Ratings based on 1,076 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Beautiful resort in the hills north of Scottsdale.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Lobby with fireplace, an on-site restaurant/bar, room service, large clean rooms, balcony. Quietness of room
Cons: 24 hour room service menu
Location: I was house hunting so it was close enough to major highways yet off the beaten track to give me some peace and quiet after a long day
Gorgeous lobby with wood burning fireplace. I went in winter so while there was a beautiful pool, I didn't use it. I was there on personal business that had me going 12 hours a day outside the resort so I can only speak to the room service and room and front desk staff. Food was good, room was large with a nice balcony facing the hills that I enjoyed relaxing on, and housekeeping was great. Front desk staff was efficient and someone always opened the front door for me with a greeting. I would absolutely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Have been staying at the carefree inn for over 30 years. It's been called best value in Arizona and I agree.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Hotel is in a nice location. The rooms are very outdated compared to the complex and I believe it is overpriced for the quality of the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A truly carefree hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2016
The hotel is an incredible value for the price. Attentive staff, wonderful restaurant, well stocked exercise facility and a very spacious and comfortable hotel room. A wonderful place to stay while enjoying the sights around Carefree and Cave Creek Arizonia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Very large room, and bathroom. Needed better lighting for reading and putting on makeup in bathroom. Good tv, beds. Very nice bar and dining room. Excellent service in both. Would return Again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room as well as our lounge and restaurant. I am also happy to hear you had a great experience with our staff. We appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Kristen, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora

Great location, easy access to trails and the town

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Location most of all gets four stars, close to Phoenix yet worlds apart. The beds are comfy and the room spacious
Location: Hiking, Horseback riding, dining, shopping
Easy check in, fast service in the restaurants and room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2016 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Hello Rachel, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us as well as all the activities the area has to offer. I am also happy to hear you were able to enjoy our restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Kristen, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Staff! Heated pool!
Location: horseback riding, art expos, hiking, hot air balloon rides, desert excursions.
Carefree is a very cute town with lots of activities to do for the whole family. The hotel and staff at Carefree resort was awesome! The staff was so nice and answered all of my questions. They were always opening the door with a smile and always eager to help whether it was when I called for room service or ideas of things to do. Great place! The temp was only 55 degrees when we visited but the heated pool was 85 and awesome!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you had an excellent encounter with our staff. I am also happy to hear you were able to enjoy our heated pool. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Kristen, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Page Boeshans

Great experience, great price.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Lovely grounds and lots of local things to do. Good food, great sights, nice staff. Vegan and carniferous options!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food in our restaurant as well as the food options they offer. I am also pleased to hear you had a great encounter with our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Kristen, Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Nice hotel in Carefree AZ

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Grounds, room comfort, location.
Cons: Parking
Location: Carefree and Cave Creek have lots of shops, casual restaurants and golf near by.
We stayed New Years Eve and the hotel, while older is very well kept. Beautiful grounds, helpful staff and great location at a fair price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2016 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Hello Leslie, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your New Years Eve stay with us and our staff was helpful. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Kristen, Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

comfortable and quiet

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: very nice staff. Restaurant at the hotel was excellent
Cons: update the rooms
Location: easy to get to local places via main roads or highway.
the hotel was very nice, if somewhat dated. Rooms were large and comfortable. Minor issues could be updated, but overall a pleasant stay and reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Hello Molly, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy the restaurant we have on property. I am also happy to hear you had an excellent encounter with our staff as they are the heart of this hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Kristen, Assistant Front Office Manager