Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: The outdoor landscape is well maintained and makes it seem like a 5 star resort. Rooms are very spacious. Appreciated new TV's and HD cable in room.
Cons: Rooms feel dated due to the retro brick walls. A little dry wall rehab could take them to the next level.
Location: The resort is very close to a number of restaurants and shopping areas with easy access to the main interstate and airport. Great location!
After having numerous flight delays throughout the day, I was very frustrated and tired upon my arrival. I appreciated the staff's helpfulness and understanding. They offered me a few comp drinks at the resort restaurant / bar ... nice touch! Good customer service means repeat business. Played golf the following day on the resort course and enjoyed my round. The layout is neither a high end nor a low end course but well worth the $30 for a late January experience. All-in-all, I'd stay here again the next time I'm in Phoenix!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was an okay hotel.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: It was clean and was nice great view.
Cons: TV to work once you check in and phones, also should tell people where the ice is at too and respect the people.
Location: It was an okay location but kind of creepy cause its a little dirty outside of the hotel.
It was an okay experience. When first driving in its a great view and checking in no problems. When I got to my room it was clean but the TV and phones didn't work so I had to go back to the desk and tell them the service man came by fast with in 10 to 15 minutes very nice but also told me that the phones wont be working until tomorrow which is okay I had my cell phone but I think is not a very good think to not have working. When I was walking away from the desk I could hear the front desk man say something rude under his breath to the other customers that were there waiting to be checked in. that's when I turned around and noticed them all were looking at me. But other than that it was a good hotel to stay at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HSV, Ar

Whole facility needs improvement

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Great location, good views from restaurant
Cons: See comments from review
Location: A huge flea market on Baseline Rd is approx. 8 miles away. Drove up to Saguarro Lake & you can take a 90 min cruise out on the lake. Both awesome
When we first arrived we were disappointed that there was a "resort fee" which upped the advertised room rate making it not such a great rate. Then the cable was out our entire 4 day stay & they had to rig our TV so we could at least get some basic channels. To comp us for the inconvenience they gave us free bkfst coupons saying it was an awesome bkfst. We had to ask for silverware all 4 days & the selections were marginal. The eggs were dry & cold. The waffles were cold & limp. Even though we went to bkfst at the beginning of the schedule the oatmeal was all gone & I had to ask for them to put more out. One of the days they took the small amount that was left in the bottom & watered it down & put it back out on the table. The rooms need work, the carpet was filthy as the bottoms of our socks were almost black from walking around without our shoes. The exterior of the front façade has cracked & loose plaster & not a very attractive entry for a golf resort. We would not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ

Great staff. Great value

Posted Feb 1, 2016
We stayed there on two occasions. Since we had to visit the nearby medical center for important procedures, the staff was most accommodating with late check outs. The hotel rooms were very large and immaculately clean. Great value also. The AZ golf resort was just 3 miles from the hospital and less than half the price of the popular name hotel closest to the hospital.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Enjoyed the golf

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Very nice older hotel. We stayed in a studio and the furnishings definitely need upgrading. Clean, beautiful pool area. We would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, Ga

Husband enjoyed playing golf!

Posted Jan 29, 2016
We would certainly stay here again. Room furnishings need up be updated, they were changing cable companies and two nights we had to have someone come to our room because tv wasn't working, then we only had about 12 channels. All in all we enjoyed staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to volleyball tournament

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Short stay. Very friendly and helpful gentleman at front desk. Hot tub outside our room did not work. Room nice, but not spectacular.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa clarita ca

Ended Up Ok.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Location is great and the staff is super friendly
Cons: Update the furniture and make sure hot water and water pressure is in all rooms.
The first room we checked into was horrid. No comforters on the bed, heater smelled really bad and the biggest problem was no water pressure or warm water. It was cold water, not even room temp! it was 2am when we checked in and we were so tired from driving 8 hours we decided to suck it up and stay in that room for the night. The next morning I called to the front desk, explained what was going on and the moved us to a suite. Hot water, comfy bed and the room didn't smell of a rest home. The staff was great a made up for the crappy first night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Close to where I needed to be. Size of room was incredible
Cons: kitchen supplies, etc. Room literature
Location: golfing and swimming on site. I was there to visit a new grandson so didn't care about anything else to do!
room was the size of an apartment...awesome. The kitchen was lacking in supplies...no paper towels, toaster, oven mitts and towels. Only piece of literature was how to log in to Wi-Fi. Nothing about hotel, amenities, etc. which seemed rather strange. Hotel staff was effiencient on getting requested blankets and towels to room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Mesa resort hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Liked the location, as it was close to everything WE needed.
Cons: Water pressure was kind of non-existent in bathroom sink. Top sheets were rustling like paper - too much starch or something?
This was our first time at AZ Golf Resort and we will definitely be returning. Everything went smoothly when we arrived (we asked for extra pillows and they were in our room by the time we got there:). I believe we had a junior suite and it was much bigger than expected. The room seems like it might be stuck in the 1970's, but for the most part it was clean and VERY comfortable. An unexpected plus - it was the DARKEST room in the morning we've ever had and that was fabulous (great dark out curtains, obviously). Didn't check out the restaurant 'cuz the reviews on Yelp were so bad and it was closed already when we checked in (8pm?). Overall, though, for the price, it's a good place to stay.