Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff but out-dated

Posted Dec 28, 2016
It took looking at 3 different rooms before we were finally ok with the cleanliness. The staff was wonderful in accommodating us and are definitely this hotels greatest attribute. Another bonus was the great view out of our Suite of The Desert Forest Golf Club where we several times witnessed packs of coyotes. If this resort freshened up their rooms it would easily get 5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Thank you, as well, for the compliments on our staff, as they are the heart of the resort. The wildlife around the resort is a beautiful plus of being away from the city. Come back to see us again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Not Good....

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Pretty setting
Cons: Just about everything
Location: Cave Creek is a wonderful town.
There were a number of issues that occurred during our stay: The room was not cleaned after the first day The heater in the room didn't work There was no hot water The cable went out (not the hotels fault, but a problem nonetheless)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jason, I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay, and assure you that this is not the standard to which we operate. Your notes have been passed on to the rest of the management team. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Great hotel and great staff

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good restaurants and shopping. The First Watch was really good for breakfast and lunch.
Just an outstanding place to stay. The whole staff was very helpful and attentive. In particular, Chanteal was great. We left an IPad in the room, she found it and then arranged for UPS shipping to our home, she went above and beyond, very much appreciated. We highly recommend the Carefree.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Peter, Thank you so much for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that Chanteal was able to assist you in returning your iPad to you. Please, come visit again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

peaceful resort

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: L
This was a very pretty and peaceful resort. Our room was very nice and big. I really loved the desert landscaping and the view from our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Nel, Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the property. Come see us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

North Scottsdale resort close to CAve Creek

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Great restaurants close by but nothing within walking distance. Nice pool at resort snd great breakfast buffet . Bar on site . Nature reserves and hikes a few miles away . e.g Pinnacle Peak . Front desk has hand out information on where to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Glenda, Thank you for your review. We're glad you got to enjoy breakfast at the Lariat, and our pool. Come see us again, soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely setting

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: The setting is lovely....you can sit by the pool and see cactus and mountains around you. The room size is extraordinary large,
Cons: It's a older hotel and a convention center so the distance from our room to the lobby and the car was long.
Location: Carefree is about 25 minutes north east of Phoenix. It's quiet and conveniently located near shopping (Safeway)or tourist shopping (on Easy Street!)
Lovely lobby, plenty of couches and chairs to sit in and read. A lovely fire in the fireplace. Staff is lovely. The setting of this hotel is wonderful...attractive pool and hot tub, cactus garden, huge rooms. They also have "casitas" available...I didn't see inside of any of them, but they are little villas. The hotel is older, but attractively furnished with extra large rooms with patios and nicely furnished rooms. I will return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Mary, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the setting, and size of the rooms, as well as the pools and the staff. Don't hesitate to come visit us again soon! Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham, United States of America

Easy access to all amenities - great staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Big comfortable room and nice atmosphere. Had one issue that was resolved in minutes - great service.
Cons: Control of air conditioner could be better and food specials were a little disappointing
Location: Close to town of Carefree
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Richard, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your room, and that we resolved your issue promptly. Come back to see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Clean nice hotel in care free close to hiking trails and with a nice pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back soon. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full Service Facility

Posted Nov 4, 2016
We stayed 3 nights at the Carefree Resort in early November. We had a huge room facing the pool. When we first checked in the room had no fridge. We asked for one and it came in 5 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back to see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: About 30 minutes from Scottsdale, 2 hours from Sedona, and about 30 minutes from Phoenix.
The hotel staff was not helpful after my reservation was somehow grouped under my father-in-law's reservation. We booked completely separate on different 3rd party websites and I was told I couldn't check in until he arrived, or be given any information regarding my reservation, because it wasnt under my name. They weren't helpful in any way and didn't really seem to care they weren't helpful. The hotel itself is pretty good but the staff at the restaurant was extremely slow and the front desk staff was incredibly unhelpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Mallory, We apologize for the inconvenience experienced at check-in. I'm glad you enjoyed the property, and hope you'll come see us again soon.