Ratings based on 2,801 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Great getaway

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Loved all the pools, gym, restaurants and how easy it was to drive right up to my room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great resort, a little dated but beautiful

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Ammenities
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Good shopping nearby in the Arizona Mills and nightlife in Tempe.
We went the middle of February, opening weekend for the waterpark. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and it was clean. A few negatives. The bathroom was TINY! You could tell it was an old room that had been updated because the size of the bathroom was so small. The door barely cleared the toilet. The room was quite dark, but otherwise was comfortable. We lucked out with rainy cold weather so we didnt get to enjoy the pools or waterpark, but it looked like a lot of fun and well maintained. We did take advantage of the 20,000 sq ft fitness center. It was fully equipped! I've never seen a hotel gym quite like this. We will likely return to the Grand but get a different room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome room & awesome staff (except restaurant)

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff, room, and cleanliness
Cons: Pillows & restaurant service
Location: water park on site, golf, spa
Right away I was happy because the woman at the front desk (Luz I believe) upgraded us at no cost! <3 The room was beautiful, everything was clean. Super awesome staff, helpful and friendly. The restaurant was like a weird separate thing though, hostess was great but we didn't even get acknowledged by the server...normally Im not a brat about this Ive worked tons of server jobs but there were like 4-6 other people in restaurant, I was soooo hungry and already left the western restaurant (forget name) because of 45 min wait, she just didn't have much reason to be so neglectful :( The pillows are what lowered the comfort score, they were like a sack of lumps my boyfriend and I woke up so sore! Everything else was beautiful however and I'd probably come back if can afford it! :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Very disappointed in the $50.00 per day resort fee

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Loved it's central location and the resort itself was beautiful.
Cons: Dropping the excessive resort fee.
Location: About a two minute drive to the Arizona Mills Mall. Very close to freeway access.
Extremely disappointed with the $50.00 a day resort fee. The water park was closed the whole time we were there, we don't golf and never once used the gym as we were busy site seeing the outer areas of Phoenix. Resort fees in Maui in Kaanapali are $15.00 a day that being said we'll be going back to one of the Hawaiian Islands. The Arizona Grand is a beautiful resort but the extra resort fee is excessive for amenities that were closed. Will definitely see Phoenix again but will be looking at different options in the resort department.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort close to shopping and dining

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Really enjoyed the resort staff very friendly and helpful. Resort well maintained. Resort is in an excellent location close to shopping and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Excellent hotel in Phoenix

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The price was very reasonable and the room and facilities were great.
Cons: We were disappointed the water park was closed and yet the resort fee was still required.
Location: This hotel was near several malls and many of the major attractions in the Phoenix area.
We loved staying at this hotel. It was a very relaxing atmosphere. Great service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BOS

Close to airport

Posted Jan 4, 2017
The resort should waiver the fees especially when the water park is closed. It's a reap off to pay for services not rendered. You could get a better deal elsewhere. The place is so boring and yet it's considered a family resort. The receptionist I met was very cold and she could not acknowledge my arrival as a guest. Will not recommend anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Beautiful hotel and amenities

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Rooms, amenities, staff
Cons: There should be a winter resort fee different than the summer one as the water park is closed in winter.
We had a wonderful time in the resort, not crowded at this time of the year. A lot of space and seating places to relax,nice walks on the beautiful golf court. We also enjoyed the warm pools and hot tubs. Just the resort fee is too expensive in winter considering that the water park is closed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Staff was nice and were super excited to upgrade is to one of there nicest suites. There was a big fireplace that did not work. Bed that would pop up and very weird showers. Makes me nervous what the standard rooms are like. Lobby bar and grill was crazy over priced for what you get. Definitely just a place to lay your head. Not the place you want if you are hoping for a scenic experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The property was beautiful. The resort is large. There really is no bell or valet service though.