Ratings based on 888 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas

Great old hotel with lots of character

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Love the architecture and the rooms were beautiful and well maintained
Location: Lots of shopping and resturants close by.
Spent 6 nights at the hotel in june, 2017. Super hot that week with temperatures close to 110 every day. About the only thing you could enjoy outside was the pool. In the past we have loved this hotel for the patio with firepits that we would sit around every night with a drink. The weather was too hot this trip to even think about doing that. Even if we did brave the elements there seemed to be no service to the area. We did enjoy our room this trip. It was a beautiful room with sitting area and huge bathroom. It did have a patio which we enjoyed early in the morning before the heat made it impossible to sit on. The only disadvantage of the room was that it was located at the vary back of the property so you literally had a quarter mile hike to the lobby. The room was right outside of the small adult pool. I was also not impressed with the service this time around. We spent some time in the lobby bar and the service was very slow with the excuse that they were very busy. Everything while we were there was also extremely expensive. Every mixed drink was 15$ and beer was 7$. Got old after awhile paying those prices. I guess though when you stay at a fancy resort you do expect to pay those prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washingtondc

Beautiful resort

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It was a real pleasure to stay in such a special place. I think the excessive heat was getting to the staff too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Villas

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Overall a nice place but the Villas lack cookware. Had to request a number of times before an adequate supply - one dish was not cleaned. Renovations currently underway so the main lobby, a feature Frank Lloyd Wright attraction is off limits. Left early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
They ran out of rooms that was paid for so we were given a different room which was farther than the original room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BD, Los Angeles

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Bed sagged towards edge, cheap, thin toilet paper, plastic shower head. Charges $25/day resort fee and spa was off on 1st day. Not worth $500 room fee.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Spring Training

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place. Pool is awesome
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Losing Its Mojo

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The grounds are still gorgeous but management is trying to milk out more cash and the results are not good. Some at the front desk staff do not understand the cottages, and that produced a poor outcome for me. Parking is now a hassle (gates and fees). Gates to pools are locked and require a keycard.
4 out of 5
by Christina

Not what I expected

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
It was not quite what you expect from a 4 star hotel. I was disappointed in the fact that no matter where I called ("service manager", housekeeping, room service, maintenance, the spa, etc.) no one ever answered the phone; we always had to call the front desk. I completely gave up on booking spa treatments as I called three times with no answer. Our phones in both rooms kept disconnecting. Our ventilation system kept blowing cold air non-stop and it took 3 trips by maintenance to fix it. Also, for the prices we were paying for our stay ($600+ per night per room with 2 rooms + $29 per night per room "resort fee") you'd think they'd throw in use of the tennis court and rackets. I thought it was just plain tacky that they charged $38 for 3 rackets and an hour of court time (which they never even told us that there was a fee for the court). What was the resort fee for then??? We will be at the Phoenician next time. However, the gardens and grounds were beautiful, the room was comfortable (after HVAC repairs), and service in the restaurants and front desk was good.
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by michael

Awesome Property in awesome place!!!!

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for second time at this historic Waldorf Astoria property. Recommend the club level upgrade and cabana worth the price. Will be back next year.