Valley Wing and the room was definitely updated recently and was modern. The staff was nice, although I do agree that I did not experience the "Biltmore" service that I was expecting. Unfortunately, the pool was being renovated while we were there, and the construction workers were a little annoying because they were gawking and making comments to each other. We hiked Camelback Mountain and didn't really get to see much else since our stay was so short, but we really enjoyed sitting out at the fire pits, have dinner in the restaurant and using the various heated pools and jacuzzis. I will advise anyone looking for a more "resort" like feel, do not be fooled by the "water-slide" listed as one of the hotel amenities. The thing looks like it hasn't been used in 20 years. If you're looking for that atmosphere, go with one of the other resorts in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kristi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Nice place. But for a first class hotel they nickel and dime you to death
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cristy from st. louis

Doesn't live up to its "fancy" hype

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights while on a business trip. Was "upgraded" to a nicer room when I arrived. It was anything but an upgrade. There were hairs in the bathtub and I had a lovely view of a service/maintenance road. I called the front desk the night before I left to request a wake up call at 4:30am...and I never got a call. Would not recommend this place and I will not be staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful place to stay for a weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Great property, Gym, restaurants all good, room a bit dated..