Ratings based on 1,316 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Relaxing and worth every penny!

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: The staff were amazing!
Cons: The hostess @ the spotted donkey was quite rude to my husband and I.
Location: My husband and I went horseback riding and ate breakfast every morning at the Grotto Cafe, excellent food!
Everyone that we know in Scottsdale said it was a little on the expensive side but I didn't care. It was an amazing way to shut out the hustle and bustle of the city. I flew into Scottsdale from Cincinnati and stayed at the Boulders for three days and I can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

Quiet resort

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Resort is ok, but could be great. Nothing for kids at the resort:(.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by BouldersManager , Hotel Management
We have many activities for kids such as swimming, biking, hiking and other outdoor adventures. We appreciate the feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Excellent experience in every way.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Cons: Nothing at all.
Wow! Everything about our weekend was perfect at the Boulders. It started with very friendly staff for our late night check-in. We were unexpectedly upgraded to the Chairman's Suite (thanks!!!) - which was really a nice surprise. I can tell from the overall quality that we would have been thrilled with even just the room we anticipated. The casitas are grouped in small "neighborhoods" surrounded by gorgeous desert landscaping. There's tons of wildlife: large amounts of quail and jackrabbits - we heard coyotes at night, and noises that we think were Javelinas. Staff overall at the facility were very kind and definitely have a hospitality mindset. For example, we have a 9 month old daughter who was with us, and one of the staff members gave her a stuffed roadrunner while we were at breakfast. There are also other nice touches like The NYT delivered to your doorstep in the morning (thanks that it's not the USA Today - like so many hotels have gone with these days). The property is absolutely beautiful with the majestic rock formations, the buildings that blend into the environment, the desert plants, and the paved paths that go through the landscape. We are looking forward to returning and would highly recommend this property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by BouldersManager , Hotel Management
We are so glad to hear of the great service you received at our resort. We are glad we were able to create memories with you. We appreciate the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Amazing location, service excellent except at pool

Posted May 26, 2017
Almost everything about this place is fantastic. The grounds, the rooms, the attentive checkin staff and the fantastic people who drive you around the location, park your car and generally make you feel special. The only downside was service at the pool. It took over half an hour until anyone asked us for our order and then another 20 minutes just to get our drinks. Food was about 20 minutes​ after that. I still enjoyed our stay and one bad experience was clearly not representative, but it did knock a point of my service rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by BouldersManager , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear of some of the service issues you had while staying with us. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear of the positives of your stay. We hope you will visit with us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Hyde Park, NY

Amazing

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Everything, bathroom, view, grounds, staff....
Location: We took a road trip to Sedona
Beautiful resort. Top notch service. Beautiful room. Great water pressure, towels, sheets and pillows. There was a coffee pot in room. Robes and slippers were provided. What a great place! I highly recommend it. 5 stars in my book.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by BouldersManager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great quiet place to relax

Posted May 22, 2017
The Boulders was a great place to go and relax, we checked in and had some great food and drinks at the grill. We made our way over to the Spotted Dsonkey for a few drinks in the evening and had some really great ceviche .We sat around the resort and ended the evening with a wonderful meal at the Palo Verde restaurant. Highly recommend this place to relax!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by BouldersManager , Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you got to experience many of our restaurants during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Very Location and Setting

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The location is amazing. Lots of wildlife, hiking areas - beautiful golf course.
Cons: Attention to detail. I've been to resorts of this caliber and left feeling like I was special - not the case at The Boulders - I felt like a number.
Location: Cave Creek is just around the corner.... great restaurants and little shops. I highly recommend the French restaurant and Big Earl's.
This was my second visit to The Boulders and overall, I would go back again. But, to be honest... I'm not sure why. It's a fancier resort, but doesn't necessary operate like one. During our stay there was a wedding which closed the pool early and a convention the demanded a majority of the waitstaff in every area and facility. My husband and I felt like the resort catered to the big groups and forgot about the couples that were there for a romantic getaway. Our room was in about the worst location on the grounds and it didn't get serviced at all one of the days during our visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by BouldersManager , Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed our amazing desert scenery, but we are sorry to hear of some of the challenges you experienced. We appreciate the review and all of the feedback you have provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Logistics not the best

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Natural beauty, great facilities.
Cons: We paid up for room w/ a fireplace but weren't allowed to use it due to "dry conditions", which must happen a lot given it's a desert! Don't bother!
Beautiful facility, but very spread out which makes it a bit complicated. Shuttle service is available.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by BouldersManager, Hotel Management
When the temperatures start to rise we are not able to use the fireplaces due to state laws regarding safety. We are sorry this was an inconvenience for you. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will be our guest again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Family vacation

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The grounds are beautiful and it is a very special place, secluded, within nature, wildlife, the desert. The pools are great, and quiet, even with kids. For the rooms make sure you ask for a downstairs without an upstairs so noone is above you. We had a nice private patio which was nice but not all rooms have a private patio. Make sure you close the sliding glass doors to keep the unwanted bugs out, don't forget this is in the desert. Overall we had a nice relaxing stay. Where I think the hotel can improve is the size of the beds, double beds are not that comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by BouldersManager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful property we have. We appreciate the feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Wonderful vacation

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This resort is exceptional! From the food choices to activities this resort has so much to offer. We were there 5 days and rarely left. The staff were always friendly and helpful, every one of them! We will stay there again when visiting Scottsdale. Loved the resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by BouldersManager, Hotel Management
With all the activities and dining options on property there is really no reason to leave the property. We are glad you felt this way and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback. It is greatly appreciated.